Conquer Club

[EoA] [UI] Advance None Button

Have any bright ideas? Share and discuss them with the community

Moderator: Community Team

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

And don't forget to search for previously suggested ideas first!

Postby hecter on Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:08 pm

AK_iceman wrote:It is just you. And to avoid making simple mistakes in gameplay (which we all do at one point or another), instead of adding more buttons to further confuse members, just slow down a little when taking your turn. :)

QFT

You have an hour man, you don't need to see if you can take your turn in under a minute (though I have done that before :) ).
In heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine... You got your things, and I've got mine.
Image
User avatar
Private 1st Class hecter
 
Posts: 14632
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Tying somebody up on the third floor
Medals: 25
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (3) Assassin Achievement (2)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (1) General Achievement (1) General Contribution (1)

Postby DiM on Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:16 pm

hecter wrote:
AK_iceman wrote:It is just you. And to avoid making simple mistakes in gameplay (which we all do at one point or another), instead of adding more buttons to further confuse members, just slow down a little when taking your turn. :)

QFT

You have an hour man, you don't need to see if you can take your turn in under a minute (though I have done that before :) ).


except if it is freestyle RT :roll:
“In the beginning God said, the four-dimensional divergence of an antisymmetric, second rank tensor equals zero, and there was light, and it was good. And on the seventh day he rested.”- Michio Kaku
Image
User avatar
Major DiM
 
Posts: 10412
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 6:20 pm
Location: making maps for scooby snacks
Medals: 45
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (2)
Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (4) General Achievement (4) Map Contribution (10)
Tournament Contribution (4) General Contribution (3)

Postby OnlyAmbrose on Wed Jun 27, 2007 11:30 pm

I like the idea, I sometimes just automatically click the "advance" button out of habit.
"The Nation that makes a great distinction between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards and its fighting done by fools."
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class OnlyAmbrose
 
Posts: 1797
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 10:53 pm
Medals: 2
Standard Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)

Postby Adrian Exodus on Sun Jul 08, 2007 1:03 pm

I'm for it, when 1 of your countries has 30+ armies mouse wheeling/scrolling thru that little thing can get annoying so just having the advance(all) button and then adding a 'retreat' button that doesn't advance any armies would be nice for when your cleaning up.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Adrian Exodus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:43 pm
Medals: 1
Standard Achievement (1)

Suggestion: Easy "Advance None" Button

Postby moo_lol on Sun Sep 16, 2007 6:50 pm

When I conquer a country, about 50% of the time I advance all, 40% of the time I advance none, and 10% of the time I advance a fraction of the armies from the attacking territory. So 40% of the time I have to click the drop-down menu and scroll up to 0.

Would you consider an Advance None button next to the Advance button (which is really an "Advance All" button before you mess with the drop-down menu) after a successful attack?
Last edited by moo_lol on Sun Sep 16, 2007 8:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dishwasher safe. Garbage disposal dangerous.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class moo_lol
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:34 am

Postby sully800 on Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:03 pm

I have thought for a long time that there should be an easier way to advance zero men to a country. When you're moving a couple hundred scrolling to zero is an unnecessary pain. But I don't really like the thought of adding another button :?
User avatar
Major sully800
 
Posts: 4978
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Medals: 28
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2)
Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (2) Battle Royale Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (2)
Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (3) Map Contribution (1) Tournament Contribution (1) General Contribution (5)

Postby moo_lol on Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:09 pm

It would be a very useful button.
Dishwasher safe. Garbage disposal dangerous.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class moo_lol
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:34 am

Postby JerenYun on Mon Sep 17, 2007 4:42 pm

I know I would love such a feature. I've had problems with Firefox lagging at work (NOT that I play CC instead of working...*cough*) and, when I think I have 0 armies chosen, it really hasn't chosen 0 and ends up advancing armies that I didn't want to advance (which can sometimes be a headache in an Adjacent game).
User avatar
Corporal JerenYun
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:25 am
Medals: 7
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (1)
General Achievement (1)

Postby kingpin01 on Tue Sep 18, 2007 3:04 am

The downside would be having another button on your screen that you could push accidentally and ruin your whole game. It would have to be placed far enough away from the advance button that you wouldn't hit it accidentally, like near the end attacks button. I think it would work
Cook kingpin01
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 9:47 pm
Medals: 18
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (1) Clan Achievement (1)

Postby Ishiro on Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:03 am

sully800 wrote:I have thought for a long time that there should be an easier way to advance zero men to a country. When you're moving a couple hundred scrolling to zero is an unnecessary pain. But I don't really like the thought of adding another button :?


If not a button, I suppose we could hope that a telepathy add-on is developed for FireFox. :)

... or, just put 0 at both ends of the drop down. So if you have 5 armies to advance, the drop down would be:
0
1
2
3
4
5
0

with 5 still selected as the default.
Image
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class Ishiro
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:53 pm
Location: Under the Rainbow
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Assassin Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (1) General Contribution (2)

Postby Seinfreak on Tue Sep 18, 2007 9:26 am

Or, you click the dropdown and hit the 0 key on your keyboard...
User avatar
Cadet Seinfreak
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 6:52 pm

Postby Ishiro on Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:02 am

Seinfreak wrote:Or, you click the dropdown and hit the 0 key on your keyboard...


Keyboard?

:p
Image
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class Ishiro
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:53 pm
Location: Under the Rainbow
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Assassin Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (1) General Contribution (2)

Postby moo_lol on Tue Sep 18, 2007 1:42 pm

Ishiro wrote:
sully800 wrote:I have thought for a long time that there should be an easier way to advance zero men to a country. When you're moving a couple hundred scrolling to zero is an unnecessary pain. But I don't really like the thought of adding another button :?


If not a button, I suppose we could hope that a telepathy add-on is developed for FireFox. :)

... or, just put 0 at both ends of the drop down. So if you have 5 armies to advance, the drop down would be:
0
1
2
3
4
5
0

with 5 still selected as the default.


I thought about this too, but then decided not to suggest it because it would be too easy to select that 0 when you mean to select the 5. I know the 5 is default, so why would you scroll to the "select" the 5? But still, it seems to me that it would cause more trouble than a new button.
Dishwasher safe. Garbage disposal dangerous.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class moo_lol
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:34 am

Advance no armies button

Postby Elwar on Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:58 pm

<Subject>:

* Advance no armies button next to the present drop-list.


<Body>
:

* Suggestion Idea: As above

* Specifics: When you attack a territory, you will have the option to select the number of armies to advance or to advance zero.









* Why it is needed
: Its just the latest in my small things that could be done to help CC crusade. Its both annoying with large amounts of armies to select zero as you have to scroll up to select zero, and wasteful of critical time in freestyle / speed matches. Its a simple solution to a simple problem.
Lieutenant Elwar
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 1:22 am
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1) Assassin Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (1)
Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1)

Postby biznor on Wed Oct 24, 2007 10:38 pm

Aggreed.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class biznor
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 9:57 pm
Location: here

Postby insomniacdude on Thu Oct 25, 2007 1:01 am

It has been suggested before. It was either rejected or pending - I seem to remember some decent discussion on it a few weeks ago. check the To-do list at the top of the forum.
User avatar
Cadet insomniacdude
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:14 am
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Assassin Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Tournament Achievement (1) Tournament Contribution (1)

Postby Elwar on Thu Oct 25, 2007 5:12 am

I cannot find it listed there.
Lieutenant Elwar
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 1:22 am
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1) Assassin Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (1)
Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1)

Postby Wisse on Thu Oct 25, 2007 5:46 am

i can help you
click on the drop list then press 0 on your keyboard and voila
Image Image
User avatar
Sergeant Wisse
 
Posts: 4448
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 2:59 pm
Location: The netherlands, gelderland, epe
Medals: 12
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Map Contribution (1)

Postby Elwar on Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:38 am

Yes, thats a much more elegant solution :roll:
Lieutenant Elwar
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 1:22 am
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1) Assassin Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (1)
Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1)

Postby deathscythe30 on Thu Oct 25, 2007 5:24 pm

This is needed baaaaaaaaadly.

Some of us have a tendency to move the mouse a little too fast and accidentally click on move all armies instead of 0, as I intended.

If you release the mouse pointer outide of the area where you scroll how many armies you want to advance and don't notice it and click "advance" you fucked up.

I've accidentally done this a couple of times and it would be nice if there was another button that simply said "Advance 0 armies".


Or perhaps, even better, you could simply type in the number of armies you would like to advance instead of having a scroll list. I think that would be nice.
Private 1st Class deathscythe30
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 4:24 pm
Medals: 5
Standard Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (2)

Postby cena-rules on Thu Oct 25, 2007 5:36 pm

then slow down

you have an hour to take your turn
19:41:22 ‹jakewilliams› I was a pedo
User avatar
Lieutenant cena-rules
 
Posts: 9740
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 2:27 am
Location: Chat
Medals: 26
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (1) General Achievement (3) Clan Achievement (1) Tournament Contribution (1)
General Contribution (1)

Postby Herakilla on Thu Oct 25, 2007 7:53 pm

cena-rules wrote:then slow down

you have an hour to take your turn


thats true but dont forget about speed games. i for one would love to have a advance none button but it would have to replace the position of end attacks that dissapears when you can advance so no1 can really complain too much about advancing none when they meant to advance
Come join us in Live Chat!
User avatar
Lieutenant Herakilla
 
Posts: 4283
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:33 pm
Location: Wandering the world, spreading Conquerism
Medals: 28
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (3) Fog of War Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (3) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) General Contribution (2)

use the keypad

Postby baianosafado on Sat Oct 27, 2007 4:06 pm

If you're in a hurry and want to choose not to advance any armies, highlight the popdown menu, hit '0' and then enter... as nice as it would be to have a button, it doesn't really seem all that necessary and would just add clutter, in my opinion.
Private 1st Class baianosafado
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 11:34 pm

don't advance button

Postby natty dread on Tue Mar 09, 2010 1:14 pm

Concise description:
  • Don't advance -button next to Advance -button after succesful assault.

Specifics:
  • When you take over a territory, a menu appears with a dropdown for number of troops to advance and the advance button. I propose putting a "Don't advance" button next to the "Advance" button.

This will improve the following aspects of the site:
  • Currently, if you don't wish to advance any troops, you have to select "0" from the dropdown menu and then click Advance. This is troublesome especially when you have large stakcs, and have to scroll down a huge list of numbers. Having a "Don't advance" button would save lots of time and be more convenient than scrolling the menu every time you want to move 0 troops.
  • It would probably also be easy to code. Not a big change but improves the ergonomy of the site.
Image
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class natty dread
 
Posts: 12877
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 8:58 pm
Location: just plain fucked
Medals: 49
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (12) Map Contribution (12) General Contribution (7)

Re: don't advance button

Postby jefjef on Tue Mar 09, 2010 1:26 pm

For real? Too hard to select ZERO?
This post was made by jefjef who should be on your ignore list.
Image
drunkmonkey wrote:I'm filing a C&A report right now. Its nice because they have a drop-down for "jefjef".
User avatar
Colonel jefjef
 
Posts: 6025
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 8:41 pm
Location: on my ass
Medals: 49
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (1)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (4) Speed Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (4) Tournament Achievement (4) General Achievement (2) Clan Achievement (11)
Tournament Contribution (3)

PreviousNext

Return to Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ReDBuLLS