How do I clear my cache?

Ask questions, answer questions

Moderators: Global Moderators, Discussions Team

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

How do I clear my cache?

Postby wicked on Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:52 pm

This question is asked quite often, especially whenever an update is installed. Here's how to do it.

Select the instructions below that correspond to whichever browser you are using. To find out which browser you are usin, go to Help at the top of your browser window and select "About".


Clearing Cache on Firefox 1.0
Click Tools and select Options.
Click the Privacy Icon.
Click Clear next to the Cache section.
Click Ok.
Exit and relaunch the browser.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Clearing Cache on Firefox 1.5
Click Tools and select Options.
Click the Privacy icon.
Click the Cache tab and click Clear Cache Now.
Click Ok.
Exit and relaunch the browser.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Clearing Cache on Firefox 2.0 and 3.0
Click Tools and select Options.
Click the Advanced icon and click the Network tab.
Click Clear Now under the Cache section.
Click Ok.
Exit and relaunch the browser.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Clearing Cache on IE 6.0
Click Tools and select Internet Options
Click General Tab
Click Delete Files in the Temporary Internet Files section
Check Delete All Offline Content
Click OK
Exit and relaunch the browser.
User avatar
Major wicked
 
Posts: 15794
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:23 pm
Medals: 18
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (2)
Ratings Achievement (1) General Contribution (1)

Postby yeti_c on Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:15 pm

Great post wicked...

Also for FF 2.0 - there is another cache (It might be the same) from Tools -> Clear Private Data.

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9670
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am
Medals: 46
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (3) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (3)
General Achievement (1) Map Contribution (13) Tournament Contribution (1) General Contribution (10)

Postby gimil on Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:25 pm

Doesn't F5 do the job just as well?
What do you know about map making, bitch?

natty_dread wrote:I was wrong


Top Score:2403
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class gimil
 
Posts: 8605
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: United Kingdom (Scotland)
Medals: 39
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (3) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (3) Teammate Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (2) Map Contribution (7) Tournament Contribution (1) General Contribution (5)

Postby Top Dog on Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:35 pm

now the maps super light
High Score: 1384 w/ 42% games won
User avatar
Corporal Top Dog
 
Posts: 507
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 7:50 pm
Location: Right Here
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (1)

Postby wicked on Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:48 pm

I'm pretty sure it's the same yeti.
User avatar
Major wicked
 
Posts: 15794
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:23 pm
Medals: 18
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (2)
Ratings Achievement (1) General Contribution (1)

Postby ParadiceCity9 on Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:49 pm

what's a cache?
Corporal 1st Class ParadiceCity9
 
Posts: 4240
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 4:10 pm
Medals: 49
Standard Achievement (4) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (4) Quadruples Achievement (4) Terminator Achievement (3)
Assassin Achievement (3) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (4) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (3)
Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (4) Teammate Achievement (3) Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (4) Tournament Achievement (2) Clan Achievement (1)

Postby oggiss on Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:26 pm

And how do I know which model I have? 1.0, 2.0 etc?
Record - 3582 p rank - 6 General
User avatar
Major oggiss
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 8:43 am
Location: Sweden - Probably the best country in the world
Medals: 19
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (3) Fog of War Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (3) Cross-Map Achievement (1)

Postby wicked on Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:36 pm

Good question!! Go to Help at the top of your browser window and select "About".
User avatar
Major wicked
 
Posts: 15794
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:23 pm
Medals: 18
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (2)
Ratings Achievement (1) General Contribution (1)

Postby whitestazn88 on Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:40 pm

gimil wrote:Doesn't F5 do the job just as well?


does it really?? i thought it just refreshed the page...
Sergeant 1st Class whitestazn88
 
Posts: 3127
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: behind you
Medals: 28
Standard Achievement (4) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (2) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (2)
Random Map Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Clan Achievement (1)

Postby timmytuttut88 on Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:20 pm

what if you have safari?
dgaf
Captain timmytuttut88
 
Posts: 913
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 10:38 pm
Medals: 5
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2)

Postby CrabNebula on Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:48 am

whitestazn88 wrote:
gimil wrote:Doesn't F5 do the job just as well?


does it really?? i thought it just refreshed the page...


Ctrl+F5 clears the cache and reloads the page while F5 ONLY refreshes the page.
rebelman wrote:
JOHNNYROCKET24 wrote:thats why my next wife will be a player from this site. I wont mention who :wink:
obviously you are looking for a woman thats a good cook and likes you to dominate in one on one
Sergeant 1st Class CrabNebula
 
Posts: 1737
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 2:19 pm
Medals: 5
Standard Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1)

Postby Plutoman on Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:49 pm

Ahh, this surprised me for a second, I thought wicked was actually asking how to clear the cache :P

Couldn't believe she wouldn't know how to do that xD

Great post. Hopefully clears some problems ^^
User avatar
Private Plutoman
 
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 4:28 pm
Medals: 7
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Assassin Achievement (1)
Speed Achievement (1)

Postby karel on Wed Mar 26, 2008 12:56 am

Done the whole safari thing and cleared my cache,and still can't get into chat.I did for a few sec. today then get disconnected then can't get back?I do have a mac and do not use windows!!!! :P :P
Image
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class karel
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:01 pm
Location: montana........rolling in the mud with the hippies
Medals: 46
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (4) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (4) Manual Troops Achievement (2)
Freestyle Achievement (2) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (4) Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (3)
Teammate Achievement (3) Random Map Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (1)
Clan Achievement (5) Tournament Contribution (1) General Contribution (1)

Postby wicked on Wed Mar 26, 2008 1:07 am

Try a different browser. Lack says he's going to try to figure it out tomorrow. It's been dead w/o you guys! :cry:
User avatar
Major wicked
 
Posts: 15794
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:23 pm
Medals: 18
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (2)
Ratings Achievement (1) General Contribution (1)

Re: How do I clear my cache?

Postby soka on Thu Mar 27, 2008 11:34 pm

this is a stick up , give me all your cache :lol:
Sergeant 1st Class soka
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 7:32 pm
Medals: 26
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2)
Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (3) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (4)

Next

Return to Questions & Answers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Login