Conquer Club

Starting Positions XML Update

Topics that are not maps. Discuss general map making concepts, techniques, contests, etc, here.

Moderator: Cartographers

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Starting Positions XML Update

Postby MrBenn on Thu Mar 31, 2011 7:41 pm

For those that missed it....

Subject: Random Map Medal
lackattack wrote:Map XML Improvement
Map designers can now specify the maximum number of starting positions to be issued to each player. Details to appear in the Map Foundry...


XML Tutorial
XML Tutorial wrote:Start Positions

Lets say we found that whenever someone starts with Asia they win. This isn't true and nearly impossible but just go with it. We want to make that impossible to do. One way we could do this is using the new start position tool. Start positions are contained in a tag called <positions> which contains multiple <position> tags. These position tags can contain one or more <territory> tags, like so:

Code: Select all
<positions>
   <position>
      <territory>Ural</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>Afghanistan</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>Middle East</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>Siberia</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>Irkutsk</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>Yakutsk</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>Kamchatka</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>Mongolia</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>Japan</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>China</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>India</territory>
   </position>
   <position>
      <territory>Siam</territory>
   </position>
</positions>

So in the above example we have 12 start positions. When the game begins these start positions will be split up randomly amongst the players. If there is a remainder, the territories of those start positions are dealt out in the same way as other territories (unless of course they are coded as neutral).

We can restrict the game engine to allocate a maximum of 2 postions per player as follows - any additional/leftover positions will be ignored and divided in the usual way:
Code: Select all
<positions max="2">
...
</positions>


Lets say now that we discovered that Middle East isn't a viable start position unless they have 5 armies and that Kamchatka is overpowered and needs to have 2. We can change the number of armies that start on a given territory as follows:

Code: Select all
   ...
   <position>
      <territory start="5">Middle East</territory>
   </position>
   ...
   <position>
      <territory start="2">Kamchatka</territory>
   </position>
   ...

If the nunber of starting positions is not evenly divisible by the number of players, the leftover territories will be dealt out in the usual way with 3 starting armies, rather than the number specified in the start position code.
Image
PB: 2661 | He's blue... If he were green he would die | No mod would be stupid enough to do that
User avatar
Lieutenant MrBenn
 
Posts: 6880
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 9:32 am
Location: Off Duty

Re: Starting Positions XML Update

Postby Victor Sullivan on Fri Apr 01, 2011 2:57 pm

Sweet.

More of a functional thing than a new toy, but Sully like.
User avatar
Corporal Victor Sullivan
 
Posts: 6010
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:17 pm
Location: Columbus, OH

Re: Starting Positions XML Update

Postby natty dread on Fri Apr 01, 2011 4:09 pm

Good, good. When do we get conditional autodeploys? ;)
Image
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class natty dread
 
Posts: 12877
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 8:58 pm
Location: just plain fucked

Re: Starting Positions XML Update

Postby Victor Sullivan on Fri Apr 01, 2011 7:13 pm

XML Tutorial wrote:If the nunber of starting positions is not evenly divisible by the number of players...

*chuckles*
User avatar
Corporal Victor Sullivan
 
Posts: 6010
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:17 pm
Location: Columbus, OH

Re: Starting Positions XML Update

Postby cairnswk on Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:43 pm

Mr Benn, hi

I have a map which requires two sided play.
I want to know if this is possible below?

Code: Select all
  <positions>
       <position player="1">
          <territory>x1</territory>
       </position>
       <position player="2">
          <territory>y1</territory>
       </position>
       <position player="3">
          <territory>x2</territory>
       </position>
       <position player="4">
          <territory>y2</territory>
       </position>
       <position player="5">
          <territory>x3</territory>
       </position>
       <position player="6">
          <territory>y3</territory>
       </position>
       <position player="7">
          <territory>x4</territory>
       </position>
       <position player="8">
          <territory>y4</territory>
       </position>
    </positions>
Image
* Pearl Harbour * Waterloo * Forbidden City * Jamaica * Pot Mosbi
User avatar
Private cairnswk
 
Posts: 11510
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:32 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Starting Positions XML Update

Postby natty dread on Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:05 pm

Sadly, no.
Image
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class natty dread
 
Posts: 12877
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 8:58 pm
Location: just plain fucked

Re: Starting Positions XML Update

Postby MrBenn on Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:07 pm

"Team" or "grouped" starting positions is one of the things on my xml wish list...
Image
PB: 2661 | He's blue... If he were green he would die | No mod would be stupid enough to do that
User avatar
Lieutenant MrBenn
 
Posts: 6880
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 9:32 am
Location: Off Duty

Re: Starting Positions XML Update

Postby cairnswk on Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:28 pm

natty_dread wrote:Sadly, no.

Thanks Natty.

MrBenn wrote:"Team" or "grouped" starting positions is one of the things on my xml wish list...

Thanks BrBenn.
Yes, i see that's it would possible be a difficult one to implement, you need the flexibility in the code to cover all situations.
Image
* Pearl Harbour * Waterloo * Forbidden City * Jamaica * Pot Mosbi
User avatar
Private cairnswk
 
Posts: 11510
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:32 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Starting Positions XML Update

Postby theBastard on Wed Jul 06, 2011 4:51 pm

natty_dread wrote:Good, good. When do we get conditional autodeploys? ;)


this...
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class theBastard
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:05 am


Return to Foundry Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users