Page 19 of 19

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 8:07 pm
by GoranZ
There is little weakness of HA castle... its easy to get from HJ castle to HA threw Knight at HJ2 and N29... I think that N29 and the forest south-east to it should swap places.

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 8:20 pm
by random21
agreed, and a safety added for ha, switch ha knight and ha archer to survive a treb assault. no safety for ha castle, all other castles have one. also, n29 - ha castle, is the shortest ground assault on the map

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:39 pm
by ManBungalow
The problem here is making the changes you described. Changing the gameplay means changing the XML, and the XML can't be changed without affecting existing games as far as I'm aware.

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:56 pm
by DiM
ManBungalow wrote:The problem here is making the changes you described. Changing the gameplay means changing the XML, and the XML can't be changed without affecting existing games as far as I'm aware.


not saying there's one here, but if there's a flaw in the gameplay, then the map can simply be closed so that no new games are created. then the changes are done once all games are finished and the map is reopened.

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 2:18 pm
by ManBungalow
DiM wrote:
ManBungalow wrote:The problem here is making the changes you described. Changing the gameplay means changing the XML, and the XML can't be changed without affecting existing games as far as I'm aware.


not saying there's one here, but if there's a flaw in the gameplay, then the map can simply be closed so that no new games are created. then the changes are done once all games are finished and the map is reopened.

I believe you are correct.

However, there are several games which are ongoing on the map with no end in sight. eg. Game 13160121 Admin going and putting a round limit on such games might be an option though?

Having the map closed for any length of time would knacker up tournaments, planned clan games etc.

I hate to be so negative about making a good change, but I don't think it'll happen unless there's a better way of implementing it.

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:56 am
by random21
hmm, also even now. knight being able to assault n29 directly, gives hj knight a range of 4. forests should be impassable. consider hh knight cannot hit n77. there is no different for n29.

making n29 forest helps. and i think make ha archer/switch ha knight ... which i believe has already been suggested, is correct move.

just make a whole new map.

we can have kc2, no changes to current ongoing games. and then make new map, kc2.2

wall off kc2 original, so that no new games cant created... new games must use kc2.2

when all games from kc2 original are finished, delete the map, and rename kc2.2 kc2 again.

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 11:03 am
by Gilligan
random21 wrote:hmm, also even now. knight being able to assault n29 directly, gives hj knight a range of 4. forests should be impassable. consider hh knight cannot hit n77. there is no different for n29.

making n29 forest helps. and i think make ha archer/switch ha knight ... which i believe has already been suggested, is correct move.

just make a whole new map.

we can have kc2, no changes to current ongoing games. and then make new map, kc2.2

wall off kc2 original, so that no new games cant created... new games must use kc2.2

when all games from kc2 original are finished, delete the map, and rename kc2.2 kc2 again.


I don't think this is an option, as maps cannot be deleted.

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 1:29 pm
by random21
ok, so then dont delete, and have two kc2, with and without a fix?

or see the fastest possible route to fixing the map... and do so. there is no reason the community should object to this fix.

just the formalities of going about doing so

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 4:57 pm
by Gilligan
random21 wrote:ok, so then dont delete, and have two kc2, with and without a fix?

or see the fastest possible route to fixing the map... and do so. there is no reason the community should object to this fix.

just the formalities of going about doing so


well, to do anything permission needs to be granted by kabanellas. without that, there's no point in thinking any farther.

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:12 pm
by MrBenn
If Kab was up for making a tweak could the map be put back into Beta for a while? It would probably be a less controversial change than the revisions to the Pearl Harbour map we did/undid back in the day.

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:14 pm
by Gilligan
MrBenn wrote:If Kab was up for making a tweak could the map be put back into Beta for a while? It would probably be a less controversial change than the revisions to the Pearl Harbour map we did/undid back in the day.


I believe so...though it would offer unique defeats for the beta medal.

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:16 pm
by MrBenn
Gilligan wrote:
MrBenn wrote:If Kab was up for making a tweak could the map be put back into Beta for a while? It would probably be a less controversial change than the revisions to the Pearl Harbour map we did/undid back in the day.


I believe so...though it would offer unique defeats for the beta medal.

Perhaps a little more complex than I first thought!

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 4:37 pm
by GoranZ
I think that the little bug with Knight at HJ2 should be corrected, regardless that the map is out of beta... Knight simply jumps too much :D

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 7:56 pm
by Kabanellas
Goran and Random are right, there's definitely a 'bug' there (gentle word for 'clamorous mistake' made by the mapmaker when writing the XML :) ) HJ2 Knight should not be able to reach N29. Knights move up to 3 hexes not 4.

as for the change concerning HA Castle... I'm up for it. I reckon that there's a problem with HA having no 'safe ground'. I'd simply suggest swapping HA4 Village for HA1 Archer

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2014 5:44 am
by Seulessliathan
Gilligan wrote:
random21 wrote:hmm, also even now. knight being able to assault n29 directly, gives hj knight a range of 4. forests should be impassable. consider hh knight cannot hit n77. there is no different for n29.

making n29 forest helps. and i think make ha archer/switch ha knight ... which i believe has already been suggested, is correct move.

just make a whole new map.

we can have kc2, no changes to current ongoing games. and then make new map, kc2.2

wall off kc2 original, so that no new games cant created... new games must use kc2.2

when all games from kc2 original are finished, delete the map, and rename kc2.2 kc2 again.


I don't think this is an option, as maps cannot be deleted.


But then the original KC 2 map with the bug could be closed.
I support the suggested change about HA, and the bug about N29 should be fixed if possible.

But please donĀ“t close the map, it could take many weeks until all games are finished.

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:36 pm
by GoranZ
Kabanellas wrote:Goran and Random are right, there's definitely a 'bug' there (gentle word for 'clamorous mistake' made by the mapmaker when writing the XML :) ) HJ2 Knight should not be able to reach N29. Knights move up to 3 hexes not 4.


I guess not many players use N29 for attacking :)

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:17 am
by GoranZ
Another bug on KC2... both HE5 and HC1 are not killing men due to supply shortages, although they are clearly not connected with the castle by road.

Re: King's Court 2 [Quenched]

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:22 pm
by Doc_Brown
GoranZ wrote:Another bug on KC2... both HE5 and HC1 are not killing men due to supply shortages, although they are clearly not connected with the castle by road.


I think that's by design. None of the other castles have non-important hexes adjacent to the castle. All the "non-important" territories are designated with an N--. In terms of the instructions, those territories don't have a need for roads or supply lines because the supplies are in reach! ;)