[GP] Advance None Button

This forum is a storehouse for all Finalized Suggestions to be periodically reviewed during Feature Updates.

Moderators: Suggestions Team, Global Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Postby reverend_kyle on Wed Aug 09, 2006 9:49 pm

wicked wrote:I think it's one more button to accidentally hit. :roll:



I agree, I think its perfect with how it is..
User avatar
Sergeant reverend_kyle
 
Posts: 9268
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:08 pm
Location: 1000 post club
Medals: 13
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Map Contribution (1) Tournament Contribution (1)

Postby HighBorn on Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:08 am

wow rev im impressed you said something in cc was perfect ;)...lmao
User avatar
Private HighBorn
 
Posts: 3010
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: Kentucky
Medals: 15
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1)
Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Contribution (2)

Postby Phobia on Thu Aug 10, 2006 3:17 am

hmm i think it is a good idea espicially when you have large armies, but like wicked said, everyone complains clicking buttons acciendently :roll:
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Phobia
 
Posts: 1497
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Sheffield, England
Medals: 11
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (2)
Fog of War Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1)

Postby Telvannia on Thu Aug 10, 2006 3:25 am

i suggested this before im sure
im not sure what about it though
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Telvannia
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 7:19 am
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1)
Fog of War Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Map Contribution (1)

Postby Rynn on Thu Aug 10, 2006 8:44 am

wicked wrote:I think it's one more button to accidentally hit. :roll:


Yeah thats true, didnt really think of that part.
Corporal 1st Class Rynn
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: Delaware
Medals: 3
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1)

Postby Hoff on Fri Aug 11, 2006 9:50 am

It is a terrible idea ryan!!! Just joking, i like it. I just stick all my armies on one territory anyway and it is a pain to scroll all the way to 0. I think it would be a nice button to have. Maybe the button could be in a different place or maybe it could be shaped differently so people wouldnt click it by accident.
User avatar
Sergeant Hoff
 
Posts: 861
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 1:46 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Medals: 5
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Map Contribution (1)

Add an "Advance 0 units" button

Postby Dr. Spankypants on Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:59 am

On some of the larger maps, it gets a bit tedious when you've got a large force and you're taking territories that you don't want to advance units into, to keep having to scroll up to 0 units.

How about adding an "Advance 0 Units" button to section where you select the number of units to advance.
User avatar
Private 1st Class Dr. Spankypants
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:09 pm

Postby wicked on Thu Mar 08, 2007 12:41 pm

It's already there. Look at the first number in the list, i.e. "0". The more buttons added, the more people complain about hitting them at inopportune times.
User avatar
Major wicked
 
Posts: 15794
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:23 pm
Medals: 18
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (2)
Ratings Achievement (1) General Contribution (1)

Move None button

Postby Rybal on Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:58 pm

<-------------------->

<Subject>:

* Has anyone else ever had this happen? You try to select 0 to move into a new territory (because you don't need any more than that) and you accidentally move all because that is the default? Maybe it is just me


<Body>:

* Suggestion Idea: Add a "Move None" button next to the "Advance" button.
* Specifics: Self explanatory
* Why it is needed: See Subject
* Priority** (1-5): 2
Sergeant Rybal
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 10:04 pm
Medals: 3
Standard Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1)

Postby AK_iceman on Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:06 pm

It is just you. And to avoid making simple mistakes in gameplay (which we all do at one point or another), instead of adding more buttons to further confuse members, just slow down a little when taking your turn. :)
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class AK_iceman
 
Posts: 5699
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 10:39 pm
Medals: 12
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Tournament Contribution (3)
General Contribution (2)

Postby hecter on Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:08 pm

AK_iceman wrote:It is just you. And to avoid making simple mistakes in gameplay (which we all do at one point or another), instead of adding more buttons to further confuse members, just slow down a little when taking your turn. :)

QFT

You have an hour man, you don't need to see if you can take your turn in under a minute (though I have done that before :) ).
In heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine... You got your things, and I've got mine.
Image
User avatar
Private 1st Class hecter
 
Posts: 14746
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Tying somebody up on the third floor
Medals: 25
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (3) Assassin Achievement (2)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (1) General Achievement (1) General Contribution (1)

Postby DiM on Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:16 pm

hecter wrote:
AK_iceman wrote:It is just you. And to avoid making simple mistakes in gameplay (which we all do at one point or another), instead of adding more buttons to further confuse members, just slow down a little when taking your turn. :)

QFT

You have an hour man, you don't need to see if you can take your turn in under a minute (though I have done that before :) ).


except if it is freestyle RT :roll:
“In the beginning God said, the four-dimensional divergence of an antisymmetric, second rank tensor equals zero, and there was light, and it was good. And on the seventh day he rested.”- Michio Kaku
Image
User avatar
Major DiM
 
Posts: 10387
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 6:20 pm
Location: making maps for scooby snacks
Medals: 45
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (2)
Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (4) General Achievement (4) Map Contribution (10)
Tournament Contribution (4) General Contribution (3)

Postby OnlyAmbrose on Wed Jun 27, 2007 11:30 pm

I like the idea, I sometimes just automatically click the "advance" button out of habit.
"The Nation that makes a great distinction between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards and its fighting done by fools."
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class OnlyAmbrose
 
Posts: 1797
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Quantico, VA
Medals: 2
Standard Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)

Postby Adrian Exodus on Sun Jul 08, 2007 1:03 pm

I'm for it, when 1 of your countries has 30+ armies mouse wheeling/scrolling thru that little thing can get annoying so just having the advance(all) button and then adding a 'retreat' button that doesn't advance any armies would be nice for when your cleaning up.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Adrian Exodus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:43 pm
Medals: 1
Standard Achievement (1)

Suggestion: Easy "Advance None" Button

Postby moo_lol on Sun Sep 16, 2007 6:50 pm

When I conquer a country, about 50% of the time I advance all, 40% of the time I advance none, and 10% of the time I advance a fraction of the armies from the attacking territory. So 40% of the time I have to click the drop-down menu and scroll up to 0.

Would you consider an Advance None button next to the Advance button (which is really an "Advance All" button before you mess with the drop-down menu) after a successful attack?
Last edited by moo_lol on Sun Sep 16, 2007 8:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dishwasher safe. Garbage disposal dangerous.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class moo_lol
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:34 am

PreviousNext

Return to Submitted Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login