Announcing: Conquer Club Notifier

Archival storage to keep things organized and uncluttered. Can't find what you need? Search for old topics here.

Moderators: Tech Team, Global Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Postby HighBorn on Thu Jun 08, 2006 10:35 am

rotflmao.... yeah like angelic choir or something!!
User avatar
Private HighBorn
 
Posts: 3010
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: Kentucky
Medals: 15
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1)
Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Contribution (2)

Postby Twill on Thu Jun 08, 2006 8:34 pm

Kevin,

for the PM thing, I thing there is a way for phpBB PM's to be checked externally, but not even 50% certain, so if you want, or have time, or if someone wants to look into it, head over to phpBB.com and see if someone over there can tell you how.

As for the refresh time, please dont let it ping the site every 2 seconds :) that being said, by pinging the RSS feed rather than the games page, it does save a lot of server time and speeds the site up, so thanks from me, as a player, for helping things go faster ;)

Again, thanks much for the great prog. Keep up the good work :D

Twill
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class Twill
Retired Administrator
 
Posts: 3677
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:54 pm
Medals: 11
Standard Achievement (3) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Random Map Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) General Achievement (1) General Contribution (1)

Postby kevinc on Fri Jun 09, 2006 7:36 am

I don't know of any way to check the PM stuff externally. If there way a way to get an RSS feed of PMs then I could do it allright.

Personally I just have it set to email me when I get a PM. Combine that with one of the many email notifiers out there and you should be sorted. :)
User avatar
Corporal kevinc
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:47 pm
Location: Dublin
Medals: 7
Map Contribution (1) General Contribution (6)

Postby john123 on Sat Jun 10, 2006 7:26 am

hey, this was working fine for me before but today i've tried running it a few times and it won't go past the loading xml part, any ideas on how i can fix this?
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class john123
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Ireland
Medals: 7
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1)
Ratings Achievement (1)

Postby kevinc on Sat Jun 10, 2006 9:31 am

I've no idea what could be causing it, i'm afraid.

I'll be releasing a new version shortly, and I'll see if I can write more descriptive errors into it.

There does seem to be some weirdness with the RSS feed from time to time. I've found, when you click on the link, it doesn't bring you to game, but to the forum. I don't see how that could cause any problems though.
User avatar
Corporal kevinc
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:47 pm
Location: Dublin
Medals: 7
Map Contribution (1) General Contribution (6)

Postby lackattack on Sat Jun 10, 2006 10:19 am

it should bring you to the forum login screen when you are not logged into conquer club, but from there it should take you directly to the game.
User avatar
Private 1st Class lackattack
Retired Administrator
 
Posts: 6112
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: Montreal, QC
Medals: 9
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1)
Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) General Achievement (2)

Postby N0g on Mon Jun 12, 2006 9:21 am

This is good stuff. Really.

My wish list

I would like to see the following as optional via a program options window or at least via ini edit:

    Start out minimized to tray (not task bar) and/or have a minimize button on the app itself (rather than right clicking on the task bar icon).
    Flash tray icon on (selectable) status changes. That is, when it's my turn and/or when someone else is making a turn.
    Show game number(s) of active game(s) in the app window. Make them active links the the games they represent.


Lastly, since you aren't charging for this (yet), would you give more info on what you used to do the programming and consider giving out the source so that some of us could help in adding changes. You would have final say in what changes are accepted, but having six or seven hands typing code is generally more productive than just two.
User avatar
Lieutenant N0g
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:56 pm
Location: A van, down by the river

Postby kevinc on Tue Jun 13, 2006 8:16 am

N0g - thanks for the suggestions. I do want to keep the app as simple as possible, so I'm not sure all of them will be possible, but some of them will definately be added.

Something like this konfabulator widget might suit you better:
http://www.widgetgallery.com/view.php?widget=36039

Unfortuanately, it's built in Flash, and extended with SWF Studio (I'm a designer, rather than a developer you see) so I'm not sure if there's many people with experience with both of those. If you do, or anyone else does and wants to help out, then just give me a shout! :)
Last edited by kevinc on Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Corporal kevinc
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:47 pm
Location: Dublin
Medals: 7
Map Contribution (1) General Contribution (6)

XML loading

Postby texasAUtiger on Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:20 pm

I installed it but all I get is "XML loading..."
Captain texasAUtiger
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 10:25 pm
Location: Texas

Postby HighBorn on Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:21 pm

lol. i had that same problem did u put in your number??
User avatar
Private HighBorn
 
Posts: 3010
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: Kentucky
Medals: 15
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1)
Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Contribution (2)

Postby wacicha on Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:26 pm

yeah your # is 6585 change the cog file (sounds like i know what i'm doing)
Image
User avatar
Major wacicha
Retired Team Member
 
Posts: 3953
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 6:51 pm
Medals: 33
Standard Achievement (4) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (4) Assassin Achievement (1)
Manual Troops Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (2)
Ratings Achievement (4) Training Achievement (1) Tournament Contribution (1) General Contribution (6)

Postby mrdexter on Sun Jun 25, 2006 8:23 am

Magdamit, I've broken your notifier Kevinc :-(
Positive: Great guy, will always play to his best. Honourable and fun to play with as well. You know you're in for a rough time playing mrdexter :) Game 31384 Haydena
Positive: Mr D is the golden child of CC, if we had to elect a king he'd get my vote! Game 76700 silus
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class mrdexter
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:21 am
Location: England
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1)

Postby Telvannia on Sun Jul 02, 2006 3:04 am

is the any possiblity to make it compatible with linux???
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Telvannia
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 7:19 am
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1)
Fog of War Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Map Contribution (1)

Postby Murph808 on Sat Jul 08, 2006 6:44 pm

Ok I dont understand.the beginning?
User avatar
Private Murph808
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 1:02 pm
Location: Maui
Medals: 9
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (1)
Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)

Postby kevinc on Mon Jul 10, 2006 5:37 pm

Telvannia wrote:is the any possiblity to make it compatible with linux???


You could try running it using Wine. I've no idea if it would work though. I@m sure there's RSS readers, like on OSX that would be able to sort you out though.
User avatar
Corporal kevinc
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:47 pm
Location: Dublin
Medals: 7
Map Contribution (1) General Contribution (6)

Postby sully800 on Sat Jul 15, 2006 3:02 pm

Awesome program kevin. I didn't download it when I first saw this thread because I thought I needed the RSS reader and everything set up. And I was too lazy/intimidated to do all of that until today. Anyway you are the man for making something so simple and useful :D

Murph- When you click download the folder that saves to your computer will have a little zipper on the icon. Right click and hit "extract all" to unzip the folder. This will give you the notifier folder in which you edit the INI file so it contains your usernumber and not kevin's.
User avatar
Major sully800
 
Posts: 4999
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Medals: 27
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2)
Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (1)
General Achievement (3) Map Contribution (1) Tournament Contribution (1) General Contribution (5)

Postby gavin_sidhu on Sun Jul 16, 2006 12:19 am

Thank u Kevin. Took me forever to get up and running, but well worth it.
User avatar
Lieutenant gavin_sidhu
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 6:16 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

I Love it and suggestions

Postby evster on Sun Jul 16, 2006 9:09 am

Kevin, the program you put out has saved my sanity - I no longer hit refresh every x seconds (sorry Lack) to find out if I am up. A couple of questions/suggestions:

I noticed at one point, in my tool tray (where I have put a shortcut) there was the CC logo icon, but I don't see it now. Is there something I have done wrong?

sugg:

More standing out Ready number for a short period when a game BECOMES ready (ie flash the whole CC displu or change the colour of the inside of the star or the word ready)

countdown to next update

Always ontop as a default option

Can you use the XML feeds to set a watch list? ie look at this list of players' RSS (that use inputs - friends/opponents) to say if they are playing?

Phenomenal add on to CC!

Evan
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class evster
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 8:43 pm
Location: Montreal
Medals: 5
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1)

Postby sully800 on Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:48 pm

My suggestion for a future update: Could you add an optional audio alert to the program? Sometimes I will be in the same room with my computer, perhaps reading (or sleeping) and a simple alarm would really let me know when I can begin my turn on crucial games.

There's nothing like waking up in the middle of the night to try and play an important turn while extremely groggy!

Anyway, I don't know how difficult that would be for you to code but I think it would be very useful. Thanks once again for the initial program though! Its awesome.
User avatar
Major sully800
 
Posts: 4999
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Medals: 27
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2)
Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (1)
General Achievement (3) Map Contribution (1) Tournament Contribution (1) General Contribution (5)

Postby maritovw on Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:31 pm

i also get the "loading xml" thing.... it just keeps there...
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class maritovw
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:05 pm
Location: Guatemala
Medals: 2
Standard Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1)

Postby lackattack on Tue Jul 25, 2006 5:14 pm

I have a few suggestions for the next version of CC Notifier:

1. To simplify installation, why not provide only the exe file, which will prompt you for the userid and create a config file automatically if one doesn't exist? Or better yet, it can prompt you for your username and I'll modify rss.php to accept either username or userid.

2. I researched your platform a bit and Zinc is a SWF2EXE that will let you compile Mac OSX versions - I don't know if it would work for you but you might wanna check it out.

3. The top pixel of the star is white (should be grey).
User avatar
Private 1st Class lackattack
Retired Administrator
 
Posts: 6112
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: Montreal, QC
Medals: 9
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1)
Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) General Achievement (2)

Postby Telvannia on Tue Jul 25, 2006 6:13 pm

is the anyway you can make this compatable with linux (ubuntu in particular)???
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Telvannia
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 7:19 am
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1)
Fog of War Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Map Contribution (1)

Postby kevinc on Wed Jul 26, 2006 12:07 pm

lackattack wrote:1. To simplify installation, why not provide only the exe file, which will prompt you for the userid and create a config file automatically if one doesn't exist? Or better yet, it can prompt you for your username and I'll modify rss.php to accept either username or userid.


Good idea, would be better for beginners. I wonder if I can figure out a way to get rid of the config file entirely.

2. I researched your platform a bit and Zinc is a SWF2EXE that will let you compile Mac OSX versions - I don't know if it would work for you but you might wanna check it out.


Zinc sounds cool. I only have access to SWF Studio at the moment (in work) so unless someone feels generous, I won't be able to use it. :(

Although if there was anyone here with software development experience, perhaps they could write a version with REAL BASIC, or another multiplatform programming environment. I'm a designer so this was the only way I could do it. If anyone could do that, then I'd happily colaborate on the design of it.

3. The top pixel of the star is white (should be grey).


Wow - well spotted. I'll fix that! :)
User avatar
Corporal kevinc
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:47 pm
Location: Dublin
Medals: 7
Map Contribution (1) General Contribution (6)

Postby gavin_sidhu on Wed Aug 02, 2006 11:57 pm

Is there any way you could make it thinner? i usually have it "always on top" and now that microsoft have made there IE 7 and other microsoft office 2007 toolbars thinner it infringes on my work space. For the next update could you also allow it to minimise?
Highest Score: 1843 Ranking (Australians): 3
User avatar
Lieutenant gavin_sidhu
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 6:16 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby Ronaldinho on Thu Aug 03, 2006 12:34 am

ive just downloaded it, but i aint come up with my games ect, just yours......help me please
Image
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class Ronaldinho
 
Posts: 2912
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 5:35 pm
Location: Weymouth, Dorset.
Medals: 14
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (1) Tournament Achievement (1)

PreviousNext

Return to Tool Archives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

Login