New Notifier: 'Tell Me When'

Archival storage to keep things organized and uncluttered. Can't find what you need? Search for old topics here.

Moderators: Global Moderators, Tech Team

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

New Notifier: 'Tell Me When'

Postby Fantius on Sun Nov 26, 2006 8:39 pm

Download here: http://fantius.com/TellMeWhen.exe
---------------------------------------------------------------

I just created a general purpose notifier tool. CC players may find it useful. Here is how I have mine setup to tell me when it's my turn in a CC game:

Interval = 1 minute
URL = http://www.conquerclub.com/rss.php?user_id=30249
Search pattern = READY

The tray icon will change when the search pattern is found in the data received from the specified URL.

The program requires that you have the .NET runtime library installed. You will get an error when you run it if it is not installed. You can get the runtime library here:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... b15c5e04f5

And you can get 'Tell Me When' here:

http://fantius.com/TellMeWhen.exe
Last edited by Fantius on Thu Jun 28, 2007 9:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Sergeant Fantius
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:27 pm
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (1) General Contribution (3)

Postby tals on Mon Nov 27, 2006 4:24 pm

Very nice - works well in conjunction with the firefox notify.

Tals
Sergeant tals
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: UK
Medals: 9
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1)

Postby gavin_sidhu on Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:36 pm

So how does this differ from the other notifier?
Highest Score: 1843 Ranking (Australians): 3
User avatar
Lieutenant gavin_sidhu
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 6:16 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby tals on Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:45 am

gavin_sidhu wrote:So how does this differ from the other notifier?


The other notifier doesn't sit in the tray and change icon when a game is ready. That's what this one does - one icon if no games and a different one if a game is available. Exactly what I wanted.

Tals
Sergeant tals
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: UK
Medals: 9
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1)

Postby RjBeals on Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:55 pm

Can you make the icons more distinct? Like one just b/w & one color? Other than that - it rocks!
User avatar
Private RjBeals
 
Posts: 2500
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 5:17 pm
Location: South Carolina, USA
Medals: 21
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1)
General Achievement (7) Map Contribution (6) General Contribution (2)

Postby tals on Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:14 am

This needs to be added to the utilities list
Sergeant tals
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: UK
Medals: 9
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1)

Postby lackattack on Mon Dec 04, 2006 8:46 am

Hey Fantius,

I installed .Net to try out your notifier. Since I've been trained not to trust any executables I download over the internet (except from reputable sites like adobe.com) I thought I should use my firewall to see what it does.

So why does 'Tell Me When' contact IP 65.182.102.23 - It belongs to neither my computer nor CC :-k
User avatar
Private 1st Class lackattack
Retired Administrator
 
Posts: 6235
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: Montreal, QC
Medals: 9
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1)
Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) General Achievement (2)

Postby Fantius on Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:48 pm

lackattack,

Obviously you are right to not trust any old exe that you download. The program does not talk to any host other than the one you tell it to check.

The IP that you cited is owned by the hosting company that is hosting the exe. Is it possible that you still had the browser opened that you downloaded though and it was still communicating? That's the only explanation that I can think of.

Actually, I did have another paranoid thought: What if the hosting company altered the exe on it's own? To test this, I donloaded the exe from paulcrowder.net, installed and started WireShark (packet sniffer), and then ran the exe. I only saw it communicate with conquerclub's IP and my router.

If there is some better way I can check this, please let me know. Or if anyone else has checked this, please let us know your results. I certainly don't want my program doing something that I didn't tell it to do and don't want it doing.
User avatar
Sergeant Fantius
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:27 pm
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (1) General Contribution (3)

Postby Fantius on Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:47 pm

RjBeals,

I agree about the icons. Can anyone point me to a decent, free icon editor?
User avatar
Sergeant Fantius
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:27 pm
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (1) General Contribution (3)

Postby Fantius on Fri Dec 08, 2006 1:27 am

There's a new version out there now. It has a more distinct 'pattern found' tray icon plus a couple of other minor changes.
User avatar
Sergeant Fantius
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:27 pm
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (1) General Contribution (3)

Postby tals on Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:01 am

Thanks Fantius - great utility. I no longer use the other notifier - just this and firefox notify.

Tals
Sergeant tals
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: UK
Medals: 9
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1)

Postby pjdonald on Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:09 am

If I'm getting an "Error, the remote server returned an error..." does that mean the program is not working, or just that no games are in a "ready" status?
Colonel pjdonald
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 8:17 pm
Location: Indiana
Medals: 23
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (1)
Fog of War Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (1) Tournament Achievement (2)
Tournament Contribution (5)

Postby tals on Sat Dec 23, 2006 12:58 am

My tellmewhen keeps crashing when I start it - can't start it at all. I suspect either a temp file or a registry entry has got corrupted. Can you let me know what reg entries I need to clear out.

Many thanks

Tals
Sergeant tals
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: UK
Medals: 9
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1)

Postby Fantius on Tue Dec 26, 2006 12:16 am

pjdonald,
Although I've never seen that error, my guess is that it is a problem with the remote server. Is it still occuring?

tals,
I would like to fix the bug, does it give you any error message? If you want to try deleting the settings as a work-around, look in your version of:

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Local Settings\Application Data\TellMeWhen

Again, I'd really like to fix the bug, so any additional info you can give me would be appreciated.
User avatar
Sergeant Fantius
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:27 pm
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (1) General Contribution (3)

Postby tals on Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:23 am

fant I can't get to my machine at the mo - when I do i'll pm you the error message, i'm quite happy to try and resolve the issue than clean it. Or I could send you the settings files?

tals
Sergeant tals
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: UK
Medals: 9
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1)

Next

Return to Tool Archives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
Login