Jamaica

Care to peruse completed maps? Take a stroll through the Atlas.

Moderators: Cartographers, Global Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Re: Jamaica [BETA] V31 adjustments for upload P28

Postby cairnswk on Sat Jan 30, 2010 8:30 pm

Please check this centering before re-sumbitting to lackattack for upload.

This is the adjustment for the All 3 Maroons +3 legend wording

Image

Click image to enlarge.
image


Image

Click image to enlarge.
image



Files
http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s282 ... a_V31S.jpg

http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s282 ... a_V31L.jpg

http://h1.ripway.com/cairnswk/_jamaicaV31.xml
User avatar
Corporal cairnswk
 
Posts: 11490
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:32 pm
Medals: 50
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Map Contribution (35) General Contribution (3)

Re: Jamaica [BETA] V31 adjustments for upload P31

Postby ender516 on Sun Jan 31, 2010 1:27 am

I'm wondering why the Fort Rupert - Fort Augusta attack route is drawn with a unique style of double-headed arrow (almost like a start position/home-port connection). Shouldn't it simply look like another coastal route, drawn with dots? At a quick glance, I thought it might simply be a labelling line like those on the Church and Port Royal.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class ender516
Tech Contributor
Tech Contributor
 
Posts: 4451
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 6:07 pm
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Medals: 37
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1)
Fog of War Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (9)
Map Contribution (5) General Contribution (11)

Re: Jamaica [BETA] V31 adjustments for upload P31

Postby cairnswk on Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:31 am

ender516 wrote:I'm wondering why the Fort Rupert - Fort Augusta attack route is drawn with a unique style of double-headed arrow (almost like a start position/home-port connection). Shouldn't it simply look like another coastal route, drawn with dots? At a quick glance, I thought it might simply be a labelling line like those on the Church and Port Royal.


No it doesn't need to be drawn like yousay it should with dots. It hasn't been an issue for anyone else, and I am wondering If you wanted to be so pedantic about stuff like this, then why haven't you brought it up well before this beta stage.
It conveys clearly the message that that route is a two-way attack, and that is what is meant there.
If you thought it was a labelling line, then why have you idientified it as a double-headed arrow. :roll:
User avatar
Corporal cairnswk
 
Posts: 11490
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:32 pm
Medals: 50
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Map Contribution (35) General Contribution (3)

Re: Jamaica [BETA] V31 adjustments for upload P31

Postby ender516 on Sun Jan 31, 2010 1:19 pm

cairnswk wrote:
ender516 wrote:I'm wondering why the Fort Rupert - Fort Augusta attack route is drawn with a unique style of double-headed arrow (almost like a start position/home-port connection). Shouldn't it simply look like another coastal route, drawn with dots? At a quick glance, I thought it might simply be a labelling line like those on the Church and Port Royal.


No it doesn't need to be drawn like yousay it should with dots. It hasn't been an issue for anyone else, and I am wondering If you wanted to be so pedantic about stuff like this, then why haven't you brought it up well before this beta stage.
It conveys clearly the message that that route is a two-way attack, and that is what is meant there.
If you thought it was a labelling line, then why have you idientified it as a double-headed arrow. :roll:

I initially thought it was a labelling line. Then I saw it was a double-headed arrow. Then I wondered why it was different from other connectors and what difference it might make. Aside from the dashed double-headed arrows making clear before play which are the starting positions, all your connectors have only one meaning: two-way attack. Okay, so there is no reason for a different connector and no reason it has to be the same as the others. I'm sorry I didn't notice it sooner, but it just as easily could have been someone who has never come into the Foundry and had the same question during beta play. The fact that it hasn't been an issue for anyone else could be used to turn away the first report of any comment, but I don't think it should be.

I picked up on this line when I was examining the centering as you suggested, and I didn't say it needed to be drawn with dots, I just asked (politely, I think). Some people like to be told about a little thing like this, because they may have missed it themselves and would rather change it. If you don't, there's no need to get huffy, I'm okay with that. 8-)
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class ender516
Tech Contributor
Tech Contributor
 
Posts: 4451
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 6:07 pm
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Medals: 37
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1)
Fog of War Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (9)
Map Contribution (5) General Contribution (11)

Re: Jamaica [BETA] V31 adjustments for upload P31

Postby cairnswk on Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:38 pm

ender516 wrote:I picked up on this line when I was examining the centering as you suggested, and I didn't say it needed to be drawn with dots, I just asked (politely, I think). Some people like to be told about a little thing like this, because they may have missed it themselves and would rather change it. If you don't, there's no need to get huffy, I'm okay with that. 8-)


Shouldn't it simply look like another coastal route, drawn with dots?

The above implies to me that you think it should be drawn with dots.

If you think i'm huffy, you have no idea. :o
User avatar
Corporal cairnswk
 
Posts: 11490
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:32 pm
Medals: 50
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Map Contribution (35) General Contribution (3)

Re: Jamaica [BETA] V31 adjustments for upload P31

Postby chipv on Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:50 pm

I'm about to put the schema check into the Wizard but on my local version I can see you need to remove the title tag, otherwise all good.

Don't need

Code: Select all
<title>Jamaica</title>
User avatar
Colonel chipv
 
Posts: 2758
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:30 pm
Medals: 44
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (2)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (5) General Achievement (2) Clan Achievement (5) Map Contribution (1)
General Contribution (10)

Re: Jamaica [BETA] V31 adjustments for upload P31

Postby cairnswk on Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:57 pm

chipv wrote:I'm about to put the schema check into the Wizard but on my local version I can see you need to remove the title tag, otherwise all good.

Don't need

Code: Select all
<title>Jamaica</title>


Doesn't the title tage need to be there anymore?
User avatar
Corporal cairnswk
 
Posts: 11490
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:32 pm
Medals: 50
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Map Contribution (35) General Contribution (3)

Re: Jamaica [BETA] V31 adjustments for upload P31

Postby chipv on Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:02 pm

cairnswk wrote:
chipv wrote:I'm about to put the schema check into the Wizard but on my local version I can see you need to remove the title tag, otherwise all good.

Don't need

Code: Select all
<title>Jamaica</title>


Doesn't the title tage need to be there anymore?


No, lack moved map information out of the map XMLs and stores them locally now.
So map XMLs only contains what is needed for the game engine.

If you put your XML through mapmaker you can see what I mean, same schema check,
but it will be in the Wizard imminently. This is the same set of checks that the official map XML checking does.
User avatar
Colonel chipv
 
Posts: 2758
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:30 pm
Medals: 44
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (2)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (5) General Achievement (2) Clan Achievement (5) Map Contribution (1)
General Contribution (10)

Re: Jamaica [BETA] V31 adjustments for upload P31

Postby cairnswk on Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:42 pm

chipv wrote:...
No, lack moved map information out of the map XMLs and stores them locally now.
So map XMLs only contains what is needed for the game engine.

If you put your XML through mapmaker you can see what I mean, same schema check,
but it will be in the Wizard imminently. This is the same set of checks that the official map XML checking does.


title tage removed from the file. Thanks chipv :)

Files
http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s282 ... a_V31S.jpg

http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s282 ... a_V31L.jpg

http://h1.ripway.com/cairnswk/_jamaicaV31.xml
User avatar
Corporal cairnswk
 
Posts: 11490
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:32 pm
Medals: 50
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Map Contribution (35) General Contribution (3)

Re: Jamaica [BETA] V31 adjustments for upload P31

Postby jwithington on Mon Feb 01, 2010 7:27 pm

I LOVE this map like I love the AOR maps. Very cool!

I will say this though: it feels kinda icky to get a bonus by collecting slaves. I wonder if we can change that somehow? I know it's late...but I wanted to say it.
Winner: Lurk's Roulette
Played on the Portland Trailblazers in the NBA 2010 Playoffs
Played as Northwestern in 2008-09, 2009-10, and 2010-11 College Hoops Tourneys.
Semifinalist: CCC Masters: Division 2.
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class jwithington
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 3:56 pm
Location: Portland, OR
Medals: 15
Standard Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1)
Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (1)
General Achievement (1)

Re: jamacia beta

Postby jwithington on Mon Feb 01, 2010 7:29 pm

ender516 wrote:
cairnswk wrote:
eddie2 wrote:hi dont know if this is the right place for this but on the board it clearly states 3 troups for each marron but in play you have to have all 3 for a 3 bonus

no, this should be done in the map thread.
no, it states every maroon +3
that is taken as all maroons +3
no other way, that's how the foundry decided it to be worded. ;)

Well, I would agree with eddie2. "Every" could be read as "each" or "all". "All" has no such ambiguity in my eyes. Better yet, just say "3 Maroons +3". You can't get clearer than that, and it's consistent with phrases like "2 Bumbo (Rum)" and "Any 2 Food". Sorry to press you, cairnswk, but the Foundry's not done with you yet. :o ;)


I also misunderstood this wording. All would make more sense; "every" implied "each." to me.
Winner: Lurk's Roulette
Played on the Portland Trailblazers in the NBA 2010 Playoffs
Played as Northwestern in 2008-09, 2009-10, and 2010-11 College Hoops Tourneys.
Semifinalist: CCC Masters: Division 2.
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class jwithington
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 3:56 pm
Location: Portland, OR
Medals: 15
Standard Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1)
Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (1)
General Achievement (1)

Re: jamacia beta

Postby natty dread on Mon Feb 01, 2010 7:31 pm

jwithington wrote:
I also misunderstood this wording. All would make more sense; "every" implied "each." to me.


Already changed.
Image
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class natty dread
 
Posts: 13254
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 8:58 pm
Location: fucked off
Medals: 49
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (2)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (12) Map Contribution (12) General Contribution (7)

Re: Jamaica [BETA] V31 adjustments for upload P31

Postby cairnswk on Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:18 am

jwithington wrote:I LOVE this map like I love the AOR maps. Very cool!

I will say this though: it feels kinda icky to get a bonus by collecting slaves. I wonder if we can change that somehow? I know it's late...but I wanted to say it.


Yes i agree it is icky collecting slaves.
But it is Jamaican history, and a worthy part of history to remember to ensure it doesn't happen again. :)
That i will not change. The slaves were used on the sugar plantations, a part of history that is common even with those Deep Southern States of the USA. :)
User avatar
Corporal cairnswk
 
Posts: 11490
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:32 pm
Medals: 50
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) General Achievement (2) Map Contribution (35) General Contribution (3)

Re: Jamaica [BETA] V31 adjustments for upload P31

Postby cgblack on Wed Feb 03, 2010 4:42 pm

Game 6358825

We each started on one ship each with 3 units. Ships auto deploy two each turn, but the only adjecent terit starts with five neutrals. So more than likely no one attacks for the first three or four turns. Is this intentional?

My apologies if this has already been mentioned in the thread.
Private cgblack
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Vacaville, CA
Medals: 13
Standard Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (2) Assassin Achievement (1) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2)
Fog of War Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (2)

Re: Jamaica [BETA] V31 adjustments for upload P31

Postby eddie2 on Wed Feb 03, 2010 5:20 pm

also is there any reason wy port antonio has 6 troups on compared to others having 5
User avatar
Sergeant eddie2
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:56 am
Location: jersey channel islands
Medals: 72
Standard Achievement (4) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (3)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (3) Freestyle Achievement (2) Polymorphic Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (3)
Fog of War Achievement (4) Trench Warfare Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (4) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (4) General Achievement (5) Clan Achievement (9)
Tournament Contribution (5) General Contribution (3)

PreviousNext

Return to The Atlas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login