Conquer Club

A Capital XML Update

Topics that are not maps. Discuss general map making concepts, techniques, contests, etc, here.

Moderator: Cartographers

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

A Capital XML Update

Postby MrBenn on Tue Oct 12, 2010 6:20 pm

Ahoy Conquer Clubbers!

For those of us who love to play CC on maps, and those of us who love to make maps for people to play on CC, it give me great pleasure to announce a long-awaited addition to the XML Arsenal....

Losing Conditions / Requirements
Losing conditions (technically known as 'requirements') are a form of objective that you must continue to hold in order to avoid being eliminated. If your 'requirement' objective is taken from you, then you will be instantly eliminated from the game. (You can think of this as a 'capture the flag' scenario).

Let's explain it in a bit more detail: The requirements are evaluated whenever you conquer/bombard a territory, nuke a country, or are hit by a killer neutral. So if you do not meet a requirement from the initial game drop you might have a chance to conquer it and become safe (although for the most part, the 'requirements' will be bundled up as starting positions). When you eliminate someone via requirement, it works the same as eliminating someone via nuke - you get their cards and it counts as terminator points. When you don't meet a requirement your remaining armies change to neutral.

Here are the technical details, for those that love the code:

    The new <requirement> tag goes in between positions and objectives. If you have a complete xml with all the toys the tags must be in the this order:
    Code: Select all
        <?xml version="1.0"?>
        <map>
          <minreinforcement/>
          <reinforcements/>
          <positions/>
          <requirement/>
          <objectives/>
          <continents/>
          <territories/>
        </map>


    So, let's get on to how they work... In this example, in order to stay alive in the game you must hold 2 out of the 4 territories in Oceania:
    Code: Select all
    <requirement>
       <name>Two Oceanic Countries</name>
       <components>
          <territory>Jakarta</territory>
          <territory>Port Moresby</territory>
          <territory>Perth</territory>
          <territory>Sydney</territory>
       </components>
       <required>2</required>
    </requirement>

    It should be noted that you can include <continent> components as well <territory> components.

    Similarly, lackattack has updated the game engine to respect <required> tags on objectives. For example, you can now do this:
    Code: Select all
    <objective>
       <name>Two Small Continents</name>
       <components>
          <continent>South America</continent>
          <continent>Africa</continent>
          <continent>Oceania</continent>
       </components>
       <required>2</required>
    </objective>

When somebody is eliminated via requirement, the game log will look something like this:
MrBenn assaulted Canada from England and conquered it from lackattack
lackattack no longer holds XXX (name of the requirement)
MrBenn overthrew lackattack who has been eliminated from the game
lackattack lost 8 points
MrBenn gained 8 points


Many thanks to lackattack for providing us with a new toy to play with (I'm hoping that there are more to come), and here's to all the Capital Ideas that have yet to be cooked up!

--MrBenn


PS. It should be noted that there are potential uses for this new feature that do not necessarily need to involve 'Capitals'. The 'Capital' meme has only been used to tie in with a wider foundry campaign.
Image
PB: 2661 | He's blue... If he were green he would die | No mod would be stupid enough to do that
User avatar
Lieutenant MrBenn
 
Posts: 6880
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 9:32 am
Location: Off Duty

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby Gilligan on Tue Oct 12, 2010 6:21 pm

Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice!
Image
User avatar
Captain Gilligan
 
Posts: 12478
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 4:59 pm
Location: Providence, RI

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby Army of GOD on Tue Oct 12, 2010 6:43 pm

Nuclear spoils could make someone an unhappy camper...
mrswdk is a ho
User avatar
Lieutenant Army of GOD
 
Posts: 7187
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:30 pm

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby rdsrds2120 on Tue Oct 12, 2010 6:55 pm

I was waiting for this to come out!
lol
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class rdsrds2120
 
Posts: 6274
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 3:42 am

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby kuma32478 on Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:34 pm

So will this be added to any existing maps? Is it possible to have this as a setting for all maps where it designates one of your territories from the start as your capitol?
Private 1st Class kuma32478
 
Posts: 1727
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:55 am
Location: North Carolina

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby Industrial Helix on Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:36 pm

kuma32478 wrote:So will this be added to any existing maps? Is it possible to have this as a setting for all maps where it designates one of your territories from the start as your capitol?


We won't be retrofitting any quenched maps, but I'm sure some new maps will be the product of the update which use a capital feature.
Sketchblog [Update 07/25/11]: http://indyhelixsketch.blogspot.com/
Living in Japan [Update 07/17/11]: http://mirrorcountryih.blogspot.com/
Russian Revolution map for ConquerClub [07/20/11]: viewtopic.php?f=241&t=116575
User avatar
Cook Industrial Helix
 
Posts: 3462
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby banana_hammocks on Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:01 am

Army of GOD wrote:Nuclear spoils could make someone an unhappy camper...


Is there any way of not including a territory in the list of cards? Otherwise this could well be a big problem.

Looking forward to the new maps that will use this.
Image

Organizer of Quick and Simple Tournament 1,2,3, Friends Close, Enemies Closer Tournament 1+2, CCC Tournament,All Holds Bar
User avatar
Captain banana_hammocks
 
Posts: 751
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 4:26 am
Location: England

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby Leehar on Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:50 am

Awesome feature, looking forward to it's implementation
show
User avatar
Colonel Leehar
 
Posts: 5484
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 12:12 pm
Location: Johannesburg

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby Teflon Kris on Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:17 am

Nice.

Can the requirement be X number of regions?

Does the requirement have to be held at the start of each turn?

Please can we have team starting positions next? Or maybe map-specific game log vocabulary?

:
Last edited by Teflon Kris on Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Teflon Kris
 
Posts: 4236
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 4:39 pm
Location: Lancashire, United Kingdom

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby Forza AZ on Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:12 am

How does this work in team games?
If a player is eliminated because they don't meet the requirement any more, will their remaining territories get neutral or will they go to 1 of the other players in the team?
Highest score: 3130 (9 July 2009)
User avatar
Colonel Forza AZ
 
Posts: 4546
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 9:27 am
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby MrBenn on Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:21 am

Forza AZ wrote:How does this work in team games?
If a player is eliminated because they don't meet the requirement any more, will their remaining territories get neutral or will they go to 1 of the other players in the team?

I believe that the territories will all turn neutral, even if it is a teammate who "overthrows" them.
Image
PB: 2661 | He's blue... If he were green he would die | No mod would be stupid enough to do that
User avatar
Lieutenant MrBenn
 
Posts: 6880
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 9:32 am
Location: Off Duty

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby Forza AZ on Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:01 am

DJ Teflon wrote:Can the requirement be X number of regions?

That is easy to code for:
-You make a continent including all regions with the number X between the required tag.
-And you put that continent between the requirement tag.
Highest score: 3130 (9 July 2009)
User avatar
Colonel Forza AZ
 
Posts: 4546
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 9:27 am
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby gimil on Wed Oct 13, 2010 12:32 pm

Here is a question for those who are more intelligent than I am on the matter.

What would happen if you held 4 separate requirement at the beginning of the game (not one requirement with 4 territories) and you loose 1 of the 4 you are holding, do you still get eliminated, or because you still hold another 3 requirements you would be ok?

I am wondering as an example if feudal epic has all the castles as separate requirements and you were playing a 1V1, if you loose one of your castle would that eliminate you from the game?
What do you know about map making, bitch?

natty_dread wrote:I was wrong


Top Score:2403
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class gimil
 
Posts: 8599
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: United Kingdom (Scotland)

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby Evil DIMwit on Wed Oct 13, 2010 12:46 pm

DJ Teflon wrote:Does the requirement have to be held at the start of each turn?

The requirement has to be held pretty much at all times during the game.

Please can we have team starting positions next? Or maybe map-specific game log vocabulary?

Is map-specific log vocabulary in the XML Suggestions thread? I'm pretty sure team starting positions is.

gimil wrote:What would happen if you held 4 separate requirement at the beginning of the game (not one requirement with 4 territories) and you loose 1 of the 4 you are holding, do you still get eliminated, or because you still hold another 3 requirements you would be ok?

I am wondering as an example if feudal epic has all the castles as separate requirements and you were playing a 1V1, if you loose one of your castle would that eliminate you from the game?


That wouldn't quite work because each requirement is a requirement for all players. That is, if you make each castle into a requirement, every player would lose on the first turn because they don't hold every castle (they only hold the castles they start with). You could make a requirement that a player has to hold at least 4 castles to survive but that would not work because the same requirement would apply to 3+ player games, where each player starts with only 1 or 2 castles -- so each player would be eliminated immediately, again.
ImageImage
User avatar
Captain Evil DIMwit
 
Posts: 1616
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 1:47 pm
Location: Philadelphia, NJ

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby JoshyBoy on Wed Oct 13, 2010 12:48 pm

I don't really understand... :?
drunkmonkey wrote:I honestly wonder why anyone becomes a mod on this site. You're the whiniest bunch of players imaginable.

Ron Burgundy wrote:Why don't you go back to your home on Whore Island?
User avatar
Lieutenant JoshyBoy
 
Posts: 3750
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 6:04 pm
Location: In the gym. Yeah, still there.

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby army of nobunaga on Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:01 pm

I hope this is not overused because it is new. Im not sure how much fun it will be. But thanx for the work with the new tools to use!
Maps Maps Maps!


Take part in this survey and possibly win an upgrade -->
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/embeddedform?formkey=dGg4a0VxUzJLb1NGNUFwZHBuOHRFZnc6MQ
User avatar
Cadet army of nobunaga
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: www.facebook.com/armyofnobu and Houston.

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby Teflon Kris on Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:21 pm

Forza AZ wrote:
DJ Teflon wrote:Can the requirement be X number of regions?

That is easy to code for:
-You make a continent including all regions with the number X between the required tag.
-And you put that continent between the requirement tag.


Surely then, all players would lose at the start of the game for not holding the continent?
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Teflon Kris
 
Posts: 4236
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 4:39 pm
Location: Lancashire, United Kingdom

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby thenobodies80 on Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:29 pm

DJ Teflon wrote:
Forza AZ wrote:
DJ Teflon wrote:Can the requirement be X number of regions?

That is easy to code for:
-You make a continent including all regions with the number X between the required tag.
-And you put that continent between the requirement tag.


Surely then, all players would lose at the start of the game for not holding the continent?


Why? Do you mean if everyone start without that X number of regions?
No sense in doing a map in which you can lose when you start :? , but in any case as MrBenn explained in the first post:
MrBenn wrote:The requirements are evaluated whenever you conquer/bombard a territory, nuke a country, or are hit by a killer neutral. So if you do not meet a requirement from the initial game drop you might have a chance to conquer it and become safe (although for the most part, the 'requirements' will be bundled up as starting positions).


A possible use of your example could be:
On your map a player must hold at least 5 regions to survive.First of all, you should ensure (developing your map) that each player will start at least with 5 regions ( the "no starting position" it's a fool option in this example), then list all the regions on the map as requirements (or create a continent like Forza AZ said) and then set to 5 the number of required regions.

Code: Select all
<requirement>
   <name>five regions</name>
   <components>
      <territory>region1</territory>
      <territory>region2</territory>
      <territory>region3</territory>
      <territory>region4</territory>
      <territory>region5</territory>
      <territory>region6</territory>
      <territory>region7</territory>
      ....
   </components>
   <required>5</required>
</requirement>


or using a continent:

Code: Select all
<requirement>
   <name>Minimum number of regions</name>
   <components>
      <continent>five regions</continent>
   </components>
</requirement>
...
<continent>
   <name>five regions</name>
   <bonus>0</bonus>
   <components>
      <territory>region1</territory>
      <territory>region2</territory>
      <territory>region3</territory>
      <territory>region4</territory>
      <territory>region5</territory>
      <territory>region6</territory>
      <territory>region7</territory>
      ....
   </components>
   <required>5</required>
</continent>
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class thenobodies80
 
Posts: 5400
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:30 am
Location: Milan

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby Teflon Kris on Thu Oct 14, 2010 7:55 pm

I think I understand now.

Just got confused with the 'continent' talk and Oceana example I think.

Basically, the condition could be set to be any of a particular set of regions, or any set / combination of particular regions.

If starting positions weren't arranged to meet the conditions then the gameplay wouldn't work for the map.

I think

:D

So, this feature is most suited to maps wth castles / bases.

For example, it would work with Lunar War if a condition were that each player must hold at least one shuttle.

However, it could be used on a standard style map if, for example, the condition were to 'hold a minimum of 3 regions'.

Does that sound about right?
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Teflon Kris
 
Posts: 4236
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 4:39 pm
Location: Lancashire, United Kingdom

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby Evil DIMwit on Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:00 pm

Yeah, those are some things this could be used for. Surely there are others...
ImageImage
User avatar
Captain Evil DIMwit
 
Posts: 1616
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 1:47 pm
Location: Philadelphia, NJ

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby natty dread on Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:14 pm

DJ Teflon wrote:For example, it would work with Lunar War if a condition were that each player must hold at least one shuttle.


I'm not going to do it though ;)

I can name one map which this will benefit lots though: Research & conquer. If I remember correctly, the gameplay was yearning for a way to make the research separate from the conquer, and this is the way to do it... now if we can just get tackticx to pick it up again!
Image
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class natty dread
 
Posts: 12877
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 8:58 pm
Location: just plain fucked

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby army of nobunaga on Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:43 pm

I think we should have a theory thread on this. NAtty is right. This would not be so good on his map, and his lunar map is perfect in my opinion (natty im over the bombard thing, you were right)

But for this to work, each player will need a yin yang type of arsenal... there will obviously be the defensive territorys... but if there is not a high reward bonus, nor is there an offensive arm to a players terts, then this type of map will be one big 100_ round defensive battle.

maybe im wrong, I admit I am excited about this though.
Maps Maps Maps!


Take part in this survey and possibly win an upgrade -->
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/embeddedform?formkey=dGg4a0VxUzJLb1NGNUFwZHBuOHRFZnc6MQ
User avatar
Cadet army of nobunaga
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: www.facebook.com/armyofnobu and Houston.

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby sm8900 on Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:12 pm

neat!!!
User avatar
Private sm8900
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 2:04 pm

Re: A Capital XML Update

Postby OliverFA on Tue Oct 19, 2010 5:50 am

This update was what our map was needing. It will make the map much better, and solves many issues we had with it. Thanks! :)
Welcoming the long awaited Trench Warfare Setting (Previously Adjacent Attacks).

My Maps:
Research and Conquer - Civilization meets Conquer Club

Best score: 2,346 - Best position: #618 - Best percentile: 4.87%
User avatar
Private OliverFA
 
Posts: 2295
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 4:30 am
Location: Somewhere in Spain


Return to Foundry Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users