Using existing map?

Topics that are not maps. Discuss general map making concepts, techniques, contests, etc, here.

Moderators: Global Moderators, Cartographers

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Using existing map?

Postby dakky21 on Sun Apr 07, 2013 1:03 pm

Is it allowed to use existing map for a starting point, add your new features/ideas, and post it to drafting room?
If yes, where can maps (large versions) be obtained without troop numbers in them?

I got an idea to combine two (already done) maps into one :)
User avatar
Colonel dakky21
Media Volunteer
Media Volunteer
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:27 am
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Medals: 94
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (3)
Trench Warfare Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Beta Map Achievement (1)
Ratings Achievement (4) Tournament Achievement (9) General Achievement (20) Clan Achievement (28) Challenge Achievement (1)
Tournament Contribution (2) General Contribution (1)

Re: Using existing map?

Postby ender516 on Sun Apr 07, 2013 2:53 pm

It is necessary to check with the makers of the original maps. They retain copyright of the images, and CC will not use copyright material without permission. (That's why you don't see maps here based on Star Trek, Lord of the Rings, Legend of Zelda, and so on. In the case of the Discworld map, permission was obtained from Terry Pratchett.)
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class ender516
 
Posts: 4452
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 6:07 pm
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Medals: 37
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1)
Fog of War Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (9)
Map Contribution (5) General Contribution (11)

Re: Using existing map?

Postby dakky21 on Sun Apr 07, 2013 8:48 pm

I PM'ed gimil with the following message, but would also like to hear from you what you think about the idea....

I'm bad at map making (read: using graphical utilities like GIMP or PS), but I have an idea for existing map of yours... Feudeal Epic to be specific.

I asked at forums if an existing map can be used for creating a slightly different version of it, and they told me I would need to contact the original makers, to achieve copyright.

I will tell you the idea, so maybe you could create it, so I don't bother if it won't work (or you won't give me the copyright permissions)

The idea is to cross Age of Realms with Feudeal Epic. Being said, some of the territs should have a different name and slightly different background, to include "pair" system of bonuses, like in AoR. So there would be a "pig farm" on one territory, and "butchery" on another. That would make a pair. In pair with a "shop", that would make even more bonus. All starting territs would have a "shop" which by itself isn't worth anything. Holding pair+shop+Castle would wield x number of troops, and holding pair+shop+Village would wield another number of troops.

Something like this:
Image
Red - shop
Blue/green - Resource pair

So, basically, holding:
Castle + shop = 0 (like now)
Village has shop = 0 (like now)
Castle + pair = +3
Castle + shop + pair = +5
Village + pair = +4

The rest of bonuses would go as they go currently (autodeploy on Castles & Villages)

One of other thoughts... to be able to get a bonus - you would must have to connect from shop to pairs (maybe add roads).
To advance a gameplay to a new level, there could be some pairs on opposite sides of map, or 3 or 4 sites needed for an extra "pair" bonus (like wheat farm + granary + mill + bakery)

Your thoughts? I'll post this same message in my thread on "non-maps" section of foundry, just to see what people think. Maybe a new map can be drawn from this idea :)
User avatar
Colonel dakky21
Media Volunteer
Media Volunteer
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:27 am
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Medals: 94
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (3)
Trench Warfare Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Beta Map Achievement (1)
Ratings Achievement (4) Tournament Achievement (9) General Achievement (20) Clan Achievement (28) Challenge Achievement (1)
Tournament Contribution (2) General Contribution (1)

Re: Using existing map?

Postby greenoaks on Sun Apr 07, 2013 9:31 pm

just start from scratch.

you have a decent concept. run with it.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class greenoaks
 
Posts: 9997
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:47 am
Medals: 138
Standard Achievement (4) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (4) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (3)
Assassin Achievement (3) Manual Troops Achievement (4) Freestyle Achievement (4) Polymorphic Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (4)
Fog of War Achievement (4) Trench Warfare Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (4) Ratings Achievement (4) Tournament Achievement (30) General Achievement (3) Clan Achievement (14)
Tournament Contribution (34) General Contribution (4)


Return to Foundry Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

Login