New Notifier: 'Tell Me When'

Archival storage to keep things organized and uncluttered. Can't find what you need? Search for old topics here.

Moderators: Tech Team, Global Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Postby tahitiwahini on Thu May 17, 2007 12:51 pm

W F Crappeshotte wrote:Okay... All sorted now, and running well.

Thank you for your guidance. Some of us, despite being electrical engineers, are still computer dunces and so idiot notes are always appreciated.

Now back to conquering the world.


You're welcome.

Some of my best friends are electrical engineers, but that doesn't mean they don't sometimes need help crossing the street or knowing when it's time to come in out of the rain. :lol:
Cheers,
Tahitiwahini
User avatar
Private 1st Class tahitiwahini
 
Posts: 964
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 5:26 pm

Postby Midgetlover on Sat May 19, 2007 7:05 am

Hi.. i was wondering if it was possible to get my hands on the source code?
i'd like to do a few changes to the program to customize it for my own needs :)

if not then i'm just gonna write my own :)
or use reflector to steal your code.. mwuhaha :twisted:
regards
Midgetlover
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Midgetlover
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 7:31 am
Location: Copenhagen - GMT +1
Medals: 7
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1)

Postby Jackblck on Wed May 23, 2007 9:09 am

Nice program. With the sound alert option its easier to work through the day.

Thanks!

~jb
Sergeant 1st Class Jackblck
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:33 pm
Medals: 2
Standard Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1)

Postby NormalGuy on Mon Jun 11, 2007 5:24 pm

Recently, I have been having some problems with this on one of my computers. It will say that I have a turn when I have none. I have no idea how to even begin to diagnose this issue.

But, as you can imagine it is very frustrating :)

Thanks in advance,

NG
Sergeant 1st Class NormalGuy
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 6:37 pm
Medals: 13
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1)
Fog of War Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Tournament Achievement (2)

error issue

Postby Aleks on Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:16 pm

hey fan, great program "Tell Me When?". Works great. Well actually, it did work great. However, today its acting up. when I open Tell Me When? program, I keep getting;

Error loading settings: Configuration system failed to initialize

then Tell Me When? program opens, end instead of giving me a proper result, I get;

ERROR: Invalid URI: The URI is empty.

so I go to monitor part of it and check "Auto configure for Conquer Club" and follow your steps, exactly as you suggested and ad I've done before. but it still reads as above. In fact every thing is deleted after I close and reopen the program, and I get the same messages from beginning.

Please help :(
User avatar
Corporal Aleks
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:49 pm
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)

Postby Fantius on Thu Jun 28, 2007 9:20 pm

Hey everybody, sorry for being so MIA. Apparently CC is no longer notifying me of updates to this thread. And to those of you who know what the heck you're talking about, thanks for helping those who don't (or can't read).

As for the configuration errors that people keep getting, I'm not really sure what to tell you. Try copying the EXE to a new directory and running it from there instead. Or deleted the .NET settings (if you can find them -- hint: read this whole thread).

I'm curious what new features people would like.
User avatar
Sergeant Fantius
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:27 pm
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (1) General Contribution (3)

Postby Fantius on Thu Jun 28, 2007 9:25 pm

I just updated my first post so that there is a link to the actual program before and after everything else in the message. Perhaps this will cause less confusion for the skimmers.
User avatar
Sergeant Fantius
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:27 pm
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (1) General Contribution (3)

Postby maritovw on Thu Jul 12, 2007 11:59 pm

i think a nice addition would be an option for it to start minimized to the tray.. i think it's kind of annoying for it to be opening each time start my computer...

btw.. great work!!
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class maritovw
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:05 pm
Location: Guatemala
Medals: 2
Standard Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1)

Postby Fantius on Fri Jul 13, 2007 1:10 am

"If you give a man a fish, he will eat for a day but if you teach a man to fish, he will eat for a lifetime."

Believe it or not, I did not make that up. But it is relevant here. Instead of providing said option, I'm going to teach you to fish by telling you that Windows shortcuts already provides the functionality you want -- not just for my application, FOR ALL APPLICATIONS!

Yes, that's right. Simply right-click on the shortcut (please don't ask me what to do if you don't have a shortcut), choose properties, and select the startup window state (normal/minimized/maximized).

Some other applications have chosen to simply give you the fish. To them I say, "Hello? We're trying to have a damn civilization here. Stop giving and start teaching." I did make that one up.

BTW, you can probably find countless examples of me giving as opposed to teaching, but that's beside the point. These are not the droids you're looking for.
User avatar
Sergeant Fantius
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:27 pm
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (1) General Contribution (3)

Postby maritovw on Fri Jul 13, 2007 6:08 pm

thanks. they say you learn something new every day...


by the way, i daresay you like playing Civilization, don't you?
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class maritovw
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:05 pm
Location: Guatemala
Medals: 2
Standard Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1)

Postby Fantius on Fri Jul 13, 2007 6:40 pm

Never played it.
User avatar
Sergeant Fantius
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:27 pm
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (1) General Contribution (3)

Names with Spaces

Postby Aerial Attack on Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:02 am

It's working - thanks
User avatar
Sergeant Aerial Attack
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: Generation One: The Clan
Medals: 4
Tournament Achievement (2) Tournament Contribution (1) General Contribution (1)

Postby Semigall on Mon Oct 01, 2007 9:59 am

Where do i get that user id number ? :?
Image
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Semigall
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 12:31 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1)

Postby Aerial Attack on Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:37 am

You just need to put in your user name

So, under the Monitor section (URL to monitor), put this in:

http://www.conquerclub.com/rss.php?username=Semigall
User avatar
Sergeant Aerial Attack
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: Generation One: The Clan
Medals: 4
Tournament Achievement (2) Tournament Contribution (1) General Contribution (1)

Postby Semigall on Tue Oct 02, 2007 3:06 am

Still nothing seems to work :(

This is how i have set it up:
http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/47/hmmqm3.jpg

Everything correct ?
Image
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Semigall
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 12:31 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (1) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1)

ERROR: The remote server returned an error: (4...

Postby kahledian on Sat Oct 06, 2007 8:04 am

I get this as the result of a 'check':

ERROR: The remote server returned an error: (4...

unfortunately, I can't read the rest of the line (after the 4...).

Any ideas?

I've gone through this thread and don't think I'm doing anything wrong.

Thanks.
Private 1st Class kahledian
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 11:39 pm

number

Postby IronSheik on Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:18 pm

I am having issues finding my number...
User avatar
Corporal IronSheik
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 4:26 pm
Medals: 7
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (2)

Postby Errandir on Thu Nov 01, 2007 7:15 am

If I click "check now" and it says "search pattern was not found," is that an error or does it just mean that it's not my turn in any of my games yet?
User avatar
Private 1st Class Errandir
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 7:56 pm
Location: Gathering armies in Africa
Medals: 2
Standard Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1)

Postby BaldAdonis on Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:14 pm

Errandir wrote:If I click "check now" and it says "search pattern was not found," is that an error or does it just mean that it's not my turn in any of my games yet?
Just means it's not your turn yet. The "search pattern" it's looking for is a "ready" signal from the game; if it doesn't find it, then none of your games are ready.
User avatar
Lieutenant BaldAdonis
 
Posts: 2321
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 1:57 am
Location: Trapped in Pleasantville with Toby McGuire
Medals: 48
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (1) Tournament Achievement (19) General Achievement (2) Clan Achievement (3) Tournament Contribution (1)

Postby Errandir on Fri Nov 02, 2007 7:44 pm

Got it, thanks. I have it up and running - that's great work, Fantius, thanks. :D
User avatar
Private 1st Class Errandir
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 7:56 pm
Location: Gathering armies in Africa
Medals: 2
Standard Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1)

activates on mouseup not on mouseclick

Postby mbs on Sat Nov 17, 2007 11:47 am

A small note about the UI. It seems like it activates onmouseup instead of onmouseclick. This is a bit annoying when i have other stuff in the tray that requires a double-click. The mouseup event at the end of the second click on the non-tellmewhen icon winds up being sent to tellmewhen, and it interprets a mouseup after a mousedown anywhere in the tray as being a valid restore/unhide event.
User avatar
Lieutenant mbs
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Austin, TX
Medals: 6
Standard Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (2)

Postby Silvex on Thu Dec 06, 2007 2:27 pm

what should i do when i get a Microsoft IE shell error message which says i cannot continue?

i have .NET downloaded recently...
Brigadier Silvex
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 11:06 pm
Medals: 15
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Assassin Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (2)

Postby MamaMantis on Tue Dec 25, 2007 5:41 pm

First of all let me thank you for this app.
I'm a newbie and i haven't idea about the time that a player may take to do his turn.
With tellmewhen, i don't have to check continously if it's my turn.
THANKS!

Second point, a question: is it normal that a 384KB program uses so much memory? Or not?
Image
Odi et amo. Quare id faciam, fortasse requiris.
Nescio, sed fieri sentio et excrucior.
Cadet MamaMantis
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Roma, ITALY

Postby inflrc on Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:39 pm

Can u pls add games links? (as in the RSS feeds)
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class inflrc
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 9:09 pm
Medals: 6
Standard Achievement (2) Tournament Contribution (4)

Postby hecter on Tue Jan 01, 2008 2:54 pm

inflrc wrote:Can u pls add games links? (as in the RSS feeds)

Just double click the icon.
In heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine... You got your things, and I've got mine.
Image
User avatar
Private 1st Class hecter
 
Posts: 14725
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Tying somebody up on the third floor
Medals: 25
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (3) Assassin Achievement (2)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (1) General Achievement (1) General Contribution (1)

PreviousNext

Return to Tool Archives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

Login