How do I clear my cache?

Ask questions, answer questions

Moderators: Community Team, Global Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Re:

Postby owenshooter on Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:43 am

timmytuttut88 wrote:what if you have safari?

under the "safari" menu, it is "empty cache", simple as that... however, i have
not had any problems... this is kind of interesting... i've never cleared my cache..
what does it do?-0
Image
DoomYoshi, "GD has no traffic because of venereal diseases like you."
User avatar
Lieutenant owenshooter
 
Posts: 8900
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 6:01 pm
Location: Deep in the Heart of Tx
Medals: 27
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (4) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (2) Polymorphic Achievement (1)
Fog of War Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (1) Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (3)
Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (3) Clan Achievement (2)

Re: Re:

Postby hecter on Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:03 pm

owenshooter wrote:
timmytuttut88 wrote:what if you have safari?

under the "safari" menu, it is "empty cache", simple as that... however, i have
not had any problems... this is kind of interesting... i've never cleared my cache..
what does it do?-0

The cache is like a thing that saves a whole bunch of files and such on a webpage. Clearing your cache gets rid of all that and forces the browser to get all the data again.
In heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine... You got your things, and I've got mine.
Image
User avatar
Private 1st Class hecter
 
Posts: 14746
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Tying somebody up on the third floor
Medals: 25
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (3) Assassin Achievement (2)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (1) General Achievement (1) General Contribution (1)

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby gimil on Sun Mar 30, 2008 11:33 am

The reason your cache saves files is to make loading web pages easier. If it has a file stored then it doesnt need to request it from the server. For example when you load the classic map for hte first time it is stored on your cache so that the next time you need it it comes from your cache rather than the server. This just helps web pages load quicker.
What do you know about map making, bitch?

natty_dread wrote:I was wrong


Top Score:2403
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class gimil
 
Posts: 8605
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: United Kingdom (Scotland)
Medals: 39
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (3) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (3) Teammate Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (2) Map Contribution (7) Tournament Contribution (1) General Contribution (5)

Re: Re:

Postby Wisse on Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:38 pm

owenshooter wrote:
timmytuttut88 wrote:what if you have safari?

under the "safari" menu, it is "empty cache", simple as that... however, i have
not had any problems... this is kind of interesting... i've never cleared my cache..
what does it do?-0


your cashe is something that remembers pictures (and passwords if there is a remember me button) of sites so you don't have to load it over and over again, but if someone updates the picture without making a new url (just uploads a new picture for the same url) then sometimes you see the old picture, or it gives error, though it never gave me errors in safari
Image Image
User avatar
Sergeant Wisse
 
Posts: 4448
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 2:59 pm
Location: The netherlands, gelderland, epe
Medals: 1
Map Contribution (1)

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby glide on Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:26 pm

This thread was really helpful in the past...but now that I have upgraded to Firefox 3.0.1 how do I clear my cache?
Gatekeeper, and Proud Member of XI Games
Newt Hunter
User avatar
Lieutenant glide
 
Posts: 1731
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 4:13 pm
Location: just outside the thriving metropolis of Centreville, New Brunswick!
Medals: 19
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (3)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (2)

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby hecter on Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:31 pm

glide wrote:This thread was really helpful in the past...but now that I have upgraded to Firefox 3.0.1 how do I clear my cache?

Same way. Tools -> Clear Private Data.
In heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine... You got your things, and I've got mine.
Image
User avatar
Private 1st Class hecter
 
Posts: 14746
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Tying somebody up on the third floor
Medals: 25
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (3) Assassin Achievement (2)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (1) General Achievement (1) General Contribution (1)

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby azezzo on Sat Apr 25, 2009 4:33 pm

man, wicked's avatar sure had a nice ass :D
Image
User avatar
Major azezzo
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:54 pm
Location: New York state, by way of Chicago
Medals: 57
Standard Achievement (4) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (3) Freestyle Achievement (4) Polymorphic Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2)
Fog of War Achievement (4) Trench Warfare Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (4) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (5) Clan Achievement (7)

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby blakebowling on Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:24 pm

azezzo wrote:man, wicked's avatar sure had a nice ass :D

and that has to do with the how to clear your cache thread because.....
Last edited by blakebowling on Sat Oct 03, 2009 5:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
12:39:59 AM rdsrds2120: sorry, I had a lot of lasagna tonight
12:40:06 AM rdsrds2120: I'm pretty out of it. CRAAZZYYY NIGHT
12:31:04 * Metsfanmax quit (kicked from Social by Metsfanmax - reason: haha gotcha now)
12:59:32 * #1_stunna gropes blakebowling
Private blakebowling
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5031
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:09 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Medals: 41
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (3) Fog of War Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (3)
Teammate Achievement (1) Random Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (3)
Tournament Contribution (3) General Contribution (10)

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby bedub1 on Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:45 pm

wicked wrote:This question is asked quite often, especially whenever an update is installed. Here's how to do it.

Select the instructions below that correspond to whichever browser you are using. To find out which browser you are usin, go to Help at the top of your browser window and select "About".


Clearing Cache on Firefox 1.0
Click Tools and select Options.
Click the Privacy Icon.
Click Clear next to the Cache section.
Click Ok.
Exit and relaunch the browser.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Clearing Cache on Firefox 1.5
Click Tools and select Options.
Click the Privacy icon.
Click the Cache tab and click Clear Cache Now.
Click Ok.
Exit and relaunch the browser.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Clearing Cache on Firefox 2.0 and 3.0
Click Tools and select Options.
Click the Advanced icon and click the Network tab.
Click Clear Now under the Cache section.
Click Ok.
Exit and relaunch the browser.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Clearing Cache on IE 6.0
Click Tools and select Internet Options
Click General Tab
Click Delete Files in the Temporary Internet Files section
Check Delete All Offline Content
Click OK
Exit and relaunch the browser.

bump

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Clearing Cache on IE 8.0
Push the Alt button on your keyboard
Click Tools and select Internet Options
Click General Tab
Click Delete.. in the Browsing history section
Check Temporary Internet files
Click Delete
Click OK
Exit and relaunch the browser.
Colonel bedub1
 
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 4:41 am
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (1) General Contribution (1)

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby Pyradonis on Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:17 am

Please excuse my ignorance^^ But what´s the difference between refreshing the page and clearing the cache?
User avatar
Private 1st Class Pyradonis
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:17 am

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby Darwins_Bane on Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:22 am

refreshing a page checks if there is any new or updated info since the last cache. Caching a page is when you load one for the first time. it loads certain parts of it to local memory so that navigation and revisiting as well as pressing "forward" or "back" all go much faster than they would if you had to load it every time.
high score : 2294
02:59:29 ‹Khan22› wouldn't you love to have like 5 or 6 girls all giving you attention?
10/11/2010 02:59:39 ‹TheForgivenOne› No.
Corporal Darwins_Bane
 
Posts: 990
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:09 pm
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Medals: 33
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (3) Manual Troops Achievement (3) Freestyle Achievement (3) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (3)
Speed Achievement (3) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (1) General Achievement (1)
General Contribution (4)

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby SirSebstar on Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:49 am

or in even simpler terms. refreshing is opening a page you already have (partly) committed to memory. Clearing the cash is throwing out all you knew and start afresh.

the why? Because sometimes old knowledge interferes with the operation of your computer by displaying or remembering old information that is no longer the correct current information. E.g. if shows your previous position instead of your current one. So to purge the memory of your faulty memory you clear the cashe.
User avatar
Major SirSebstar
 
Posts: 7329
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:51 am
Location: SirSebstar is BACK. Highscore: Colonel Score: 2919 21/03/2011
Medals: 95
Standard Achievement (4) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (3)
Assassin Achievement (3) Manual Troops Achievement (3) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (3) Fog of War Achievement (4)
Speed Achievement (3) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (4)
Tournament Achievement (23) General Achievement (6) Clan Achievement (9) Training Achievement (1) Tournament Contribution (4)
General Contribution (11)

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby Pyradonis on Fri Aug 13, 2010 5:01 am

Ok, now I got it. Good to know that I´m apparently not the only one who didnt´know that ;)
User avatar
Private 1st Class Pyradonis
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:17 am

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby hajduk1911 on Mon Aug 22, 2011 6:47 am

http://www.conquerclub.com/game.php?game=9622461

2011-08-22 06:22:35 - hajduk1911 got bonus of 3 troops added to British Landing Point
2011-08-22 06:22:35 - hajduk1911 got bonus of 4 troops added to Portugal
2011-08-22 06:22:35 - hajduk1911 got bonus of 3 troops added to Portuguese Landing Point
2011-08-22 06:22:35 - hajduk1911 got bonus of 4 troops added to Holland
2011-08-22 06:22:35 - hajduk1911 got bonus of 3 troops added to Dutch Landing Point
2011-08-22 06:22:35 - hajduk1911 received 1 troops for holding 2 Dutch Territories
2011-08-22 06:22:35 - hajduk1911 received 1 troops for holding 2 Portuguese Territories
2011-08-22 06:22:35 - hajduk1911 received 3 troops for holding 6 Mapuche Territories
2011-08-22 06:22:35 - hajduk1911 received 5 troops for 15 regions
2011-08-22 06:22:46 - hajduk1911 deployed 10 troops on Mapuche 6
2011-08-22 06:22:48 - hajduk1911 assaulted Mapuche Homeland from Mapuche 6 and conquered it from brooon
2011-08-22 06:23:33 - hajduk1911 assaulted British 1 from British Landing Point and conquered it from neutral player
2011-08-22 06:24:06 - hajduk1911 assaulted British 2 from British 1 and conquered it from neutral player
2011-08-22 06:24:21 - hajduk1911 bombarded British 3 from Britain and annihilated neutral player's troops
2011-08-22 06:24:24 - hajduk1911 bombarded British 3 from Britain and annihilated neutral player's troops
2011-08-22 06:24:25 - hajduk1911 bombarded British 3 from Britain and annihilated neutral player's troops
2011-08-22 06:24:27 - hajduk1911 bombarded British 3 from Britain and annihilated neutral player's troops
2011-08-22 06:24:28 - hajduk1911 bombarded British 3 from Britain and annihilated neutral player's troops
2011-08-22 06:24:37 - hajduk1911 bombarded British 3 from Britain and annihilated neutral player's troops
2011-08-22 06:24:42 - hajduk1911 bombarded British 3 from Britain and annihilated neutral player's troops
2011-08-22 06:24:44 - hajduk1911 bombarded British 3 from Britain and annihilated neutral player's troops
2011-08-22 06:24:46 - hajduk1911 bombarded British 3 from Britain and annihilated neutral player's troops
2011-08-22 06:24:48 - hajduk1911 bombarded British 3 from Britain and annihilated neutral player's troops
2011-08-22 06:25:20 - hajduk1911 bombarded British 3 from Britain and annihilated neutral player's troops
2011-08-22 06:25:23 - hajduk1911 bombarded British 3 from Britain and annihilated neutral player's troops
2011-08-22 06:25:25 - hajduk1911 bombarded British 3 from Britain and annihilated neutral player's troops
2011-08-22 06:27:10 - hajduk1911 assaulted Dutch 2 from Dutch Landing Point and conquered it from neutral player
2011-08-22 06:27:50 - hajduk1911 reinforced Mapuche Homeland with 9 troops from Portuguese Landing Point
2011-08-22 06:27:50 - hajduk1911 ended the turn

How is this possible????????????????????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!
I lost the army because of errors.....
Is it possible that admin can return the game back to the way it was before error
Lieutenant hajduk1911
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:30 am
Medals: 5
Standard Achievement (2) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Random Map Achievement (1)

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby zimmah on Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:54 am

1) What does this have to do with your cache?
2) Why do you bump an old tread
3) What exactly is the bug, everything i read in tht gamelog seems perfectly normal to me.

or did you mean the '2011-08-22 06:25:25 - hajduk1911 bombarded British 3 from Britain and annihilated neutral player's troops' line?

it has to do with bombarding a region. you can only bring a region down to 1 neutral, and i'm not sure what happens if you use auto-assault while bombarding (probably the above situation). so just don't combine auto-assault with bomabards.
Image
owenshooter wrote:i disagree with you and i'm right!

Een van de Veroveraars der Lage Landen
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class zimmah
 
Posts: 1634
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 12:43 pm
Location: VDLL
Medals: 43
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (3)
Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (3) Clan Achievement (4) Map Contribution (4)

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby DiM on Mon Aug 22, 2011 10:21 am

lol he bombarded over and over and over expecting to conquer that terit :)))
“In the beginning God said, the four-dimensional divergence of an antisymmetric, second rank tensor equals zero, and there was light, and it was good. And on the seventh day he rested.”- Michio Kaku
Image
User avatar
Major DiM
 
Posts: 10554
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 6:20 pm
Location: making maps for scooby snacks
Medals: 45
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (2)
Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (4) General Achievement (4) Map Contribution (10)
Tournament Contribution (4) General Contribution (3)

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby hajduk1911 on Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:56 am

you're probably right...............
no more auto-assault
Lieutenant hajduk1911
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:30 am
Medals: 5
Standard Achievement (2) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Random Map Achievement (1)

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby blakebowling on Tue Aug 23, 2011 11:10 pm

Actually, the auto-assault stops when it switches from player owned to neutral. However if you click it again, it will continue to auto assault.

Also, you had to have been clicking it over and over, because there are gaps of a few seconds between each attack in the game log.
12:39:59 AM rdsrds2120: sorry, I had a lot of lasagna tonight
12:40:06 AM rdsrds2120: I'm pretty out of it. CRAAZZYYY NIGHT
12:31:04 * Metsfanmax quit (kicked from Social by Metsfanmax - reason: haha gotcha now)
12:59:32 * #1_stunna gropes blakebowling
Private blakebowling
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5031
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:09 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Medals: 41
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (3) Fog of War Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (3)
Teammate Achievement (1) Random Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (3)
Tournament Contribution (3) General Contribution (10)

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby hajduk1911 on Wed Aug 24, 2011 8:17 am

however I do not know how to explain this in English ... but I will try ....
I was visiting my parents and they have an old computer (there is probably some stupid virus inside ) ....
anyhow... when I was playing the game the pc blocked ...and i was really upset because it has happened to me 2 times before on that pc,...
and i started pressing the left mouse button ....and after the pc unblocked .... guess what I saw ... XDXD
Lieutenant hajduk1911
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:30 am
Medals: 5
Standard Achievement (2) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Random Map Achievement (1)

Next

Return to Questions & Answers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

Login