Conquer Club

Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Found something broken on the website or in the game, that isn't a plugin enhancement issue? Let's check it out.

Moderator: Tech Team

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

And don't forget to search for previously reported bugs first!

Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby Doc_Brown on Fri Jan 20, 2023 2:26 pm

I've been able to replicate this on different browsers, different operating systems, and different devices (computers and phones). I am not using any add-ons.

I think this is the third time I've seen it happen. The current issue is Game 22217636. I previously reported it here: viewtopic.php?f=472&t=236984&p=5229190 and I suspect it's the same thing as was reported here: viewtopic.php?f=472&t=237568&p=5246476 I did not file a report the second time it happened, but I thought I'd go ahead and do so now.

The first two times this happened, it was prior to the first turn in a game and I was attempting to grab the initial snap. The most recent turn, I was able to take a snap in the first round, but after completing my turn in round 2, the auto snapshot never showed up in the game chat area. I tried to manually take a snapshot, and it shows up in the Snaps panel but not in the chat window. As soon as I refresh the browser, the snap disappears altogether. Previously, the snaps started working again in the following round. Based on other reports, I suspect that will also be the case here. In my original report, both my teammate and I were unable to take snapshots for that opening round. My guess is that the snapshot is encoded in a way that is incompatible with the chat window. I can't figure out a way to grab the text of the snapshot right now to help with debugging it, but if someone has some ideas, I'm happy to try to help figure out the source of this bug.
Image
User avatar
Colonel Doc_Brown
 
Posts: 1223
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:06 pm
Location: Alabama

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby SoN!c on Sat Jan 21, 2023 10:44 am

I've had some random teammates asking me already a few times what kind of chinese language i was speaking.

When they posted the entire chat via pm it turned out it was the snapshots, they did not see them but were just reading chinese garbled text.

Instead of a snapshot they saw (for example) something like 鏂鍖栥亼快照"鍖栥亼快譁蟄怜喧縺

Internet calls this "Mojibake"

Also, to prevent spamming you can't post the same text twice - so perhaps a combination of this mojibake is causing it?

Internet says using UTF-8 as browser setting should fix it

because UTF-8 is by far the best general-purpose data interchange encoding, and is almost mandatory if you are using any of the other protocols that build on it like XML and since all CC maps are build on XML..

So select "View" from the top of your browser window. Select "Text Encoding." Select "Unicode (UTF-8)" from the dropdown menu. See if that solves it?
Image
User avatar
Colonel SoN!c
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue May 11, 2021 10:23 am

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby Doc_Brown on Wed Jan 25, 2023 4:51 pm

Other players see mojibake because they don't have panels enabled, and they are not using BOB. Both approaches operate by encoding army size and color information into a string that is placed in the chat window. Panels and BOB use the same encoding, so snapshots are interchangeable, and both interpret those random strings as snapshots and modify the encoded text into the snapshot link.

As expected, as soon as another player took a turn in my game, I was able to grab snaps again. Note that I've replicated this behavior in Chrome, Firefox, Edge, and Safari browsers. All had identical behavior. I'm pretty sure the issue is not with the browser, but with the encoding method and the chat window. For example, many string handlers and GUIs treat the NULL character as a string terminator. if the initial character in the encoded snapshot string ended up being the NULL character, it would likely result in exactly this behavior. I don't know the encoding method, so I can't speculate further, but I'm guessing it's something along these lines. If someone who knows the coding of BOB (and related plugins) can make a scaled down script that reports the encoded snapshot string that is intended to go into the chat window, I'm happy to hold onto it until this issue occurs again to try to debug exactly what characters are causing the issue.
Image
User avatar
Colonel Doc_Brown
 
Posts: 1223
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:06 pm
Location: Alabama

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby nikola_milicki on Mon Feb 27, 2023 5:24 pm

sorry for intruding here but not reporting same problem again, maybe open this one again

https://www.conquerclub.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=472&t=237568

still losing snaps from the list at some point of the game, I can see them in chat but not in snap menu
this is game 22251649 where snaps are all gone but the last one and they never reset back, why???
I couldn't be the only one with this problem...

Image
Colonel nikola_milicki
 
Posts: 1015
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: CROATIA

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby nikola_milicki on Fri Mar 03, 2023 5:37 pm

2023-02-28 21:00:24 - downfall [team]: snap :: 6~?0䵌䆄ല昐⅌徆ℂґ瀗ᨙ䵌擷厳ᆥ䮬拦㎳ᛙྡྷ䧥䪮巅ெ䗤䢀
2023-03-01 20:35:32 - nikola_milicki [team]: snap :: 6~?1䵌䆄ല昐⅌徆ℂґ瀗ᨙ䵌擷厳ᆒ昖ヌ曦㍋ቤ⦬姅氨ऴ㓖─
2023-03-02 21:46:05 - downfall: gg all
2023-03-02 21:46:24 - downfall [team]: snap :: 7~?2䵌䈙䵋ღ㍥Ȑ⅌攩䵌曦㊻標䵌䓳ᨙ䵋ᛦ㎳ᨙ䵈稒₀
2023-03-03 18:28:07 - _Untouchable: gg
2023-03-03 19:27:12 - nikola_milicki [team]: snap :: 7~?0䵌䆆㎲撐㎮帐℃ᦪ㎳ᨙ䴎盦㎲ᙗ⌣ᨙ䰬䘙䤳ᨙ䴏ᦤ
Colonel nikola_milicki
 
Posts: 1015
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: CROATIA

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby Extreme Ways on Fri Mar 03, 2023 6:18 pm

nikola_milicki wrote:sorry for intruding here but not reporting same problem again, maybe open this one again

https://www.conquerclub.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=472&t=237568

still losing snaps from the list at some point of the game, I can see them in chat but not in snap menu
this is game 22251649 where snaps are all gone but the last one and they never reset back, why???
I couldn't be the only one with this problem...

Image

This might not be what you are describing but still: I am pretty sure the interface only loads snaps that are present in chat before you click "load entire chat".
TOFU, ex-REP, ex-VDLL, ex-KoRT.
User avatar
General Extreme Ways
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 10:02 am
2

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby nikola_milicki on Wed Mar 08, 2023 2:50 pm

Extreme Ways wrote:
nikola_milicki wrote:sorry for intruding here but not reporting same problem again, maybe open this one again

https://www.conquerclub.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=472&t=237568

still losing snaps from the list at some point of the game, I can see them in chat but not in snap menu
this is game 22251649 where snaps are all gone but the last one and they never reset back, why???
I couldn't be the only one with this problem...

Image

This might not be what you are describing but still: I am pretty sure the interface only loads snaps that are present in chat before you click "load entire chat".


nope that's not it, clicked load chat million times, doesn't help once snaps disappear
and different games miss different number of snaps, got a 23 round game where I cant see any past round 18, and there was that game above where only 1 snap remained

oh and Chinese signs in chat are a new thing, few days, a week
Colonel nikola_milicki
 
Posts: 1015
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: CROATIA

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby IcePack on Wed Mar 08, 2023 4:30 pm

Post the console log data while trying to get the snaps
Image

I’d rather be an optimist and a fool, than a pessimist and be right. - “Bones”
User avatar
Lieutenant IcePack
Multi Hunter
Multi Hunter
 
Posts: 16267
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:42 pm
Location: California

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby nikola_milicki on Thu Mar 09, 2023 1:10 pm

IcePack wrote:Post the console log data while trying to get the snaps


sorry mate dont know what you're asking, dont speak IT :lol:
gimme some instructions
Colonel nikola_milicki
 
Posts: 1015
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: CROATIA

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby MTIceman41 on Thu Mar 09, 2023 3:37 pm

nikola_milicki wrote:
IcePack wrote:Post the console log data while trying to get the snaps


sorry mate dont know what you're asking, dont speak IT :lol:
gimme some instructions


Load the game chat and see original snaps there.

8-)
Image
User avatar
Brigadier MTIceman41
 
Posts: 971
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 12:16 am
Location: Orange County, CA

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby nikola_milicki on Thu Mar 09, 2023 5:22 pm

MTIceman41 wrote:
nikola_milicki wrote:
IcePack wrote:Post the console log data while trying to get the snaps


sorry mate dont know what you're asking, dont speak IT :lol:
gimme some instructions


Load the game chat and see original snaps there.

8-)


I honestly thought he wanted me to post something here that would help him see whats the problem :lol:

yes snaps come back from china after chat load but that does nothing for bringing back snaps in their own Snapshots window, how is this not fixed yet, this problem is months old and I cant be the only one seeing it?!?!

we all like to have snaps in window cuz its a bi*ch to scroll through chat when we need to figure something out that happened 10 rounds ago...
Colonel nikola_milicki
 
Posts: 1015
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: CROATIA

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby king achilles on Thu Mar 09, 2023 8:10 pm

To clarify, this does not happen consistently, correct? And this likely only is happening in Team games, correct? In your non team games, snaps are working just fine for you, is that correct?

Icepack is only trying to help you. This is what he was referring to when he asked you about producing the"console log data" or "Web Console diagnostic information":
viewtopic.php?f=506&t=208473
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class king achilles
Support Admin
Support Admin
 
Posts: 12937
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:55 pm

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby IcePack on Thu Mar 09, 2023 9:12 pm

nikola_milicki wrote:
IcePack wrote:Post the console log data while trying to get the snaps


sorry mate dont know what you're asking, dont speak IT :lol:
gimme some instructions


viewtopic.php?f=506&t=222751#p4929523

EDIT: sorry just saw KA took care of it
Image

I’d rather be an optimist and a fool, than a pessimist and be right. - “Bones”
User avatar
Lieutenant IcePack
Multi Hunter
Multi Hunter
 
Posts: 16267
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:42 pm
Location: California

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby nikola_milicki on Fri Mar 10, 2023 1:26 pm

you can say it happens consistently in team games, dont see it in last 3 non team games

what does this step mean? "Take the action on the page that produces the problem"
I cleared console and refreshed page, got this:

This page uses the non standard property “zoom”. Consider using calc() in the relevant property values, or using “transform” along with “transform-origin: 0 0”. game.php
Some cookies are misusing the recommended “SameSite“ attribute 7
An AudioContext was prevented from starting automatically. It must be created or resumed after a user gesture on the page. game.php:67:14
Layout was forced before the page was fully loaded. If stylesheets are not yet loaded this may cause a flash of unstyled content. jquery-1.9.1.min.js:5:26142
Script error in [Greasemonkey script http://yeti_c.co.uk/conquerClub/Conquer Club - BOB; version 5.3.0]:
ReferenceError: GM_xmlhttpRequest is not defined Conquer Club - BOB:3801:19
Script error in [Greasemonkey script maprank/Conquer Club Map Rank GL; version 1.6.1]:
ReferenceError: GM_xmlhttpRequest is not defined Conquer Club Map Rank GL:3687:19
Use of Mutation Events is deprecated. Use MutationObserver instead. sandbox eval code:125:9
Script error in [Greasemonkey script http://tools.conquerclub.com//Conquer Club - Chatglove; version 1.8.3]:
TypeError: oldVersion is undefined Conquer Club - Chatglove:1517:19
Synchronous XMLHttpRequest on the main thread is deprecated because of its detrimental effects to the end user’s experience. For more help http://xhr.spec.whatwg.org/ jquery-1.9.1.min.js:5:17542
Source map error: Error: request failed with status 404
Resource URL: https://www.conquerclub.com/lib/js/jquery-1.9.1.min.js
Source Map URL: jquery.min.map
XML Parsing Error: not well-formed
Location: https://www.conquerclub.com/game.php?game=22251418
Line Number 59, Column 15: 3 game.php:59:15
Colonel nikola_milicki
 
Posts: 1015
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: CROATIA

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby IcePack on Fri Mar 10, 2023 3:48 pm

Are you talking about snaps (built in game) or BOB?

There are known issues w the scripts recently. You’ll need to turn greasemonkey off and use the panel snaps if you want them working properly atm.

The scripts have to be fixed
Image

I’d rather be an optimist and a fool, than a pessimist and be right. - “Bones”
User avatar
Lieutenant IcePack
Multi Hunter
Multi Hunter
 
Posts: 16267
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:42 pm
Location: California

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby IcePack on Fri Mar 10, 2023 3:49 pm

IcePack wrote:Are you talking about snaps (built in game) or BOB?

There are known issues w the scripts recently. You’ll need to turn greasemonkey off and use the panel snaps if you want them working properly atm.

The scripts have to be fixed


viewforum.php?f=526

Go here to the third party scripts area(s) and post in the relevant script thread that they need fixing
Image

I’d rather be an optimist and a fool, than a pessimist and be right. - “Bones”
User avatar
Lieutenant IcePack
Multi Hunter
Multi Hunter
 
Posts: 16267
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:42 pm
Location: California

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby Extreme Ways on Sun Mar 12, 2023 4:51 am

king achilles wrote:To clarify, this does not happen consistently, correct? And this likely only is happening in Team games, correct? In your non team games, snaps are working just fine for you, is that correct?

Icepack is only trying to help you. This is what he was referring to when he asked you about producing the"console log data" or "Web Console diagnostic information":
viewtopic.php?f=506&t=208473

It happens in poly games as well, but those might as well be teamgames. It is related to ChatGlove for me. I use panel interface and the following console logs appear when I have ChatGlove enabled:

show


The notwellformed XML, well no problem about that but I figured I'd include it just in case as I dont understand how chatglove would interact with that. When I disable chatglove, snaps do not show their unparsed characters.

Note: this is not a complaint, just an observation.
TOFU, ex-REP, ex-VDLL, ex-KoRT.
User avatar
General Extreme Ways
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 10:02 am
2

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby Donelladan on Sun Mar 12, 2023 7:29 am

[quote="king achilles"]To clarify, this does not happen consistently, correct? And this likely only is happening in Team games, correct? In your non team games, snaps are working just fine for you, is that correct?
[quote]

The issue described by nikola_milicki ( which is different from the one from the OP ) does happen consistently.

In all of my team games, after a few rounds, snapshots from the early rounds are not available in the snapshot tab, but only in the game chat.
Snapshot tab only display recent snapshots.
And this is without using script. I am using snapshot from CC.
It has always been the kind, and I usually do what MTiceman suggest. ( see snapshots from the chat).

So, to reply to your question : it does happen consistently. -> it's on every game.

Happen in poly game as well. Not sure for 1vs1 or multiplayer game, rareply play those anymore, but would expect the same.
Image
User avatar
Brigadier Donelladan
 
Posts: 3396
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:48 am
4421738

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby king achilles on Wed Mar 15, 2023 6:01 pm

I have a team game in beta and I can't replicate this issue. All snaps are appearing to me in the game chat and in the Snapshot tab as well and all using FF, Edge, Chrome and Opera browsers in pc windows, without any addons or scripts.

We'll need the console data or Web Console diagnostic information when your snapshot doesn't work for you.
viewtopic.php?f=506&t=208473
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class king achilles
Support Admin
Support Admin
 
Posts: 12937
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:55 pm

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby Donelladan on Thu Mar 16, 2023 6:07 am

How many rounds did you play? Try getting till round 20 at least.
Image
User avatar
Brigadier Donelladan
 
Posts: 3396
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:48 am
4421738

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby king achilles on Thu Mar 16, 2023 6:28 pm

^ Still no issue here.
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class king achilles
Support Admin
Support Admin
 
Posts: 12937
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:55 pm

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby Donelladan on Thu Mar 16, 2023 6:54 pm

That's my console
"/game.php?game=22251307:594 GET https://i1053.photobucket.com/albums/s4 ... 3ekmvv.png 404
game.php?game=22251307:67 The AudioContext was not allowed to start. It must be resumed (or created) after a user gesture on the page. https://goo.gl/7K7WLu"
CC,97 ms:gm_ConquerClubGame: Starting
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,100 ms:gm_ConquerClubGame: Building the Settings Menu
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,109 ms:gm_ConquerClubGame: Player IDs
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,113 ms:processLog: Processing Log
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,114 ms:getFullLog: requesting full log
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,547 ms:processLog: Log Processing Info - Length :654
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,547 ms:gm_ConquerClubGame: Map Analysis
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,563 ms:updateMagicMap: Updating Magic Map
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,572 ms:updateMagicMap: Attaching the hover handlers over the map
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,582 ms:updateMagicMap: Attaching the handlers
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,583 ms:colourCodeDD: Color Coding the dropdowns
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,583 ms:gm_ConquerClubGame: Show Snapshots
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,585 ms:chatToSnap: checking for snaps..
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,589 ms:gm_ConquerClubGame: Update Indicators
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,589 ms:gm_ConquerClubGame: Update Color Codes
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,612 ms:gm_ConquerClubGame: Update Map
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,631 ms:processLog: Log Processing Info - Length :653
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,637 ms:updateMagicMap: Updating Magic Map
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,642 ms:colourCodeDD: Color Coding the dropdowns
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,643 ms:gm_ConquerClubGame: Update Panels
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,644 ms:updatePanels: Rendering action bottom
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,655 ms:updatePanels: Rendering basic attached
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,656 ms:updatePanels: Rendering game attached
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,657 ms:updatePanels: Rendering map attached
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,658 ms:updatePanels: Rendering stats attached
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,659 ms:updatePanels: Rendering snapshots attached
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,660 ms:updatePanels: Rendering chat right
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,663 ms:updatePanels: Rendering log attached
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,667 ms:updatePanels: Rendering settings attached
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,667 ms:updatePanels: Rendering help attached
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,670 ms:gm_ConquerClubGame: Toggle Console
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,671 ms:gm_ConquerClubGame: AutoScrollers
game_interface.js?v=20230226:1316 CC,682 ms:gm_ConquerClubGame: Done after request



This request get 404

Request URL: https://i1053.photobucket.com/albums/s4 ... 3ekmvv.png
Request Method: GET
Status Code: 404 (from memory cache)
Remote Address: 52.222.139.70:443
Referrer Policy: strict-origin-when-cross-origin
accept-ranges: bytes
age: 96500
content-length: 7092
content-type: image/png
date: Wed, 15 Mar 2023 21:04:35 GMT
etag: "49e3fff8262f861c9be74931c8c33d34"
last-modified: Fri, 20 Dec 2019 23:09:15 GMT
server: AmazonS3
via: 1.1 425cbe8f956bdcb8754c19eb873fd2d0.cloudfront.net (CloudFront)
x-amz-cf-id: N7IfEoR6dd-V6eE9zbggXek3-3ABYYUYM7qShenoD7qplfiGdMEkBg==
x-amz-cf-pop: AMS50-C1
x-amz-server-side-encryption: AES256
x-cache: Error from cloudfront
Provisional headers are shown. Disable cache to see full headers.
Learn more
Referer: https://www.conquerclub.com/
sec-ch-ua: "Google Chrome";v="111", "Not(A:Brand";v="8", "Chromium";v="111"
sec-ch-ua-mobile: ?0
sec-ch-ua-platform: "Windows"
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/111.0.0.0 Safari/537.36
Image
User avatar
Brigadier Donelladan
 
Posts: 3396
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:48 am
4421738

Re: Snaps occaionally not working for a round

Postby king achilles on Thu Mar 16, 2023 10:05 pm

^ Forwarded.
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class king achilles
Support Admin
Support Admin
 
Posts: 12937
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:55 pm

Next

Return to Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users