Game coding not displaying properly - erratic [Game link bug

Have suggestion for a new or old tool/enhancement? Found a tool bug? Come on in!

Moderators: Global Moderators, Tech Team

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Game coding not displaying properly - erratic [Game link bug

Postby stahrgazer on Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:08 am

Operating System: Win7
Browser: Mozilla Firefox
Scripts/third party programs used: Installed but OFF (Bob)



Concise description:
  • Game creator sees games made (triples) with two teams, one with 3 players, second team with 2 players in game coding in forums, pms, etc.
  • Others seeing triples games, two teams, each with three players (the way it should be)
  • quads games show two teams, 4 players each (the way it should be)
  • I do not know if doubles shows oddly, I didn't make any doubles games
  • the triples games are clearly showing they are triples games, just with the teams improperly displaying in the mouseover using gamecode in forums
  • when game link is clicked, the games are CLEARLY triples

Specifics:
  • using game code [game][/game] to display some tournament games I made, Triples: I see team 1 with 3 players, team 2 with 2 players.
    Masli and Chuuuuck see nothing wrong.
    Glitch might be limited to game creator, but I assure you, I'm seeing 3/2 for my trips teams, not 3/3 like it should be!

Game 8660106

Game 8660107

Game 8660111

Game 8660113
Last edited by stahrgazer on Tue Mar 08, 2011 2:37 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Image
User avatar
Captain stahrgazer
 
Posts: 1362
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Figment of the Imagination...
Medals: 52
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (4)
Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (4) Clan Achievement (6) Tournament Contribution (1)
General Contribution (7)

Re: Game coding not displaying properly - erratic

Postby Dako on Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:34 am

Please provide game number or screenshot with the issue. Do you know how to make and upload screeshots?
Image
User avatar
Brigadier Dako
 
Posts: 3942
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:07 am
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia
Medals: 115
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (2) Polymorphic Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2)
Fog of War Achievement (3) Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (3) Battle Royale Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (13) General Achievement (24)
Clan Achievement (20) General Contribution (20)

Re: Game coding not displaying properly - erratic

Postby stahrgazer on Tue Mar 08, 2011 2:32 pm

Dako wrote:Please provide game number or screenshot with the issue. Do you know how to make and upload screeshots?


Well, I thought I had put them. However..

1) No, I do NOT know how to screen shot what appears on the mouse-over, and I doubt anyone knows how to do that.
2) I thought my description made it pretty clear that everyone ELSE is apparently seeing things okay on the mouseover of the [game] coding
Image
User avatar
Captain stahrgazer
 
Posts: 1362
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Figment of the Imagination...
Medals: 52
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (4)
Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (4) Clan Achievement (6) Tournament Contribution (1)
General Contribution (7)

Re: Game coding not displaying properly - erratic

Postby sherkaner on Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:17 pm

There is an old version of 'Conquer club game link' that has the behaviour you mention, do you have the latest version of that plugin?
Colonel sherkaner
 
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 3:21 am
Location: Zwolle
Medals: 42
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (2)
Freestyle Achievement (2) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (2)
Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (3) Clan Achievement (3)
General Contribution (11)

Re: Game coding not displaying properly - erratic

Postby Dako on Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:30 pm

Ok, I know this bug. It happens when you have invite privileges over game (like right now, when you created the games for the tournament).

Unfortunately, nothing can be done as of now because scripts needs updating and to update it in a correct way we need to wait for admins to update CC API.

So, bear with it, it is not that bad. I will try to push lack into fixing some minor things with API.
Image
User avatar
Brigadier Dako
 
Posts: 3942
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:07 am
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia
Medals: 115
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (2) Polymorphic Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2)
Fog of War Achievement (3) Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (3) Battle Royale Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (13) General Achievement (24)
Clan Achievement (20) General Contribution (20)

Re: Game coding not displaying properly - erratic

Postby Metsfanmax on Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:43 pm

stahrgazer wrote:1) No, I do NOT know how to screen shot what appears on the mouse-over, and I doubt anyone knows how to do that.


It's simple. Hover your mouse over it, and take a screen shot.
User avatar
Lieutenant Metsfanmax
Head Thinker
Head Thinker
 
Posts: 3683
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: NY
Medals: 40
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (3)
Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (3) Teammate Achievement (1) Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1)
Battle Royale Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (6) Clan Achievement (2)
General Contribution (5)

Re: Game coding not displaying properly - erratic

Postby stahrgazer on Tue Mar 08, 2011 4:41 pm

Metsfanmax wrote:
stahrgazer wrote:1) No, I do NOT know how to screen shot what appears on the mouse-over, and I doubt anyone knows how to do that.


It's simple. Hover your mouse over it, and take a screen shot.


duh. screenshot usuall requires using the mouse to select what to screenshot, but umm.. can't do that when i need the mouse to mouse-over
Image
User avatar
Captain stahrgazer
 
Posts: 1362
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Figment of the Imagination...
Medals: 52
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (4)
Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (4) Clan Achievement (6) Tournament Contribution (1)
General Contribution (7)

Re: Game coding not displaying properly - erratic

Postby Master Fenrir on Tue Mar 08, 2011 4:42 pm

Yeah, I have this same problem. Once the games fill, though, all names appear.
Image
User avatar
General Master Fenrir
 
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 8:40 am
Medals: 109
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (4) Quadruples Achievement (4) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (4) Freestyle Achievement (2) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (3) Fog of War Achievement (4)
Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (3) Cross-Map Achievement (4) Ratings Achievement (4)
Tournament Achievement (21) General Achievement (6) Clan Achievement (15) Tournament Contribution (14) General Contribution (11)

Re: Game coding not displaying properly - erratic

Postby Metsfanmax on Tue Mar 08, 2011 4:44 pm

stahrgazer wrote:
Metsfanmax wrote:
stahrgazer wrote:1) No, I do NOT know how to screen shot what appears on the mouse-over, and I doubt anyone knows how to do that.


It's simple. Hover your mouse over it, and take a screen shot.


duh. screenshot usuall requires using the mouse to select what to screenshot, but umm.. can't do that when i need the mouse to mouse-over


It's called the print screen button. Learn to use it, thanks!
User avatar
Lieutenant Metsfanmax
Head Thinker
Head Thinker
 
Posts: 3683
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: NY
Medals: 40
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (3)
Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (3) Teammate Achievement (1) Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1)
Battle Royale Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (6) Clan Achievement (2)
General Contribution (5)

Re: Game coding not displaying properly - erratic

Postby stahrgazer on Tue Mar 08, 2011 4:46 pm

Metsfanmax wrote:It's called the print screen button. Learn to use it, thanks!


I live in Florida. Come show me how my system will screenprint a mouseover. Thanks!
Image
User avatar
Captain stahrgazer
 
Posts: 1362
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Figment of the Imagination...
Medals: 52
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (4)
Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (4) Clan Achievement (6) Tournament Contribution (1)
General Contribution (7)

Re: Game coding not displaying properly - erratic

Postby stahrgazer on Tue Mar 08, 2011 4:47 pm

Master Fenrir wrote:Yeah, I have this same problem. Once the games fill, though, all names appear.


Thanks for verifying.

I'll put a note in the tourney forum so others know "it's not you" :lol:
Image
User avatar
Captain stahrgazer
 
Posts: 1362
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Figment of the Imagination...
Medals: 52
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (4)
Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (4) Clan Achievement (6) Tournament Contribution (1)
General Contribution (7)

Re: Game coding not displaying properly - erratic

Postby Metsfanmax on Tue Mar 08, 2011 4:48 pm

stahrgazer wrote:
Metsfanmax wrote:It's called the print screen button. Learn to use it, thanks!


I live in Florida. Come show me how my system will screenprint a mouseover. Thanks!


I don't need to go to Florida.

Step 1) Press Print Screen button on keyboard
Step 2) Paste to your favorite image editing software
Step 3) Save
Step 4) ?
Step 5) Profit!
User avatar
Lieutenant Metsfanmax
Head Thinker
Head Thinker
 
Posts: 3683
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: NY
Medals: 40
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (3)
Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (3) Teammate Achievement (1) Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1)
Battle Royale Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (6) Clan Achievement (2)
General Contribution (5)

Re: Game coding not displaying properly - erratic

Postby Dako on Tue Mar 08, 2011 5:02 pm

I guess if she uses Mac it might be a little bit harder.
Image
User avatar
Brigadier Dako
 
Posts: 3942
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:07 am
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia
Medals: 115
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (2) Polymorphic Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2)
Fog of War Achievement (3) Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (3) Battle Royale Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (13) General Achievement (24)
Clan Achievement (20) General Contribution (20)

Re: Game coding not displaying properly - erratic

Postby stahrgazer on Tue Mar 08, 2011 5:08 pm

Metsfanmax wrote:
stahrgazer wrote:
Metsfanmax wrote:It's called the print screen button. Learn to use it, thanks!


I live in Florida. Come show me how my system will screenprint a mouseover. Thanks!


I don't need to go to Florida.

Step 1) Press Print Screen button on keyboard
Step 2) Paste to your favorite image editing software
Step 3) Save
Step 4) ?
Step 5) Profit!


Nope, you'll need to come to florida to show me how to make this system do that.

Meanwhile, OBVIOUSLY SCREEN PRINTS WEREN'T REQUIRED.

I have at least two folks confirming the bug is a bug.
Image
User avatar
Captain stahrgazer
 
Posts: 1362
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Figment of the Imagination...
Medals: 52
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (4)
Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (4) Clan Achievement (6) Tournament Contribution (1)
General Contribution (7)

Re: Game coding not displaying properly - erratic

Postby Metsfanmax on Tue Mar 08, 2011 5:46 pm

Dako wrote:I guess if she uses Mac it might be a little bit harder.


If she's one of the ~10% of people who uses an Apple OS, she probably shouldn't be talking about what's not possible for people in general.
User avatar
Lieutenant Metsfanmax
Head Thinker
Head Thinker
 
Posts: 3683
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: NY
Medals: 40
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (3)
Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (3) Teammate Achievement (1) Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1)
Battle Royale Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (6) Clan Achievement (2)
General Contribution (5)

Next

Return to Tools Suggestions & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login