Conquer Club

New XML

Topics that are not maps. Discuss general map making concepts, techniques, contests, etc, here.

Moderator: Cartographers

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

New XML

Postby Coleman on Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:38 am

New Reinforcements code... (Note the top tag.)

Code: Select all
<minreinforcement>3</minreinforcement>
<reinforcements>
   <reinforcement>
      <lower>1</lower>
      <upper>10</upper>
      <divisor>2</divisor>
   </reinforcement>
   <reinforcement>
      <lower>11</lower>
      <upper>25</upper>
      <divisor>3</divisor>
   </reinforcement>
   <reinforcement>
      <lower>21</lower>
      <upper>45</upper>
      <divisor>4</divisor>
   </reinforcement>
</reinforcements>


New Starting Positions code

Code: Select all
<positions>
   <position>
      <territory start="4">Algiers</territory>
      <territory start="5">Tunisia</territory>
      <territory start="6">Algeria</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory start="4">Tripoli</territory>
      <territory start="5">Libya</territory>
      <territory start="6">Egypt</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>Niger</territory>
      <territory>Mali</territory>
      <territory>Central Republic</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>South Africa</territory>
      <territory>Lesotho</territory>
      <territory>Botswana</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>Namibia</territory>
      <territory>Angola</territory>
      <territory>Zambia</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory start="4">Congo</territory>
      <territory start="5">West Zaire</territory>
      <territory start="6">East Zaire</territory>
   </position>
</positions>


New continents code (note addition of subcontinents)

Code: Select all
<continent>
<name>Southeast Coast/Horn Of Africa PLUS Tripoli/Libya</name>
<bonus>10</bonus>
<components>
  <territory>Tripoli</territory>
  <continent>Southeast Coast</continent>
  <territory>Libya</territory>
  <continent>Horn Of Africa</continent>
 </components>
 <required>3</required>
</continent>


New "Respawning Neutrals" or "Killer Neutrals" code...

Code: Select all
<territory>
  <name>Chad</name>
  <borders>
    <border>West Sudan</border>
    <border>Libya</border>
    <border>Niger</border>
    <border>Nigeria</border>
    <border>Cameroon</border>
    <border>Central Republic</border>
  </borders>
  <coordinates>
    <smallx>277</smallx>
    <smally>190</smally>
    <largex>371</largex>
    <largey>247</largey>
  </coordinates>
  <neutral killer="yes">4</neutral>
</territory>
Last edited by Coleman on Sun Jan 27, 2008 1:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby mibi on Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:30 am

what do these do, in layman's terms.
User avatar
Captain mibi
 
Posts: 3350
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:19 pm
Location: The Great State of Vermont

Postby Lone.prophet on Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:39 am

what is neutral killer?
Image
Captain Lone.prophet
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: Your basement Muahaha

Postby Coleman on Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:41 am

Lone.prophet wrote:what is neutral killer?

The neutral respawns every turn, even if someone takes the territory to the amount set. It's possible neutral can kill you this way if that is the only territory you have at the start of your turn.

In Terminator the winner will get your points if neutral kills you.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby Coleman on Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:48 am

mibi wrote:what do these do, in layman's terms.


Reinforcements.

This is like what is on Conquer Man.

I believe the default would be...

<minreinforcement>3</minreinforcement>
<reinforcements>
<reinforcement>
<lower>9</lower>
<upper>x</upper /!-- Where x is the total number of territories ---/
<divisor>3</divisor>
</reinforcement>
</reinforcements>

This allows you to set up the bonus for the territories exactly how you want. You can make the minimum always 10 if you want for example. You can make the divisor huge so that you always get the same.

Like if I wanted no territory reinforcements ever...

<minreinforcement>0</minreinforcement>
<reinforcements>
<reinforcement>
<lower>1</lower>
<upper>x</upper /!-- Where x is the total number of territories ---/
<divisor>x+1</divisor>
</reinforcement>
</reinforcements>
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby Coleman on Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:51 am

mibi wrote:what do these do, in layman's terms.


Start positions allow you to do two things.

One, the obvious, set start positions. If you set 6 start positions and there are more than 6 players then the start positions are ignored, if there are 6 start positions and 3 or 2 players, each person gets 2 of them randomly.

The other thing they let you do is change the number of armies a player starts with on the positions. The default is 3, but you can make it higher or lower with the start="x" tag.

Oh, and if you set these territories to be neutral, the ones nobody gets have the neutral values you set, if someone gets them it overrides the neutrals. (Does not override killer neutrals though...)
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby Coleman on Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:53 am

mibi wrote:what do these do, in layman's terms.

Subcontinents.

This is pretty simple. The old code had <component></componnent> inside continents and these were always territories.

Now you can have either territories or continents for components. So you need to choose which one. The straight <component> tag is dead, but you still enclose these in <components></components>.

This is the code that makes Supermax and Iraq possible.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Re: New XML

Postby Lone.prophet on Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:54 am

Code: Select all
  <neutral killer="yes">4</neutral>



so this means it adds 4 amries a turn on the territory and it attacks player till it has 3 left right?
Image
Captain Lone.prophet
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: Your basement Muahaha

Re: New XML

Postby Coleman on Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:55 am

Lone.prophet wrote:
Code: Select all
  <neutral killer="yes">4</neutral>



so this means it adds 4 amries a turn on the territory and it attacks player till it has 3 left right?


That means it is always neutral 4.

If a player is on it they lose everything on that territory at the start of their turn and it goes back to neutral 4.

If someone knocks it down to 1 but doesn't take it, it goes back to 4 on the start of the next person's turn. (I think, not 100% on that one, it may only go back to 4 once someone owns it.)

It's evil, and I'm pretty sure WidowMakers is the only person who wants to use it right now. :roll:
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby Lone.prophet on Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:59 am

so if i take it and place 100 armies on it nothing will happen?

will it ever return to neatral again once it is being taken?>
Image
Captain Lone.prophet
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: Your basement Muahaha

Re: New XML

Postby yeti_c on Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:00 am

Coleman wrote:
Lone.prophet wrote:
Code: Select all
  <neutral killer="yes">4</neutral>



so this means it adds 4 amries a turn on the territory and it attacks player till it has 3 left right?


That means it is always neutral 4.

If a player is on it they lose everything on that territory at the start of their turn and it goes back to neutral 4.

If someone knocks it down to 1 but doesn't take it, it goes back to 4 on the start of the next person's turn. (I think, not 100% on that one, it may only go back to 4 once someone owns it.)

It's evil, and I'm pretty sure WidowMakers is the only person who wants to use it right now. :roll:


I suspect it will only respawn when someone owns it...

Actually that is a useful by product... (Strategy wise)

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby yeti_c on Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:00 am

Lone.prophet wrote:so if i take it and place 100 armies on it nothing will happen?

will it ever return to neatral again once it is being taken?>


If you leave 100 on it - next turn they will be killed and replaced with the X neutrals.

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby Coleman on Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:01 am

Lone.prophet wrote:so if i take it and place 100 armies on it nothing will happen?

will it ever return to neatral again once it is being taken?>
If you take it and place 100 armies on it and you still have 100 armies on it by the start of your next turn. Congratulations, you just lost 100 armies.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby bryguy on Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:34 am

Coleman wrote:
Lone.prophet wrote:so if i take it and place 100 armies on it nothing will happen?

will it ever return to neatral again once it is being taken?>
If you take it and place 100 armies on it and you still have 100 armies on it by the start of your next turn. Congratulations, you just lost 100 armies.


lol that would be a really stupid move


and im still confused for the new xml...


p.s. If empire builder goes well, then i might make a sequel to it that would use this
Corporal bryguy
 
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:50 am
Location: Lost in a Jigsaw

Re: New XML

Postby bryguy on Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:35 am

Coleman wrote:New Reinforcements code... (Note the top tag.)

Code: Select all
<minreinforcement>3</minreinforcement>
<reinforcements>
   <reinforcement>
      <lower>1</lower>
      <upper>10</upper>
      <divisor>2</divisor>
   </reinforcement>
   <reinforcement>
      <lower>11</lower>
      <upper>25</upper>
      <divisor>3</divisor>
   </reinforcement>
   <reinforcement>
      <lower>21</lower>
      <upper>45</upper>
      <divisor>4</divisor>
   </reinforcement>
</reinforcements>


New Starting Positions code

Code: Select all
<positions>
   <position>
      <territory start="4">Algiers</territory>
      <territory start="5">Tunisia</territory>
      <territory start="6">Algeria</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory start="4">Tripoli</territory>
      <territory start="5">Libya</territory>
      <territory start="6">Egypt</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>Niger</territory>
      <territory>Mali</territory>
      <territory>Central Republic</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>South Africa</territory>
      <territory>Lesotho</territory>
      <territory>Botswana</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>Namibia</territory>
      <territory>Angola</territory>
      <territory>Zambia</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory start="4">Congo</territory>
      <territory start="5">West Zaire</territory>
      <territory start="6">East Zaire</territory>
   </position>
</positions>


New continents code (note addition of subcontinents)

Code: Select all
<continent>
<name>Southeast Coast/Horn Of Africa PLUS Tripoli/Libya</name>
<bonus>10</bonus>
<components>
  <territory>Tripoli</territory>
  <continent>Southeast Coast</continent>
  <territory>Libya</territory>
  <continent>Horn Of Africa</continent>
 </components>
 <required>3</required>
</continent>




these are what im confused for
Corporal bryguy
 
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:50 am
Location: Lost in a Jigsaw

Postby Coleman on Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:36 am

You need to get more specific, I explained these for mibi on the first page.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby bryguy on Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:41 am

Coleman wrote:You need to get more specific, I explained these for mibi on the first page.


i know, but you made me even more confused
Corporal bryguy
 
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:50 am
Location: Lost in a Jigsaw

Postby Coleman on Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:47 am

Code: Select all
<minreinforcement>3</minreinforcement>
<reinforcements>
   <reinforcement>
      <lower>1</lower>
      <upper>10</upper>
      <divisor>2</divisor>
   </reinforcement>
   <reinforcement>
      <lower>11</lower>
      <upper>25</upper>
      <divisor>3</divisor>
   </reinforcement>
   <reinforcement>
      <lower>21</lower>
      <upper>45</upper>
      <divisor>4</divisor>
   </reinforcement>
</reinforcements>


You own 1 territory. You get 3 for territory bonus because 3 is the minimum.
(Code Does: 1/2 (round down) + 3 = 3)

You own 2 territories, you get 4 because 3 is the minimum and you get another 1 because 2 divided by 2 is 1.
(Code Does: 2/2 + 3 = 4)

You own 10 territories, you get 8.
(Code Does: 10/2 + 3 = 8)

You have 13 territories, you get 9.
(Code Does: 10/2 + 3/3 + 3 = 9)

And so on all the way up. min to max are the territory counts getting divided by the divsor and the setminimum is always added to that number.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby Coleman on Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:50 am

<positions>
<position>
<territory start="4">Algiers</territory>
<territory start="5">Tunisia</territory>
<territory start="6">Algeria</territory>
</position>
<position>
<territory start="4">Tripoli</territory>
<territory start="5">Libya</territory>
<territory start="6">Egypt</territory>
</position>
<position>
<territory>Niger</territory>
<territory>Mali</territory>
<territory>Central Republic</territory>
</position>
<position>
<territory>South Africa</territory>
<territory>Lesotho</territory>
<territory>Botswana</territory>
</position>
<position>
<territory>Namibia</territory>
<territory>Angola</territory>
<territory>Zambia</territory>
</position>
<position>
<territory start="4">Congo</territory>
<territory start="5">West Zaire</territory>
<territory start="6">East Zaire</territory>
</position>
</positions>


This sets 6 start positions.

If 7 or 8 people play they are not used.

If 6 people play each person gets one.

If 5 people play each person gets one and one is ignored.

If 4 people play each person gets one and two are ignored.

If 3 or 2 people play each person gets 2.

Code: Select all
   <position>
      <territory start="4">Congo</territory>
      <territory start="5">West Zaire</territory>
      <territory start="6">East Zaire</territory>
   </position>


The person who gets this position will start the game with 4 on Congo, 5 on West Zaire, and 6 on East Zaire.

They will also randomly be assigned the rest of the territories like a normal match.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby Coleman on Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:52 am

<continent>
<name>Southeast Coast/Horn Of Africa PLUS Tripoli/Libya</name>
<bonus>10</bonus>
<components>
<territory>Tripoli</territory>
<continent>Southeast Coast</continent>
<territory>Libya</territory>
<continent>Horn Of Africa</continent>
</components>
<required>3</required>
</continent>


If you hold any 3 of the territory Tripoli, the territory Libya, the continent Southeast Coast, and the continent Horn of Africa you get 10 bonus.

So if you hold Tripoli, Libya, and Southeast coast you get this bonus.

If you hold Horn of Africa and Southeast Coast, but not Libya or Tripoli you don't get the bonus.

If you hold all 4 you get the bonus.

Hopefully these 3 posts explaining how they work in the examples will in turn explain how the tags could work in a new map.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby Coleman on Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:56 am

Coleman wrote:
Code: Select all
<minreinforcement>3</minreinforcement>
<reinforcements>
   <reinforcement>
      <lower>1</lower>
      <upper>10</upper>
      <divisor>2</divisor>
   </reinforcement>
   <reinforcement>
      <lower>11</lower>
      <upper>25</upper>
      <divisor>3</divisor>
   </reinforcement>
   <reinforcement>
      <lower>21</lower>
      <upper>45</upper>
      <divisor>4</divisor>
   </reinforcement>
</reinforcements>


You own 1 territory. You get 3 for territory bonus because 3 is the minimum.
(Code Does: 1/2 (round down) + 3 = 3)

You own 2 territories, you get 4 because 3 is the minimum and you get another 1 because 2 divided by 2 is 1.
(Code Does: 2/2 + 3 = 4)

You own 10 territories, you get 8.
(Code Does: 10/2 + 3 = 8)

You have 13 territories, you get 9.
(Code Does: 10/2 + 3/3 + 3 = 9)

And so on all the way up. min to max are the territory counts getting divided by the divsor and the setminimum is always added to that number.


Ignore this one, I don't get it apparently. yeti_c will need to explain.

I think from what he told me it would be like this...

You hold 1 you get 3

You hold 2 you still get 3
(Code: 2/2 = 1 ... 1 is < 3 ... so 3)

You hold 4 you still get 3
(Code: 4/2 = 2 ... 2 is < 3 ... so 3)

You hold 6 you get 3
(Code: 6/2 = 3)

You hold 8 you get 4
(Code: 8/2 = 4)
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby Lone.prophet on Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:59 am

Coleman wrote:
Code: Select all
<minreinforcement>3</minreinforcement>
<reinforcements>
   <reinforcement>
      <lower>1</lower>
      <upper>10</upper>
      <divisor>2</divisor>
   </reinforcement>
   <reinforcement>
      <lower>11</lower>
      <upper>25</upper>
      <divisor>3</divisor>
   </reinforcement>
   <reinforcement>
      <lower>21</lower>
      <upper>45</upper>
      <divisor>4</divisor>
   </reinforcement>
</reinforcements>


You own 1 territory. You get 3 for territory bonus because 3 is the minimum.
(Code Does: 1/2 =0.5 < 3)

You own 2 territories, you get 3 because 3 is the minimum
(Code Does: 2/2 = 1 < 3)

You own 10 territories, you get 5.
(Code Does: 10/2 =5 > 3)

You have 13 territories, you get 6.
(Code Does: 10/2 + 3/3 = 6 > 3)


Fixed as far as i understood yeti
Image
Captain Lone.prophet
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: Your basement Muahaha

Postby yeti_c on Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:03 am

Correct.

Min Reinforcements is like the 3 you always get in Risk - if you're stuff on the edge of elimination - you still get the 3.

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby Lone.prophet on Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:28 pm

w00t i get it

now with the starting positions what do the numbers "4", "5" and "6" mean?
Image
Captain Lone.prophet
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: Your basement Muahaha

Postby bryguy on Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:39 pm

Lone.prophet wrote:w00t i get it

now with the starting positions what do the numbers "4", "5" and "6" mean?


i think it means whoever gets any of those spots starts with that many
Corporal bryguy
 
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:50 am
Location: Lost in a Jigsaw

Next

Return to Foundry Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users