Question on advancing troops during an attack

Ask questions, answer questions

Moderators: Global Moderators, Discussions Team

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Question on advancing troops during an attack

Postby BuckyOhare on Mon Jan 28, 2013 4:54 am

Played the actual board game this weekend with some friends and we had an argument over advancing troops after an attack. I've always played that once you take a territory you can choose as many armies as you want to move to that territory as long as there is at least one there. My friend on the other hand says that if you are rolling with 3 die you are "moving" three armies into the defenders territory and if the defender loses you must keep those 3 there. The rules don't really touch on this but just say a minimum of one army must occupy the defeated territory.

For example:

I have 13 troops in Brazil and I am attacking Peru which has 2 troops in it. All three of my die beat the two defense die however I now want to attack North Africa. Am I forced to move three troops into Peru and have only 10 to attack North Africa with? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Sergeant 1st Class BuckyOhare
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 2:16 pm
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (1)

Re: Question on advancing troops during an attack

Postby SirSebstar on Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:23 am

On CC you may chose how many troops you want to follow up with. Your friends "rules" are rule variations from that other game that shall remain nameless....
User avatar
Major SirSebstar
 
Posts: 7329
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:51 am
Location: SirSebstar is BACK. Highscore: Colonel Score: 2919 21/03/2011
Medals: 95
Standard Achievement (4) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (3)
Assassin Achievement (3) Manual Troops Achievement (3) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (3) Fog of War Achievement (4)
Speed Achievement (3) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (4)
Tournament Achievement (23) General Achievement (6) Clan Achievement (9) Training Achievement (1) Tournament Contribution (4)
General Contribution (11)

Re: Question on advancing troops during an attack

Postby Koganosi on Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:16 am

THe rule your friend is stating is the official rule of the board game RISK, trade mark Hasbro. CC has different rules and different maps and officially has nothing to do with Hasbro. As you can always read at the bottem of the site.

Copyright © 2006 by Bismia Pte Ltd.
RISK is a registered trademark of Hasbro Inc. Conquer Club is not associated with RISK or Hasbro in any way.


Urs

Koganosi
Image
User avatar
Colonel Koganosi
SoC Training Adviser
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 1:06 pm
Location: Netherlands
Medals: 62
Monthly Leader Bronze (1) Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (3)
Terminator Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (3) Manual Troops Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (3) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2)
Fog of War Achievement (3) Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (3) Beta Map Achievement (1) Battle Royale Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (1) Tournament Achievement (3)
General Achievement (11) Clan Achievement (8) Training Achievement (1)

Re: Question on advancing troops during an attack

Postby Jippd on Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:47 am

BuckyOhare wrote:Played the actual board game this weekend with some friends and we had an argument over advancing troops after an attack. I've always played that once you take a territory you can choose as many armies as you want to move to that territory as long as there is at least one there. My friend on the other hand says that if you are rolling with 3 die you are "moving" three armies into the defenders territory and if the defender loses you must keep those 3 there. The rules don't really touch on this but just say a minimum of one army must occupy the defeated territory.

For example:

I have 13 troops in Brazil and I am attacking Peru which has 2 troops in it. All three of my die beat the two defense die however I now want to attack North Africa. Am I forced to move three troops into Peru and have only 10 to attack North Africa with? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.


There is no Minimum troops that you have to advance aside from the 1 that holds the region when you win an attack.

In your example if you won the first roll you would be shown with a 12 stack on brazil and a 1 on peru. You would then get to decide to advance anywhere between 0 and 11 troops from brazil.
User avatar
Colonel Jippd
 
Posts: 1373
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 9:05 pm
Medals: 102
Standard Achievement (4) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (3) Freestyle Achievement (2) Polymorphic Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (3)
Fog of War Achievement (4) Trench Warfare Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (4) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (3)
Cross-Map Achievement (4) Beta Map Achievement (1) Bot Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (4) Tournament Achievement (15)
General Achievement (6) Clan Achievement (17) Challenge Achievement (1) Tournament Contribution (11)

Re: Question on advancing troops during an attack

Postby Koganosi on Thu Jan 31, 2013 3:52 am

Jippd wrote:
BuckyOhare wrote:Played the actual board game this weekend with some friends and we had an argument over advancing troops after an attack. I've always played that once you take a territory you can choose as many armies as you want to move to that territory as long as there is at least one there. My friend on the other hand says that if you are rolling with 3 die you are "moving" three armies into the defenders territory and if the defender loses you must keep those 3 there. The rules don't really touch on this but just say a minimum of one army must occupy the defeated territory.

For example:

I have 13 troops in Brazil and I am attacking Peru which has 2 troops in it. All three of my die beat the two defense die however I now want to attack North Africa. Am I forced to move three troops into Peru and have only 10 to attack North Africa with? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.


There is no Minimum troops that you have to advance aside from the 1 that holds the region when you win an attack.

In your example if you won the first roll you would be shown with a 12 stack on brazil and a 1 on peru. You would then get to decide to advance anywhere between 0 and 11 troops from brazil.


Jippd, your kinda wrong about that. In the official RISK board rules made by hasbro you have to exactly follow the rule, wich the friend of the thread creater pointed out, as long as you wanne play to it that is. But it is in the rules. A friend of mine also pointed that out even when I was playing cc for over 2 years, just caus the fact we never used the rule with family before I wasnt aware of it untill he pointed it out and I had to start playing it.

Urs

Koganosi
Image
User avatar
Colonel Koganosi
SoC Training Adviser
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 1:06 pm
Location: Netherlands
Medals: 62
Monthly Leader Bronze (1) Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (3)
Terminator Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (3) Manual Troops Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (3) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2)
Fog of War Achievement (3) Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (3) Beta Map Achievement (1) Battle Royale Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (1) Tournament Achievement (3)
General Achievement (11) Clan Achievement (8) Training Achievement (1)

Re: Question on advancing troops during an attack

Postby Jippd on Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:12 pm

I was talking about the rules for this site not for the board game risk in my post. Sorry for the confusion I was confused what the OP was asking.
User avatar
Colonel Jippd
 
Posts: 1373
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 9:05 pm
Medals: 102
Standard Achievement (4) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (3) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (3) Freestyle Achievement (2) Polymorphic Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (3)
Fog of War Achievement (4) Trench Warfare Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (4) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (3)
Cross-Map Achievement (4) Beta Map Achievement (1) Bot Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (4) Tournament Achievement (15)
General Achievement (6) Clan Achievement (17) Challenge Achievement (1) Tournament Contribution (11)


Return to Questions & Answers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
Login