Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Information on tactics, scenarios, and all that you'll need to be successful in-game!

Moderators: Global Moderators, Discussions Team

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Re: Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Postby t-o-m on Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:45 pm

A good played suicided me just yesterday.

Mbohn, i was quite shocked.
Then he accused me of suiciding him for HIM autoing 127 of my guys with his 74.
Threw the game away to the other player, obviously.
Colonel t-o-m
 
Posts: 2821
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: Redistributing wealth
Medals: 39
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (3) Fog of War Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (3)
Teammate Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (2) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (1)
Clan Achievement (2) Map Contribution (1) Tournament Contribution (3) General Contribution (1)

Re: Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Postby Schwournes on Sun Aug 31, 2008 6:53 pm

I would've thought that Kamikaze (well not in the sense I mean - because it is the opposite of suiciding) wouldn't be an attempt to trash the game, but more as a vain attempt to stay in the game until you get a set of cards or something...But not completely recklessly as in 1 1 1 1 1 because then you would just get knocked out straight away
Cadet Schwournes
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 4:15 pm
Medals: 19
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (3) Freestyle Achievement (3) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3)
Ratings Achievement (1)

Re: Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Postby FabledIntegral on Sun Aug 31, 2008 11:15 pm

Schwournes wrote:I would've thought that Kamikaze (well not in the sense I mean - because it is the opposite of suiciding) wouldn't be an attempt to trash the game, but more as a vain attempt to stay in the game until you get a set of cards or something...But not completely recklessly as in 1 1 1 1 1 because then you would just get knocked out straight away


Kamikaze to me sounds like "in a desperate attempt, take someone else out with you to do as much dmg to them as possible. STILL a suicide, obviously, by definition."

If you want to stay in the game until you got a set of cards, why in the world would you attack at ALL except for killing a single army for a card? Why would you waste any more armies? What does that possibly accomplish? It can't help you at all... unless you want to get really technical and try to pull some attackers advantage BS out. But in the end - it just makes you a bigger target for the OTHER players to kill you... so the attackers advantage point goes to hell...
Major FabledIntegral
 
Posts: 1085
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 6:04 pm
Location: Highest Rank: 7 Highest Score: 3810
Medals: 16
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Assassin Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (3)
Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (1)

Re: Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Postby Meor on Mon Sep 01, 2008 1:52 am

I haven't been on CC for long at all, but I have played a lot of RISK, and suicide is always a terrible move, not only because it destroys the strategy of the game, but because you eliminate any chance of winning. That said however, if you are being cornered taking a big unit stack and breaking through an opponents defenses in order to establish a stronger position can be a decent move, provided you don't use up all your units doing it. It is still a huge risk though.
Corporal Meor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 4:58 pm

Re: Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Postby FabledIntegral on Mon Sep 01, 2008 6:58 am

Meor wrote:I haven't been on CC for long at all, but I have played a lot of RISK, and suicide is always a terrible move, not only because it destroys the strategy of the game, but because you eliminate any chance of winning. That said however, if you are being cornered taking a big unit stack and breaking through an opponents defenses in order to establish a stronger position can be a decent move, provided you don't use up all your units doing it. It is still a huge risk though.


Very, VERY VERY rarily is this true, as classic risk is played escalating style.
Major FabledIntegral
 
Posts: 1085
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 6:04 pm
Location: Highest Rank: 7 Highest Score: 3810
Medals: 16
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Assassin Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (3)
Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (1)

Re: Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Postby Hotdoggie on Mon Sep 01, 2008 7:10 am

Kamikazi = bad

that sums it up...
PERSONAL BEST...
Rank: Colonel
Score: 2802
Place: 120
Date: 16 / 2 / 2009
Lieutenant Hotdoggie
 
Posts: 563
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:29 am
Location: Doodle Earth
Medals: 32
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (3) Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (3) Fog of War Achievement (3) Speed Achievement (3)
Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (1) General Achievement (1)

Re: Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Postby Meor on Mon Sep 01, 2008 11:31 am

FabledIntegral wrote:
Meor wrote:I haven't been on CC for long at all, but I have played a lot of RISK, and suicide is always a terrible move, not only because it destroys the strategy of the game, but because you eliminate any chance of winning. That said however, if you are being cornered taking a big unit stack and breaking through an opponents defenses in order to establish a stronger position can be a decent move, provided you don't use up all your units doing it. It is still a huge risk though.


Very, VERY VERY rarily is this true, as classic risk is played escalating style.


I have seen it work though, and the player doing has come back to win, albeit you have to do it fairly early on. Definitely a bad move in 1v1. And it probably flops more often than it works...but as a last ditch strategy, I wouldn't call it a cheap move or bad strategy.
Corporal Meor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 4:58 pm

Re: Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Postby max is gr8 on Tue Sep 02, 2008 12:23 pm

I suicided once against a player I had a chance of beating. After I got him down to one territ with one unit and failed (in escalating game) I suicided because I was so annoyed, because the next players turn he already had a set then would kill the player and get another set etc.
‹max is gr8› so you're a tee-total healthy-eating sex-addict?
‹New_rules› Everyone has some bad habits
(4th Jan 2010)
User avatar
Corporal max is gr8
 
Posts: 3720
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 6:44 am
Location: In a big ball of light sent from the future
Medals: 33
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (3)
Assassin Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (3) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (2)
Ratings Achievement (1) Tournament Contribution (11)

Re: Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Postby OliverFA on Wed Sep 03, 2008 4:46 pm

Well... if someone almost killed you and ruined the game for you, I think is completely legitimate to turn back the favor and ruin the game for him.
User avatar
Lieutenant OliverFA
 
Posts: 2345
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 4:30 am
Location: Somewhere in Spain
Medals: 32
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (1) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2) Trench Warfare Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (1)
Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (2) Beta Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (1)
Clan Achievement (3) Training Achievement (1) Tournament Contribution (2) General Contribution (5)

Re: Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Postby FabledIntegral on Wed Sep 03, 2008 8:46 pm

OliverFA wrote:Well... if someone almost killed you and ruined the game for you, I think is completely legitimate to turn back the favor and ruin the game for him.


That... is a completely different matter - I do that all the time.
Major FabledIntegral
 
Posts: 1085
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 6:04 pm
Location: Highest Rank: 7 Highest Score: 3810
Medals: 16
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Assassin Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (3)
Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (1)

Re: Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Postby max is gr8 on Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:27 am

lolz
‹max is gr8› so you're a tee-total healthy-eating sex-addict?
‹New_rules› Everyone has some bad habits
(4th Jan 2010)
User avatar
Corporal max is gr8
 
Posts: 3720
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 6:44 am
Location: In a big ball of light sent from the future
Medals: 33
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (3)
Assassin Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (3) Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (2)
Ratings Achievement (1) Tournament Contribution (11)

Re: Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Postby Rocketry on Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:06 pm

Noslen wrote:Okay so here's the real question:

When I am down facing overwhelming odds I like to take my biggest stack and just blow through the opponent in the hope that I might actually get lucky. This can sometimes take away valuable bonuses and punch holes in the opponent's defence that others might be able to use.

So is this a good idea or bad idea?


Looking at your rank mate, I would suggest not. Anyway, back to the kitchen....

Rocketry
User avatar
Lieutenant Rocketry
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Westminster
Medals: 23
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (1)
Fog of War Achievement (2) Speed Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (1)
General Achievement (1) Clan Achievement (3)

Re: Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Postby White Moose on Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:10 pm

Suiciding in a game when you have no chance of winning is plain stupid.

Having a small chance of success and going for it as a last oppertunity to win, is just fine. You should always try to win, still if its a small chance.

Just my thoughts :=)
Image
Highest Score: 3374
User avatar
Major White Moose
 
Posts: 2041
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 6:33 am
Location: Sweden
Medals: 63
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (3) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (3)
Speed Achievement (3) Random Map Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (16)
General Achievement (3) Clan Achievement (6) Tournament Contribution (4)

Re: Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Postby JJAPS2 on Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:41 pm

If you're playing a non-team game, then kamikaze is a stupid move 100% of the time. It's almost always useless, especially in 1vs1, and if the circumstances are bad enough, may cause a accusation of hidden alliance.

However, a team atmosphere is a lot different. After your kamikaze, your friend can give you some of his reinforcements, therby still giving you a safe haven, while putting a block on your opponent. Of corse, this depends on the circumstances, and kamikaze may be stupid in this situation anyway. Just a thought.
Cook JJAPS2
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 5:33 am

Re: Kamikaze....is it really a good final move?

Postby Noslen on Sat Sep 13, 2008 5:37 pm

Okay...so I think it is agreed that the strategy isn't a strategy at all and thus just a bad move....so here's to the reason I asked.

I was told by a high ranking person on CC that this is a good strategy. Having played RISK irl and seeing how the games are played here I disagreed, however, my rank here does reflect that I haven't had much luck on CC yet (btw I don't care what higher ranks think luck is at least 50% of CC and Risk) which is why I asked.

Thanks for the opinions. I think that maybe there's a few people offering advice that really shouldn't.
Cook Noslen
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 6:28 am
Location: England
Medals: 3
Standard Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (1)

PreviousNext

Return to Strategy

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Login