Announcing Jota's Map Assistant

Topics that are not maps. Discuss general map making concepts, techniques, contests, etc, here.

Moderators: Cartographers, Global Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Announcing Jota's Map Assistant

Postby Jota on Sat Apr 22, 2006 12:47 am

The second of my two mapmaking utilities is now available to the public. The Map Assistant is a Java application that provides a GUI for generating the coordinate data for Conquer Club maps. You just open an image, open your XML, position the cursor where you want the coordinates inserted, and click on the map. If you're working on a map, give it a try and let me know what you think:

Map Assistant

You'll need the Java runtime to use it. If you're on Windows, you can run it by typing java -jar MapAssist.jar at the command prompt. If you're using another OS, you're on your own figuring out how to run jarfiles (but I'm sure there's a webpage out there that'll explain it). Enjoy.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Jota
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:38 pm
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (2) Map Contribution (6) General Contribution (2)

Postby AndyDufresne on Sat Apr 22, 2006 11:38 am

Sounds like a nifty gadget for map makers. But when I first read the title I thought you were expanding your enterprise of map making and started to higher personal assistants!

--Andy
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class AndyDufresne
Retired Administrator
 
Posts: 25039
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:22 pm
Location: A Banana Palm in Zihuatanejo
Medals: 20
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (1)
Cross-Map Achievement (3) General Achievement (4) General Contribution (2)

Postby kingwaffles on Sat Apr 22, 2006 12:06 pm

Sounds very useful, if I ever get around to making a mpI'm sure I'll use it. And what was your first mapmaking utility?
Image
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class kingwaffles
 
Posts: 718
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 9:05 am
Location: Pseudopolis Yard, Ankh Morpork, Discworld

Postby Jota on Sat Apr 22, 2006 12:13 pm

The first one was an XML testing script which lack has incorporated into the Map Maker form.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Jota
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:38 pm
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (2) Map Contribution (6) General Contribution (2)

Postby rocksolid on Sat Apr 22, 2006 1:20 pm

Thanks Jota, I'm sure I'll need to use this!
User avatar
Lieutenant rocksolid
 
Posts: 625
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Mowwwnt Reeeal
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (1) Tournament Achievement (1) Map Contribution (2)

Postby DublinDoogey on Sat Apr 22, 2006 9:30 pm

Hey Jota

It's awesome that you make these programs! I'm glad that I don't have to do it the way I was before, this will be much quicker.

Just because I'm not very good with computers...

Have the image open: in photoshop, or the .png version?

I've just gotta get started on the xml, and finalizing my graphics (North America map).

Thanks again

-doogey
User avatar
Cadet DublinDoogey
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:03 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Medals: 9
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (2)
Map Contribution (1)

Postby Jota on Sat Apr 22, 2006 11:42 pm

You'll need to open the image in the Map Assistant itself: there are menu options for "Open Image" and "Open XML". I think that PNG files should work fine: I didn't test it with them personally, but I'm pretty sure the standard Java packages handle them with no trouble.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Jota
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:38 pm
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (2) Map Contribution (6) General Contribution (2)

Postby thegrimsleeper on Sun Apr 23, 2006 12:40 am

I tried this out, just to see what it did. Looks like a good prog, once I get around to making another map I'm sure it'll save me a lot of time and Advil.

Handles .png files just fine.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class thegrimsleeper
 
Posts: 984
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:40 am
Location: Seattle
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (1) Map Contribution (1)

Postby Jota on Sat Apr 29, 2006 11:04 pm

Uploaded version 1.1 to the same location. Fixes a major bug and includes a few other minor improvements.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Jota
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:38 pm
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (2) Map Contribution (6) General Contribution (2)

Postby kevinc on Sat May 06, 2006 6:05 am

All you need now is to be able to create points on the map, and drag them around.
User avatar
Corporal kevinc
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:47 pm
Location: Dublin
Medals: 7
Map Contribution (1) General Contribution (6)

Postby fluffybunnykins on Mon May 08, 2006 3:35 pm

that'd be very cool :D howie
thanks Jota, I'm using it now for 'going underground'
soon we may be able to test it, may take a couple of months to complete a game mind you...
btw I've started my first go at the crossword map n all. Cool idea, nice bit of out of the box thinking.
Phil
Superman wears 'Fluffybunnykins' pyjamas
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class fluffybunnykins
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 6:43 am
Location: Liverpool, UK
Medals: 1
Standard Achievement (1)

Postby Mr. K on Mon May 08, 2006 3:39 pm

I just wanted to say that I used this and it helped a lot. I can't imagine having to have gotten all the coordinates without this program.

Thanks Jota!
User avatar
Lieutenant Mr. K
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:14 pm
Medals: 5
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Map Contribution (2)

Postby kevinc on Mon May 08, 2006 3:48 pm

Mr. K wrote:I just wanted to say that I used this and it helped a lot. I can't imagine having to have gotten all the coordinates without this program.


Yea, me too. It's really fantastic! :)
User avatar
Corporal kevinc
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:47 pm
Location: Dublin
Medals: 7
Map Contribution (1) General Contribution (6)

Postby Jota on Mon May 08, 2006 4:43 pm

Yay, it's great to hear that.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Jota
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:38 pm
Medals: 10
Standard Achievement (2) Map Contribution (6) General Contribution (2)

Postby Haydena on Tue May 30, 2006 4:45 pm

Just thought I'd point something out...

I was doing the XML on the Japan map, and it cuts off the bottom of the map because it is too tall. Is there anyway to sort this? Or do I have to do it manually?
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Haydena
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: Sussex, England
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)

Next

Return to Foundry Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Login