WWI Ottoman Empire [Quenched]

Care to peruse completed maps? Take a stroll through the Atlas.

Moderators: Cartographers, Global Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V4(P3) - New Stuff

Postby Qwert on Mon Aug 18, 2008 4:53 pm

i must say that Name Constantinople is correct,and that these whas capital of Ottoman empire from 1453-1922.

It was officially renamed to its modern Turkish name Istanbul in 1930[
Image
NEW REVOLUTION-NEW RANKS PRESS THESE LINK viewtopic.php?f=471&t=47578&start=0
User avatar
Major Qwert
SoC Training Adviser
 
Posts: 9193
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 5:07 pm
Location: VOJVODINA
Medals: 77
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Polymorphic Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1)
Fog of War Achievement (3) Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (1) Random Map Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (1) Tournament Achievement (5) General Achievement (3) Clan Achievement (6)
Training Achievement (2) Map Contribution (8) Tournament Contribution (22) General Contribution (4)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V4(P3) - New Stuff

Postby cairnswk on Mon Aug 18, 2008 5:14 pm

qwert wrote:i must say that Name Constantinople is correct,and that these whas capital of Ottoman empire from 1453-1922.

It was officially renamed to its modern Turkish name Istanbul in 1930[


Yes that's the story i get also qwert. :)
User avatar
Private cairnswk
 
Posts: 11498
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:32 pm
Medals: 51
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Map Contribution (36) General Contribution (3)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V4(P3) - New Stuff

Postby edbeard on Mon Aug 18, 2008 5:29 pm

for the most part, everything is better.

I think you know some borders are still weird. armenia mostly.


the colours still are a problem for me. not the actual colours themselves but how you've spread them in the territories. If you compare Gallipoli and Andrianople, you'll see the contrast I'm talking about. this occurs throughout the map and I don't think it looks good.

another problem is that armenia on the legend on the map don't appear to have the same colour. I think the problem I talked about above contributes to this.



gameplay:

syria is worth more than +3. 5 territories and each are a border territory. it touches 5 continents and is attackable from 7 territories. +5 is probably more apt.

I might consider giving hussein of mecca +1 instead of +2
User avatar
Major edbeard
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 12:41 am
Medals: 18
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Tournament Achievement (1) Map Contribution (5) General Contribution (3)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V4(P3) - New Stuff

Postby whitestazn88 on Mon Aug 18, 2008 7:12 pm

i really like the color changes in the legend, and like i said earlier, like the bonus changes. keep up the good work
Sergeant 1st Class whitestazn88
 
Posts: 3127
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: behind you
Medals: 28
Standard Achievement (4) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (2) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (2)
Random Map Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Clan Achievement (1)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V4(P3) - New Stuff

Postby Cdkutusu on Tue Aug 19, 2008 1:33 am

cairnswk wrote:

Thanks greatly Cdkutusu :)
Please realize that the reference maps i used...there were several versions of some names and Kars was shown in most of them as being in Russian hands -> it also makes for good gameplay to have it this way.
I will adjust the map to include the Turkish names, but should i use Turkey or Anatolia.


In Turkish, Turkey (Turkiye) is the whole country, European side and Asian side together, Anatolia (Anadolu) is the Peninsula only. So in this version it looks correct, since you use it for the Asian side only

Yes expect the colours to undergo a change in some way, i am just waiting on oaktown to visit to give his color-blind slant on these before making the changes.


That would be good :)

i had said in previous comments that the Vilayet statement would probably be removed, but i could leave it there with your suggestion.


I guess you can remove them, since they don't mean anything significant (almost every location you put had Vilayet status back in time :) ) and it would just complicate the map :)


Thanks again. :)

Not at all :)

Oh and about Constantinople, it was not used inside Ottoman Empire. We were calling it Istanbul as far as I remember. :)

Keep up the good work :)
Corporal Cdkutusu
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 5:16 am
Medals: 8
Standard Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2)
Ratings Achievement (1)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V4(P3) - New Stuff

Postby gimil on Tue Aug 19, 2008 5:19 pm

[adv. idea]

lovely looking map cairns :)
What do you know about map making, bitch?

natty_dread wrote:I was wrong


Top Score:2403
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class gimil
 
Posts: 8605
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: United Kingdom (Scotland)
Medals: 39
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (3) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (3) Teammate Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (2) Map Contribution (7) Tournament Contribution (1) General Contribution (5)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V4(P3) - new stuff

Postby cairnswk on Tue Aug 19, 2008 6:01 pm

gimil wrote:[adv. idea]

lovely looking map cairns :)

Thanks Gimil :)

Current Version 4
Image
User avatar
Private cairnswk
 
Posts: 11498
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:32 pm
Medals: 51
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Map Contribution (36) General Contribution (3)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V4(P3) - New Stuff

Postby foregone on Tue Aug 19, 2008 6:16 pm

May just be me but the seas are kinda looking like territories at the moment. They seem raised and the colour/texture/something gives it a feel of conquerability rather than water.
Lieutenant foregone
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 1:00 am
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (1)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V4(P3) - New Stuff

Postby Juan_Bottom on Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:19 pm

Think they should be dark?
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Juan_Bottom
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 4:59 pm
Location: USA RULES! WHOOO!!!!
Medals: 21
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (2)
Clan Achievement (3)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V4(P3) - New Stuff

Postby cairnswk on Thu Aug 21, 2008 6:32 am

foregone wrote:May just be me but the seas are kinda looking like territories at the moment. They seem raised and the colour/texture/something gives it a feel of conquerability rather than water.


Juan_Bottom wrote:Think they should be dark?



Version 5 Changes.
1. Sea made darker as per request above.
2. V. removed as is Vilayet.
3. Borders asjusted
4. Some territory colours adjusted

Image
User avatar
Private cairnswk
 
Posts: 11498
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:32 pm
Medals: 51
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Map Contribution (36) General Contribution (3)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V5(P4) - Colour Changes

Postby foregone on Thu Aug 21, 2008 6:55 am

Seas much better in my opinion.
Lieutenant foregone
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 1:00 am
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (1)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V5(P4) - Colour Changes

Postby cairnswk on Thu Aug 21, 2008 6:11 pm

foregone wrote:Seas much better in my opinion.

Kewl! :)
User avatar
Private cairnswk
 
Posts: 11498
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:32 pm
Medals: 51
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Map Contribution (36) General Contribution (3)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V5(P4) - Colour Changes

Postby Juan_Bottom on Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:53 pm

I like the colors a lot better now too! Especially the water.

O SYRIA and H. of MECCA are a little too similer for my personal tastes, but you can tell them apart, so I can live with it.
But I still hate the bonuses. :D

I can't quit be certain though.... GELIBOLU isn't connected to BURSA is it? They don't look like it, I think...

Anyway nice job with the colors!
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Juan_Bottom
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 4:59 pm
Location: USA RULES! WHOOO!!!!
Medals: 21
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (2)
Clan Achievement (3)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V5(P4) - Colour Changes

Postby whitestazn88 on Fri Aug 22, 2008 1:53 am

seas look good. but i was wondering... why are italy and france neutral starts, but ottoman europe isnt?
Sergeant 1st Class whitestazn88
 
Posts: 3127
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: behind you
Medals: 28
Standard Achievement (4) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (2) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (2)
Random Map Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Clan Achievement (1)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V5(P4) - Colour Changes

Postby Incandenza on Fri Aug 22, 2008 1:55 am

whitestazn88 wrote:seas look good. but i was wondering... why are italy and france neutral starts, but ottoman europe isnt?


'cause the former are 1-terit continents, whereas the latter is a 2-terit continent.
THOTA: dingdingdingdingdingdingBOOM

Te Occidere Possunt Sed Te Edere Non Possunt Nefas Est
User avatar
Colonel Incandenza
 
Posts: 4961
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:34 pm
Location: Playing Eschaton with a bucket of old tennis balls
Medals: 44
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (1) Random Map Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (6) General Achievement (3) Clan Achievement (8)
General Contribution (4)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V5(P4) - Colour Changes

Postby Cdkutusu on Fri Aug 22, 2008 2:56 am

Things look better now, but maybe you should move Beirut a little right, now it looks like its a territory in Cyprus :)

And Kenia (Konya) is still left out ))

Keep up the good work :)
Corporal Cdkutusu
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 5:16 am
Medals: 8
Standard Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2)
Ratings Achievement (1)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V4(P3) - New Stuff

Postby cairnswk on Fri Aug 22, 2008 6:24 am

Current version 5
Image
User avatar
Private cairnswk
 
Posts: 11498
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:32 pm
Medals: 51
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Map Contribution (36) General Contribution (3)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V5(P4) - Colour Changes

Postby Juan_Bottom on Fri Aug 22, 2008 6:29 am

Incandenza wrote:
whitestazn88 wrote:seas look good. but i was wondering... why are italy and france neutral starts, but ottoman europe isnt?


'cause the former are 1-terit continents, whereas the latter is a 2-terit continent.


What if Italy and France together counted as a +1?
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Juan_Bottom
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 4:59 pm
Location: USA RULES! WHOOO!!!!
Medals: 21
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (2)
Clan Achievement (3)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V5(P4) - Colour Changes

Postby cairnswk on Fri Aug 22, 2008 6:38 am

Juan_Bottom wrote:
Incandenza wrote:
whitestazn88 wrote:seas look good. but i was wondering... why are italy and france neutral starts, but ottoman europe isnt?


'cause the former are 1-terit continents, whereas the latter is a 2-terit continent.


What if Italy and France together counted as a +1?


That could be a possibility...i'll have a think about that because ottoman europe is also a challenge with those two terts over there.

one of those terts: Gallipoli or Adrianople should start neutral also.

to get around that, we could have o.europe a a bonus if it is held in conjunction with Constantinople.
That would give them something to fight for and alleviate the two terts issue, although there is still a probability that someone will get an easy drop there and hold that after one attack.
User avatar
Private cairnswk
 
Posts: 11498
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:32 pm
Medals: 51
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Map Contribution (36) General Contribution (3)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V5(P4) - Colour Changes

Postby Juan_Bottom on Fri Aug 22, 2008 6:42 am

Adding a port there(was there one? a makshift one?) might also take care of the problem. But I would prefer to keep the map as accurate historically as you can...
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Juan_Bottom
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 4:59 pm
Location: USA RULES! WHOOO!!!!
Medals: 21
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (2)
Clan Achievement (3)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V5(P4) - Colour Changes

Postby Cdkutusu on Fri Aug 22, 2008 6:44 am

maybe if you add a path to attack from egypt to Gelibolu, it would make sense. In that case if somebody takes over those 2 and moves inside anadolu he must leave some armies to guard Gelibolu too (there was a huge battle there back in time)
Corporal Cdkutusu
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 5:16 am
Medals: 8
Standard Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2)
Ratings Achievement (1)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V5(P4) - Colour Changes

Postby Cdkutusu on Fri Aug 22, 2008 6:45 am

Juan_Bottom wrote:Adding a port there(was there one? a makshift one?) might also take care of the problem. But I would prefer to keep the map as accurate historically as you can...


In Gelibolu? Maybe, not sure though... But there was a huge battle there, Allies tried to push through the Straits towards Black See.

So that would be accurate
Corporal Cdkutusu
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 5:16 am
Medals: 8
Standard Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2)
Ratings Achievement (1)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V5(P4) - Colour Changes

Postby Juan_Bottom on Fri Aug 22, 2008 6:48 am

Cdkutusu wrote:
Juan_Bottom wrote:Adding a port there(was there one? a makshift one?) might also take care of the problem. But I would prefer to keep the map as accurate historically as you can...


In Gelibolu? Maybe, not sure though... But there was a huge battle there, Allies tried to push through the Straits towards Black See.

So that would be accurate

No on the Italian-French border. Each of those are worth +1, and start nuetral. But with a port, or by combining them into a single "continent" for a +1 you would have to start them as nuetral.

I'd bet Gelibolu turns into a huge battle as is....
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Juan_Bottom
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 4:59 pm
Location: USA RULES! WHOOO!!!!
Medals: 21
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (2)
Clan Achievement (3)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V5(P4) - Colour Changes

Postby Cdkutusu on Fri Aug 22, 2008 6:54 am

I'd suggest connecting them into one as well, otherwise it can be unfair for those who gets a lucky drop
Corporal Cdkutusu
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 5:16 am
Medals: 8
Standard Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2)
Ratings Achievement (1)

Re: WW1 1914 - THE OTTOMAN EMPIRE V6 - Gallipoli added

Postby cairnswk on Fri Aug 22, 2008 7:11 am

Juan_Bottom wrote:
Cdkutusu wrote:
Juan_Bottom wrote:Adding a port there(was there one? a makshift one?) might also take care of the problem. But I would prefer to keep the map as accurate historically as you can...


In Gelibolu? Maybe, not sure though... But there was a huge battle there, Allies tried to push through the Straits towards Black See.

So that would be accurate

No on the Italian-French border. Each of those are worth +1, and start nuetral. But with a port, or by combining them into a single "continent" for a +1 you would have to start them as nuetral.

I'd bet Gelibolu turns into a huge battle as is....


I'm reading everything guys.....i was thinking of having the british being able to attack in Gelibolu from Egypt....this would replicate the Gallipoli Campaign that the Allies lost in 1915, but i'm not sure if the attack was launched from Egypt or somewhere else.

Version 6...the Gallipoli Campaign added as a one-way attack.

Image


OK, just did a search and there is a link here
http://www.nashos.org.au/21_hist_II.htm
that states the embarkation point for this battalion was Alexandria...so that would fit in perfectly. I'll have to add a port to alexAndria, and hope the hell that it doesn't confuse everyone.

That might also alleviate the need to have neutrals in O. Europe.
User avatar
Private cairnswk
 
Posts: 11498
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:32 pm
Medals: 51
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Map Contribution (36) General Contribution (3)

PreviousNext

Return to The Atlas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

Login