Conquer Club

Classic Conquest [Version 3.1]

Maps that may be nearing the end of production. Finalize maps here, while testing.

Moderator: Cartographers

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.01]

Postby Doc_Brown on Wed Nov 29, 2023 4:28 pm

I think Magadan needs to be bumped up to a neutral 8 so the barrier between Canada and China is comparable to the others.
Image
User avatar
Colonel Doc_Brown
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:06 pm

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.01]

Postby plurple on Wed Nov 29, 2023 8:18 pm

Doc_Brown wrote:I think Magadan needs to be bumped up to a neutral 8 so the barrier between Canada and China is comparable to the others.


I aggree that magadan needs to be bumped up maybe to 7, also hong kong to 7 or 8 as there is the same number of territories between china and india as the 2 NA starts.

I also need to bump anchorage up to 4 as cannada is the only start with a 3 available other than the landing spots :)
plurple is not purple 8-[ 8-[ 8-[ 8-[ 8-[
User avatar
Major plurple
Chatter
Chatter
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 3:29 pm
32

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.01]

Postby Shannon Apple on Thu Dec 07, 2023 8:19 pm

I did check the colour blindness filters on Illustrator as I went, so there are no issues with adjacent colours looking the same. I muted the background colours (map and connections) and made the region colours more vibrant. It looks "fresher." Sorry took me so long, I've been swamped, and this stuff does take a little time. 8-)



Image
Image
00:33:53 ‹riskllama› will her and i ever hook up, LLT???
00:34:09 ‹LiveLoveTeach› You and Shannon?
00:34:20 ‹LiveLoveTeach› Bahahahahahaha
00:34:22 ‹LiveLoveTeach› I doubt it
00:34:30 ‹LiveLoveTeach› I don't think she's into farm animals
User avatar
Brigadier Shannon Apple
Chatter
Chatter
 
Posts: 2162
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:40 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.01]

Postby plurple on Fri Dec 22, 2023 7:47 am

Shannon Apple wrote:I did check the colour blindness filters on Illustrator as I went, so there are no issues with adjacent colours looking the same. I muted the background colours (map and connections) and made the region colours more vibrant. It looks "fresher." Sorry took me so long, I've been swamped, and this stuff does take a little time. 8-)



Image
Image


Thanks for these Shannon and the gentle reminder to upload to the beta site :D I have also taken to bump up a few of the neutrals as my initial choices may have been slightly to low:

Magadan went from 5 to a 7
Manila from a 4 to a 5
Anchorage from a 3 to a 4
Hong Kong from a 6 to a 8
plurple is not purple 8-[ 8-[ 8-[ 8-[ 8-[
User avatar
Major plurple
Chatter
Chatter
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 3:29 pm
32

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.1]

Postby Shannon Apple on Fri Dec 22, 2023 4:52 pm

Awesome! :D
00:33:53 ‹riskllama› will her and i ever hook up, LLT???
00:34:09 ‹LiveLoveTeach› You and Shannon?
00:34:20 ‹LiveLoveTeach› Bahahahahahaha
00:34:22 ‹LiveLoveTeach› I doubt it
00:34:30 ‹LiveLoveTeach› I don't think she's into farm animals
User avatar
Brigadier Shannon Apple
Chatter
Chatter
 
Posts: 2162
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:40 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.01]

Postby iancanton on Mon Dec 25, 2023 6:13 pm

merry xmas!

plurple wrote:Thanks for these Shannon and the gentle reminder to upload to the beta site :D I have also taken to bump up a few of the neutrals as my initial choices may have been slightly to low:

Magadan went from 5 to a 7
Manila from a 4 to a 5
Anchorage from a 3 to a 4
Hong Kong from a 6 to a 8

is this xml v1.04?

ian. :)
Image
User avatar
Brigadier iancanton
Foundry Foreman
Foundry Foreman
 
Posts: 2422
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 5:40 am
Location: europe

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.01]

Postby plurple on Mon Dec 25, 2023 6:18 pm

iancanton wrote:merry xmas!

plurple wrote:Thanks for these Shannon and the gentle reminder to upload to the beta site :D I have also taken to bump up a few of the neutrals as my initial choices may have been slightly to low:

Magadan went from 5 to a 7
Manila from a 4 to a 5
Anchorage from a 3 to a 4
Hong Kong from a 6 to a 8

is this xml v1.04?

ian. :)


yes that should be the one i uploaded to beta and attached to post 1 :D
plurple is not purple 8-[ 8-[ 8-[ 8-[ 8-[
User avatar
Major plurple
Chatter
Chatter
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 3:29 pm
32

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.01]

Postby iancanton on Sun Dec 31, 2023 7:32 pm

i observe that, in all 16 completed standard, 2-player, auto-placement, sequential, chained, fog, non-trench, non-bot games, neither madrid nor tokyo were ever taken, not even once. accordingly, i suggest reducing tokyo from n5 to n2 (which is 1 less than beijing's n3) and madrid from n6 to n3 (which is 1 less than berlin's n4) to bring them into action.

ian. :)
Image
User avatar
Brigadier iancanton
Foundry Foreman
Foundry Foreman
 
Posts: 2422
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 5:40 am
Location: europe

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.01]

Postby plurple on Sun Dec 31, 2023 8:08 pm

iancanton wrote:i observe that, in all 16 completed standard, 2-player, auto-placement, sequential, chained, fog, non-trench, non-bot games, neither madrid nor tokyo were ever taken, not even once. accordingly, i suggest reducing tokyo from n5 to n2 (which is 1 less than beijing's n3) and madrid from n6 to n3 (which is 1 less than berlin's n4) to bring them into action.

ian. :)


I think Tokyo isn't being utilised because it isn't on the way to any of the enemy bases and it weakens your neutral defences to get to it but we can try reducing it.

I am more surprised that Madrid is never taken as there are only 2 territories between UK landing and Brazil landing so am not sure if it is a good idea to reduce it to 3 as then UK start has access to an easier card on turn 2 which will make it the clear favourite starting position. I suppose it could be reduced to 4 or 5 but still a little surprised it isn't being used at all.

Just had a quick look and it looks like because Istanbull is a 5 and going through berlin first often means it is the preferred option. I think with UK already having access to 2 4's after it's landing zone making Madrid a 5 will make it a viable option without giving UK to easy an early game for cards and easy troop bonuses.
plurple is not purple 8-[ 8-[ 8-[ 8-[ 8-[
User avatar
Major plurple
Chatter
Chatter
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 3:29 pm
32

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.1]

Postby plurple on Sat Jan 06, 2024 6:01 am

updated Tokyo to a 2 and Madrid to a 5.

Have also started some games on beta to test things :)
plurple is not purple 8-[ 8-[ 8-[ 8-[ 8-[
User avatar
Major plurple
Chatter
Chatter
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 3:29 pm
32

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.1]

Postby actorday on Sun Mar 10, 2024 4:12 pm

Looks like a great addition to CC World. If you need more testers I am available :)
Sergeant 1st Class actorday
 
Posts: 777
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 11:44 am

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.1]

Postby Shannon Apple on Sun Mar 10, 2024 5:05 pm

actorday wrote:Looks like a great addition to CC World. If you need more testers I am available :)


Thank you! It's in live beta now, so you can choose the map here on the main site. :D
00:33:53 ‹riskllama› will her and i ever hook up, LLT???
00:34:09 ‹LiveLoveTeach› You and Shannon?
00:34:20 ‹LiveLoveTeach› Bahahahahahaha
00:34:22 ‹LiveLoveTeach› I doubt it
00:34:30 ‹LiveLoveTeach› I don't think she's into farm animals
User avatar
Brigadier Shannon Apple
Chatter
Chatter
 
Posts: 2162
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:40 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.1]

Postby j1mathman on Sun Mar 10, 2024 11:50 pm

it isn't a big deal, but it is a bit slow at the start. i've played round 2 and the neutrals are quite chunky, the starting point only auto deploying +1 makes it a bit slow to start.

of course someone could just sit back a few turns to load up but idk other maps like new world will auto deploy 3 on home bases (and the landing zone)

where do we see your current neutral troop counts (besides looking at the sunny games on finder or reading all chat)?

i do think it's a cool idea for a map ty for your contribution
User avatar
Colonel j1mathman
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 2:43 pm

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.1]

Postby GaryDenton on Fri Mar 15, 2024 10:07 pm

The map says "EVERY 2 regions held in each contintent = bonus 1."
It should read "2 regions held in a continent = bonus 1."
That is both inaccurate and a spelling mistake. You do not get more than one bonus for every 2 regions in a continent.
{--- <<<< Vote Blue

Republicans are destroying America.
User avatar
Corporal GaryDenton
 
Posts: 821
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 10:58 am
Location: Houston area

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.1]

Postby Fuchsia tude on Sat Mar 16, 2024 12:33 am

GaryDenton wrote:You do not get more than one bonus for every 2 regions in a continent.
...I don't? Are you sure about that? The log sure seems to think I do...

Image
Corporal Fuchsia tude
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:36 am

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.1]

Postby GaryDenton on Sun Mar 24, 2024 11:06 am

I see Africa is giving you 3, which is the first I have seen of an additional bonus.
{--- <<<< Vote Blue

Republicans are destroying America.
User avatar
Corporal GaryDenton
 
Posts: 821
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 10:58 am
Location: Houston area

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.1]

Postby plurple on Sun Mar 24, 2024 11:19 am

GaryDenton wrote:I see Africa is giving you 3, which is the first I have seen of an additional bonus.


This map uses the newer bonus structure so the stats and map page will only show 1 for each continent but the overview and log pages will do things correctly it has been brought to BigWham's attention but has been a bug for a long time so not a high priority to fix this.

As you can see is Fuschia's screen shot they own 2 North america regions and so get 1 for that continent however they own 6 africa regions and so get 3 not just 1 troop, and so on for the other continents based on how they started the turn.
plurple is not purple 8-[ 8-[ 8-[ 8-[ 8-[
User avatar
Major plurple
Chatter
Chatter
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 3:29 pm
32

Re: Classic Conquest [Version 3.1]

Postby fixfabricator on Tue Apr 09, 2024 3:41 am

I don't know if other maps, like New World, automatically deploy three on home bases (and the landing zone), but it would be possible for someone to sit back for a few turns to load up.

As far as I can see, the only places to view your current neutral troop counts are the sunny games on Finder and the entire conversation.

Mod Edit: Actually remove the sus link this time.
New Recruit fixfabricator
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2024 3:31 am

Previous

Return to Beta Maps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron