Page 1 of 1

A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 6:20 pm
by MrBenn
Ahoy Conquer Clubbers!

For those of us who love to play CC on maps, and those of us who love to make maps for people to play on CC, it give me great pleasure to announce a long-awaited addition to the XML Arsenal....

Losing Conditions / Requirements
Losing conditions (technically known as 'requirements') are a form of objective that you must continue to hold in order to avoid being eliminated. If your 'requirement' objective is taken from you, then you will be instantly eliminated from the game. (You can think of this as a 'capture the flag' scenario).

Let's explain it in a bit more detail: The requirements are evaluated whenever you conquer/bombard a territory, nuke a country, or are hit by a killer neutral. So if you do not meet a requirement from the initial game drop you might have a chance to conquer it and become safe (although for the most part, the 'requirements' will be bundled up as starting positions). When you eliminate someone via requirement, it works the same as eliminating someone via nuke - you get their cards and it counts as terminator points. When you don't meet a requirement your remaining armies change to neutral.

Here are the technical details, for those that love the code:

    The new <requirement> tag goes in between positions and objectives. If you have a complete xml with all the toys the tags must be in the this order:
    Code: Select all
        <?xml version="1.0"?>
        <map>
          <minreinforcement/>
          <reinforcements/>
          <positions/>
          <requirement/>
          <objectives/>
          <continents/>
          <territories/>
        </map>


    So, let's get on to how they work... In this example, in order to stay alive in the game you must hold 2 out of the 4 territories in Oceania:
    Code: Select all
    <requirement>
       <name>Two Oceanic Countries</name>
       <components>
          <territory>Jakarta</territory>
          <territory>Port Moresby</territory>
          <territory>Perth</territory>
          <territory>Sydney</territory>
       </components>
       <required>2</required>
    </requirement>

    It should be noted that you can include <continent> components as well <territory> components.

    Similarly, lackattack has updated the game engine to respect <required> tags on objectives. For example, you can now do this:
    Code: Select all
    <objective>
       <name>Two Small Continents</name>
       <components>
          <continent>South America</continent>
          <continent>Africa</continent>
          <continent>Oceania</continent>
       </components>
       <required>2</required>
    </objective>

When somebody is eliminated via requirement, the game log will look something like this:
MrBenn assaulted Canada from England and conquered it from lackattack
lackattack no longer holds XXX (name of the requirement)
MrBenn overthrew lackattack who has been eliminated from the game
lackattack lost 8 points
MrBenn gained 8 points


Many thanks to lackattack for providing us with a new toy to play with (I'm hoping that there are more to come), and here's to all the Capital Ideas that have yet to be cooked up!

--MrBenn


PS. It should be noted that there are potential uses for this new feature that do not necessarily need to involve 'Capitals'. The 'Capital' meme has only been used to tie in with a wider foundry campaign.

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 6:21 pm
by Gilligan
Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice!

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 6:43 pm
by Army of GOD
Nuclear spoils could make someone an unhappy camper...

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 6:55 pm
by rdsrds2120
I was waiting for this to come out!
lol

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:34 pm
by kuma32478
So will this be added to any existing maps? Is it possible to have this as a setting for all maps where it designates one of your territories from the start as your capitol?

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:36 pm
by Industrial Helix
kuma32478 wrote:So will this be added to any existing maps? Is it possible to have this as a setting for all maps where it designates one of your territories from the start as your capitol?


We won't be retrofitting any quenched maps, but I'm sure some new maps will be the product of the update which use a capital feature.

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:01 am
by banana_hammocks
Army of GOD wrote:Nuclear spoils could make someone an unhappy camper...


Is there any way of not including a territory in the list of cards? Otherwise this could well be a big problem.

Looking forward to the new maps that will use this.

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:50 am
by Leehar
Awesome feature, looking forward to it's implementation

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:17 am
by Teflon Kris
Nice.

Can the requirement be X number of regions?

Does the requirement have to be held at the start of each turn?

Please can we have team starting positions next? Or maybe map-specific game log vocabulary?

:

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:12 am
by Forza AZ
How does this work in team games?
If a player is eliminated because they don't meet the requirement any more, will their remaining territories get neutral or will they go to 1 of the other players in the team?

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:21 am
by MrBenn
Forza AZ wrote:How does this work in team games?
If a player is eliminated because they don't meet the requirement any more, will their remaining territories get neutral or will they go to 1 of the other players in the team?

I believe that the territories will all turn neutral, even if it is a teammate who "overthrows" them.

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:01 am
by Forza AZ
DJ Teflon wrote:Can the requirement be X number of regions?

That is easy to code for:
-You make a continent including all regions with the number X between the required tag.
-And you put that continent between the requirement tag.

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 12:32 pm
by gimil
Here is a question for those who are more intelligent than I am on the matter.

What would happen if you held 4 separate requirement at the beginning of the game (not one requirement with 4 territories) and you loose 1 of the 4 you are holding, do you still get eliminated, or because you still hold another 3 requirements you would be ok?

I am wondering as an example if feudal epic has all the castles as separate requirements and you were playing a 1V1, if you loose one of your castle would that eliminate you from the game?

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 12:46 pm
by Evil DIMwit
DJ Teflon wrote:Does the requirement have to be held at the start of each turn?

The requirement has to be held pretty much at all times during the game.

Please can we have team starting positions next? Or maybe map-specific game log vocabulary?

Is map-specific log vocabulary in the XML Suggestions thread? I'm pretty sure team starting positions is.

gimil wrote:What would happen if you held 4 separate requirement at the beginning of the game (not one requirement with 4 territories) and you loose 1 of the 4 you are holding, do you still get eliminated, or because you still hold another 3 requirements you would be ok?

I am wondering as an example if feudal epic has all the castles as separate requirements and you were playing a 1V1, if you loose one of your castle would that eliminate you from the game?


That wouldn't quite work because each requirement is a requirement for all players. That is, if you make each castle into a requirement, every player would lose on the first turn because they don't hold every castle (they only hold the castles they start with). You could make a requirement that a player has to hold at least 4 castles to survive but that would not work because the same requirement would apply to 3+ player games, where each player starts with only 1 or 2 castles -- so each player would be eliminated immediately, again.

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 12:48 pm
by JoshyBoy
I don't really understand... :?

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:01 pm
by army of nobunaga
I hope this is not overused because it is new. Im not sure how much fun it will be. But thanx for the work with the new tools to use!

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:21 pm
by Teflon Kris
Forza AZ wrote:
DJ Teflon wrote:Can the requirement be X number of regions?

That is easy to code for:
-You make a continent including all regions with the number X between the required tag.
-And you put that continent between the requirement tag.


Surely then, all players would lose at the start of the game for not holding the continent?

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:29 pm
by thenobodies80
DJ Teflon wrote:
Forza AZ wrote:
DJ Teflon wrote:Can the requirement be X number of regions?

That is easy to code for:
-You make a continent including all regions with the number X between the required tag.
-And you put that continent between the requirement tag.


Surely then, all players would lose at the start of the game for not holding the continent?


Why? Do you mean if everyone start without that X number of regions?
No sense in doing a map in which you can lose when you start :? , but in any case as MrBenn explained in the first post:
MrBenn wrote:The requirements are evaluated whenever you conquer/bombard a territory, nuke a country, or are hit by a killer neutral. So if you do not meet a requirement from the initial game drop you might have a chance to conquer it and become safe (although for the most part, the 'requirements' will be bundled up as starting positions).


A possible use of your example could be:
On your map a player must hold at least 5 regions to survive.First of all, you should ensure (developing your map) that each player will start at least with 5 regions ( the "no starting position" it's a fool option in this example), then list all the regions on the map as requirements (or create a continent like Forza AZ said) and then set to 5 the number of required regions.

Code: Select all
<requirement>
   <name>five regions</name>
   <components>
      <territory>region1</territory>
      <territory>region2</territory>
      <territory>region3</territory>
      <territory>region4</territory>
      <territory>region5</territory>
      <territory>region6</territory>
      <territory>region7</territory>
      ....
   </components>
   <required>5</required>
</requirement>


or using a continent:

Code: Select all
<requirement>
   <name>Minimum number of regions</name>
   <components>
      <continent>five regions</continent>
   </components>
</requirement>
...
<continent>
   <name>five regions</name>
   <bonus>0</bonus>
   <components>
      <territory>region1</territory>
      <territory>region2</territory>
      <territory>region3</territory>
      <territory>region4</territory>
      <territory>region5</territory>
      <territory>region6</territory>
      <territory>region7</territory>
      ....
   </components>
   <required>5</required>
</continent>

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 7:55 pm
by Teflon Kris
I think I understand now.

Just got confused with the 'continent' talk and Oceana example I think.

Basically, the condition could be set to be any of a particular set of regions, or any set / combination of particular regions.

If starting positions weren't arranged to meet the conditions then the gameplay wouldn't work for the map.

I think

:D

So, this feature is most suited to maps wth castles / bases.

For example, it would work with Lunar War if a condition were that each player must hold at least one shuttle.

However, it could be used on a standard style map if, for example, the condition were to 'hold a minimum of 3 regions'.

Does that sound about right?

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:00 pm
by Evil DIMwit
Yeah, those are some things this could be used for. Surely there are others...

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:14 pm
by natty dread
DJ Teflon wrote:For example, it would work with Lunar War if a condition were that each player must hold at least one shuttle.


I'm not going to do it though ;)

I can name one map which this will benefit lots though: Research & conquer. If I remember correctly, the gameplay was yearning for a way to make the research separate from the conquer, and this is the way to do it... now if we can just get tackticx to pick it up again!

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:43 pm
by army of nobunaga
I think we should have a theory thread on this. NAtty is right. This would not be so good on his map, and his lunar map is perfect in my opinion (natty im over the bombard thing, you were right)

But for this to work, each player will need a yin yang type of arsenal... there will obviously be the defensive territorys... but if there is not a high reward bonus, nor is there an offensive arm to a players terts, then this type of map will be one big 100_ round defensive battle.

maybe im wrong, I admit I am excited about this though.

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:12 pm
by sm8900
neat!!!

Re: A Capital XML Update

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 5:50 am
by OliverFA
This update was what our map was needing. It will make the map much better, and solves many issues we had with it. Thanks! :)