[GP/UI] Semi-Auto Assault

This forum is a storehouse for all Finalized Suggestions to be periodically reviewed during Feature Updates.

Moderators: Suggestions Team, Global Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Postby adam3b58 on Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:56 pm

i like it, it's an auto-attack with more control.

i vote yes
Cadet adam3b58
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 11:05 pm
Location: Montana

Postby SS sem0me on Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:01 pm

Why not
User avatar
Sergeant SS sem0me
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 5:51 pm
Location: Chicago

Postby pachon on Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:26 pm

good idea
User avatar
Cadet pachon
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:29 pm

Postby lVlaniac on Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:36 pm

yes preety good
I Could Eat A Bowl Of Alphabet Soup And Crap Out A Better Conversation Than Yours.


Image
User avatar
Private 1st Class lVlaniac
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 3:54 pm
Location: santiago de chile

Postby AK_iceman on Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:39 pm

I dont think we need more auto-attack options as it would just clutter the game screen, but I would like this better as a replacement for the current auto-attack.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class AK_iceman
 
Posts: 5699
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 10:39 pm
Medals: 12
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Tournament Contribution (3)
General Contribution (2)

Postby wolvenlightning on Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:44 pm

agreed with iceman



Hell, just put 'with __ armies' next to the entire current attack bar. So what if you normal attack with 5 armies? You still only get 3 dice.
Cadet wolvenlightning
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 9:16 am

Postby Contrickster on Tue Feb 20, 2007 8:51 am

I agree too. We don't need another button but more control over our existing autoattacks. Maybe it's not so radical an idea as I thought.
Corporal 1st Class Contrickster
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:24 pm

Postby cdman on Tue Feb 20, 2007 1:29 pm

its a very good idea!
User avatar
Lieutenant cdman
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 11:44 am

Postby RobinJ on Tue Feb 20, 2007 4:04 pm

I know exactly what you mean. I've often not wanted to go down to the last man but because I can't be bothered waiting, I hit aut-attack anyway - good idea. :wink:
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class RobinJ
 
Posts: 1901
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Northern Ireland
Medals: 13
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (1)

Postby boberz on Tue Feb 20, 2007 5:06 pm

how about simplify it even more and say auto attack leaving .... number of armies so then you decide exactly how many armies you have left afterwards maximising control, or is that what you are saying. I like it whatever.
Cadet boberz
 
Posts: 795
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 12:21 pm
Medals: 1
Standard Achievement (1)

Postby Contrickster on Tue Feb 20, 2007 8:28 pm

boberz wrote:how about simplify it even more and say auto attack leaving .... number of armies so then you decide exactly how many armies you have left afterwards maximising control, or is that what you are saying. I like it whatever.


Now you mention it, there is a difficulty specifying down to the last army because 3 vs 2 you can lose 2 armies a shake.

When you specify to attack with ______ armies the rolls should cease the number above the number you inputted, unless the opposition is down to 1.

Tricky to code? Don't know.
Corporal 1st Class Contrickster
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:24 pm

Postby AndyDufresne on Tue Feb 20, 2007 8:40 pm

The idea of this sort of Auto-Attack has been around for a while. Lack did mention something about it a while ago, but it was rather indifferent. Most likely, this feature won't be seen any time soon, he's going to develop a few more pressing updates and enhancements first if he decides to implement this.


--Andy
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class AndyDufresne
Retired Administrator
 
Posts: 25592
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:22 pm
Location: A Banana Palm in Zihuatanejo
Medals: 20
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (3) General Achievement (4) General Contribution (2)

Postby Contrickster on Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:57 pm

AndyDufresne wrote:The idea of this sort of Auto-Attack has been around for a while. Lack did mention something about it a while ago, but it was rather indifferent. Most likely, this feature won't be seen any time soon, he's going to develop a few more pressing updates and enhancements first if he decides to implement this.


--Andy


That's cool. Thanks for the update.
Corporal 1st Class Contrickster
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:24 pm

Postby Aimless on Wed Mar 21, 2007 6:44 pm

Rogi wrote:Then go with the normal attack.
Auto Attack is for the territory's you NEED to take out FAST. Or for big army clashes. I'm greateful it stops on 3.


For games with large numbers of armies, attacking normally is impractical. However, there are cases in large army clashes where you only want to weaken your opponents stack, not kill it. Or, when you're attacking 50 v 30 and don't want to run the risk that a bad luck streak will wipe out your stack and leave you undefended against your opponent.

That said, a drop down box is impractical - games with extremely large numbers of armies make for unwieldy drop down boxes. Why not have a simple text box, allowing you to input the (maximum) number of attacks you want auto-attack to perform. It should only take about two lines to code - add one more element to the attack form, and one extra check in the auto-attack loop.
User avatar
Private Aimless
 
Posts: 1846
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 3:46 pm

Postby Nikolai on Wed Mar 21, 2007 7:37 pm

I like this idea. I'm in a no cards game on World 2.1 approaching triple digit rounds, and we've got some big army stacks that make attacking normally impractical. But I've wished several times that it was possible to weaken particular stacks. This would do it.
Sergeant 1st Class Nikolai
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 9:11 pm
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (1)

[GP/UI] Semi-Auto Assault

Postby joeyjordison on Wed Mar 28, 2007 1:43 pm

Huegelkoenig wrote:Suggestion: Advanced Auto-Assault

At the moment, the Auto-Assault-Button is implemented like this:
  • Attack as long as you have more than 3 troops and the enemy has more than 0 troops.
    or
  • Attack until you have less than 4 troops OR the enemy has less than 1 troops.



My suggestions would be, to add two textboxes next to the Auto-Assault-Button, where players can enter the amount of troops, for the Auto-assault to stop, manually.

Image


How this will benefit the site:

You often find yourself in a situation like this:
Image
Large stacks vs large stacks.

If cyan wants to attack Maghreb, cyan has two options:
1. Choose Spain or Greece and click Auto-Assault.
2. Choose Spain or Greece and click Assault manually.

The downside of these two options are simple:
Option 1.: Cyan has to advance the remaining troops to Maghreb and his second stack of 400+ troops is left behind the border.
I know, cyan can reinforce them, but maybe cyan already needs to reinforce troops somewhere else.
Option 2.: It takes time and a lot of clicking. And i know, there are games with stacks way larger than the 400...

If you would be able to choose "Auto-Assault Spain->Maghreb until Maghreb has less than (e.g.) 5 troops", you could go on by attacking the remainaing 3 or 4 troops from Greece and have a large stack at your new border.


Another possibility would be, if cyan (in the situation above) doesnt want to conquer Maghreb, but just weaken red there.
He could choose e.g.
"Attack Spain->Maghreb until Maghreb has less than 200 troops or Spain has less than 300 troops"
and
"Attack Greece->Maghreb until Maghreb has less than 10 troops or Greece has less than 300 troops".
Cyan would end up in a situation (except he gets very very bad or very very good dice) where he has ~300 at Spain and Greece and red has ~50 troops at Maghreb.

-----------------

To prevent users from making wrong inputs, you could also consider using dropdown-menus instead of textboxes

Image

  • It should be possible to disable this feature (to reduce interface clutter) from the Control Panel.
show
Last edited by JamesKer1 on Wed Jul 30, 2014 11:09 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Reason: [GP/UI] Tag
User avatar
Major joeyjordison
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:10 am
Medals: 2
Tournament Contribution (2)

Postby hecter on Wed Mar 28, 2007 2:27 pm

This has been suggested before, but not quite like this. I still think it's a good idea though.
In heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine... You got your things, and I've got mine.
Image
User avatar
Private 1st Class hecter
 
Posts: 14725
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Tying somebody up on the third floor
Medals: 25
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (3) Assassin Achievement (2)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (1) General Achievement (1) General Contribution (1)

Postby Forza AZ on Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:37 am

Maybe you can make a 3rd option, which makes 10 attacks at 1 time (in stead of having to fill in a number yourself). This might be somewhat easier to implement. So you just get 3 buttons: attack, attack 10 times, auto attack.

So with 70 vs 50, you can press the 10 attack button, and then see how it turned out before you go on (or not).
User avatar
Colonel Forza AZ
 
Posts: 4546
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 9:27 am
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
Medals: 80
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (4) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (2)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (2)
Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (13) General Achievement (1) Clan Achievement (7)
Tournament Contribution (30) General Contribution (2)

Postby Soloman on Mon Apr 02, 2007 12:50 pm

I concur a dropdown menu say how amny attack or how many troops you would like to risk on the auto attack would definitely be ideal I would vote for it call it controlable auto attack I better check the to do list 1st lol
You Have 2 choices,You can either Agree With Me or Be Wrong!!! http://www.myspace.com/solomanthewise http://360.yahoo.com/bolar35
User avatar
Sergeant Soloman
 
Posts: 625
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: The dirty south
Medals: 6
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (1)

Postby joeyjordison on Mon Apr 02, 2007 1:19 pm

http://www.conquerclub.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=15753

^^^^ i suggested this 4 days ago only it got virtually no interest. glad someone else has brought it up. i'm all for it but it could be hard to implement. maybe forza's idea in my thread would be a compromise?
User avatar
Major joeyjordison
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:10 am
Medals: 2
Tournament Contribution (2)

Postby Nikolai on Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:01 pm

Wow, joey, why ever would you have suggested this? :lol: :lol: :lol:
Sergeant 1st Class Nikolai
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 9:11 pm
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (1)

Auto-Attack until 1/2 of attacking armies are destroyed

Postby CreepyUncleAndy on Tue Apr 03, 2007 9:09 am

When you Auto-Attack, the computer keeps rolling dice until half of your attacking armies are destroyed.

You then have the option to Auto-Attack again, which will again cause the computer to keep rolling until half of your remaining armies are destroyed (or until your attacking force is reduced to less than 5 armies).

I couldn't help it; I didn't see this "solution" to the auto-attack "problem" anywhere else on this forum. Mind you, I never use auto-attack, but that's because I never let stacks of armies get too huge in my games -- I play decisively, whether it's for decisive victory or decisive defeat.
User avatar
Private CreepyUncleAndy
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 9:45 pm

Re: Auto-Attack until 1/2 of attacking armies are destroyed

Postby chessplaya on Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:23 am

CreepyUncleAndy wrote:When you Auto-Attack, the computer keeps rolling dice until half of your attacking armies are destroyed.

You then have the option to Auto-Attack again, which will again cause the computer to keep rolling until half of your remaining armies are destroyed (or until your attacking force is reduced to less than 5 armies).

I couldn't help it; I didn't see this "solution" to the auto-attack "problem" anywhere else on this forum. Mind you, I never use auto-attack, but that's because I never let stacks of armies get too huge in my games -- I play decisively, whether it's for decisive victory or decisive defeat.


NOW this is a good idea:)
Veni...
Vidi...
Vici...
Captain chessplaya
 
Posts: 1875
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:46 pm
Medals: 11
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Tournament Achievement (1)

Postby poo-maker on Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:27 am

yeah, auto attack should be made more specific, this is an easy way to do it.
Brigadier poo-maker
 
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:58 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Medals: 19
Conqueror Achievement (1) Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (3) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (1)
General Achievement (2)

Postby RobinJ on Tue Apr 03, 2007 12:59 pm

Is there not a better idea already in circulation? i.e. the one where you get to choose the number of your armies killed
nmhunate wrote:Speak English... It is the language that God wrote the bible in.


Highest Score: 2437
Highest Place: 84
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class RobinJ
 
Posts: 1901
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Northern Ireland
Medals: 13
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (1)

PreviousNext

Return to Submitted Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

Login