Conquer Club

XML Modifications and Variations

Topics that are not maps. Discuss general map making concepts, techniques, contests, etc, here.

Moderator: Cartographers

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Postby Coleman on Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:08 am

Yeah, lets get the necessary stuff out of the way and then the easy stuff before we tackle the potential end of turn neutral respawn (sounds hard) and other hard stuff. :)

Err, for those wondering what Coleman thinks is 'necessary' in order of necessity...

1) Continents/Collections inside Continents/Collections. (Nested Continents)
2) Standard Territory Bonus Adjustment
3) Starting Positions (per each player count)
Warning: You may be reading a really old topic.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby lackattack on Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:12 am

I came accross a nice side effect of starting positions. If you make a neutral territory a starting position it will no longer be neutral. So if you divided up 6 "power territories" yet made them neutral, the game could still be balanced when you play > 6 players and starting positions are ignored. Nobody would get a "power territory".


Coleman wrote:Also with positions could we do a <positions count="2"> where count is a tag for how many people are playing. So we can have it be different for each count or maybe not have a positions for some counts?


At first I thought it's better to define 8 positions and let the engine split them up randomly if there are less than 8 players.

But if you have "North vs South" map with positions set as N1 N2 N3 N4 S1 S2 S3 S4 you might want it to be N1-4 vs S1-4 when played as 2 players. This could be done with a 2-player entry like this:

Code: Select all
<position>
  <players>2</players>
  <components>
    <territory>N1</territory>
    <territory>N2</territory>
    <territory>N3</territory>
    <territory>N4</territory>
  </components>
  <components>
    <territory>S1</territory>
    <territory>S2</territory>
    <territory>S3</territory>
    <territory>S4</territory>
  </components>
</position>


The down side is that you have to write a lot more xml. Do the rest of you think it's necessary to specify count-specific starting positions?

P.S. Sorry this still isn't finished, we had some distractions last week.
User avatar
Sergeant lackattack
 
Posts: 6096
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: Montreal, QC

Postby yeti_c on Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:17 am

It depends on how you code it Lack...

If for instance - you have 8 starting positions - and 2 players...

Do you use the first 6 - or do you load all 8 and randomly assign?

If you have 20 starting positions - do you use all of them (divisible by X)? Or do you just use X? (Where X = Player Count)

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby lackattack on Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:57 am

yeti_c wrote:If for instance - you have 8 starting positions - and 2 players...

Do you use the first 6 - or do you load all 8 and randomly assign?


load all 8 and randomly assign


You meant to say "use the first 2" right?
User avatar
Sergeant lackattack
 
Posts: 6096
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: Montreal, QC

Postby yeti_c on Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:03 am

lackattack wrote:
yeti_c wrote:If for instance - you have 8 starting positions - and 2 players...

Do you use the first 6 - or do you load all 8 and randomly assign?


load all 8 and randomly assign


You meant to say "use the first 2" right?


Well I was assuming "Yes" was the answer to my second question...

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby lackattack on Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:17 am

yeti_c wrote:
lackattack wrote:Well I was assuming "Yes" was the answer to my second question...

C.


Correct.... sorry :)
User avatar
Sergeant lackattack
 
Posts: 6096
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: Montreal, QC

Postby yeti_c on Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:33 am

lackattack wrote:
yeti_c wrote:
lackattack wrote:Well I was assuming "Yes" was the answer to my second question...

C.


Correct.... sorry :)


OK - that's a good thing I reckon...

Then we could have 20 starting points and they all get shared out equally - then with the excess starters set to neutral - and then the rest of the non neutral territories get assigned?

That sounds perfect...

C.

PS - Do we still have the option to put set army numbers on the starting territories?
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby MrBenn on Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:48 am

Code: Select all
<position>
  <components>
    <territory>A1</territory>
    <territory>A2</territory>
  </components>
  <components>
    <territory>B1</territory>
    <territory>B2</territory>
  </components>
  <components>
    <territory>C1</territory>
    <territory>C2</territory>
  </components>
  <components>
    <territory>D1</territory>
    <territory>D2</territory>
  </components>
.
.
.
.
</position>


Could the territories be grouped, and then assign the groups at random?
This way you could set 3 territories each for 8 players, for example...

My only coding experience is from BASIC programming as a kid, so am quite happy to be shot down in flames
User avatar
Lieutenant MrBenn
 
Posts: 6880
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 9:32 am
Location: Off Duty

Postby yeti_c on Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:52 am

That's what is already in the works...

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby Lone.prophet on Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:16 pm

lackattack wrote:
Code: Select all
<position>
  <players>2</players>
  <components>
    <territory>N1</territory>
    <territory>N2</territory>
    <territory>N3</territory>
    <territory>N4</territory>
  </components>
  <components>
    <territory>S1</territory>
    <territory>S2</territory>
    <territory>S3</territory>
    <territory>S4</territory>
  </components>
</position>



if you than set other condition for more players you just past it after the 2 player set up?
Image
Captain Lone.prophet
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: Your basement Muahaha

Postby edbeard on Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:43 pm

so...I'm kinda confused


can we have two separate areas of say 8 territories each, where (in an 8 player game) each player will randomly get 1 territory from each of the two areas?
User avatar
Lieutenant edbeard
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 12:41 am

Postby Coleman on Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:37 pm

edbeard wrote:so...I'm kinda confused


can we have two separate areas of say 8 territories each, where (in an 8 player game) each player will randomly get 1 territory from each of the two areas?
Yes and no. Right now you'd need to pair one from each side, but it would be random which pair you got.
Warning: You may be reading a really old topic.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby mibi on Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:08 am

WidowMakers wrote:
Herakilla wrote:
Herakilla wrote:dont make respawning neutrals at beginning, make it so it happens when the player hits end fortification, all his territories that would respawn then respawn. this allows some coolness to freestyle since you can "track" a player down by following him fast enough but if you are too slow the tracks left by his army go away!


any thoughts?
I just read this suggestion. I need respawning neutrals for the next two levels of the Dungeon of Draknor maps. I at first did not like your idea but it makes more sense to have it thi sway. For the exact reasons you explained.

Respawning neutrals should occur at the end of your turn instead of the beginning of the next. or maybe there is an way to allow it to be chosen an a map by map basis.

respawn beginning of turn
Code: Select all
<neutral respawn = begin>5</neutral respawn>

respawn end of turn
Code: Select all
<neutral respawn = end>5</neutral respawn>



WM


I also need respawning neutrals for my Skyscraper elevators.
User avatar
Captain mibi
 
Posts: 3350
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:19 pm
Location: The Great State of Vermont

Postby DiM on Thu Jan 17, 2008 6:27 am

can this be done? if it can't then can it be implemented?
i have 8 important (I) terits and 24 non important (NI).

in an 8p game i want each player to get 1 I and 3 random NI
in a 7p game i want each player to get 1 I and 3 random NI plus 1I and 3NI to be neutral
in a 6p game i want each player to get 1 I and random NI plus 2I to be neutral
in a 5p game i want each player to get 1 I and 4 random NI plus 3I and 4NI to be neutral
in a 4p game i want each player to get 2 I and 6 random NI
in a 3p game i want each player to get 2 I and 8 random NI plus 2I to be neutral
in a 2p game i want each player to get 3 I and 8 random NI plus 2I and 8NI to be neutral


or to explain it shorter have 2 pools of terits that are divided among the players. instead of dividing the total number of terits.
“In the beginning God said, the four-dimensional divergence of an antisymmetric, second rank tensor equals zero, and there was light, and it was good. And on the seventh day he rested.”- Michio Kaku
User avatar
Major DiM
 
Posts: 10415
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 6:20 pm
Location: making maps for scooby snacks

Postby yeti_c on Thu Jan 17, 2008 6:40 am

Yep...

As long as your third pool of terits (VNI) are all neutral.

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby Lone.prophet on Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:02 am

is it also possible to do this for team games only?
Image
Captain Lone.prophet
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: Your basement Muahaha

Postby yeti_c on Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:36 am

Lone.prophet wrote:is it also possible to do this for team games only?


No.

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby Lone.prophet on Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:39 am

will it one day soon :P
Image
Captain Lone.prophet
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: Your basement Muahaha

Postby yeti_c on Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:43 am

Lone.prophet wrote:will it one day soon :P


Probably not - unless someone requests it...

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby cicero on Thu Jan 17, 2008 9:34 am

rebelman wrote:great idea - could i suggest it should also be posted on the XML Modifications & Variations Thread.
To see what rebelman is so excited about see http://www.conquerclub.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=40294

(If etiquette is that I should copy & post my entire original post here please let me know or copy & post it here yourselves.)

Cicero
FREE M-E-Mbership and simple rules. Conquer Club - it's not complicated.

random me statistic @ 13 December 2008 - 1336 posts : 232nd most public posts (not counting Tower of Babble) of all time.
User avatar
Sergeant cicero
 
Posts: 1358
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 1:51 pm
Location: with the infected neutrals ... handing out maps to help them find their way to CC

Postby yeti_c on Thu Jan 17, 2008 9:37 am

cicero wrote:
rebelman wrote:great idea - could i suggest it should also be posted on the XML Modifications & Variations Thread.
To see what rebelman is so excited about see http://www.conquerclub.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=40294

(If etiquette is that I should copy & post my entire original post here please let me know or copy & post it here yourselves.)

Cicero


Actually - This shouldn't go in here (bad rebelman bad) as it's not a MAP feature... it is a gameplay feature.

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby rebelman on Thu Jan 17, 2008 9:43 am

yeti_c wrote:
Actually - This shouldn't go in here (bad rebelman bad) as it's not a MAP feature... it is a gameplay feature.

C.


:oops: :oops:

sorry
Don't now why people on here don't like being cooks, remember under siege: A former SEAL, now cook, is the only person who can stop a gang of terrorists when they sieze control of a US Navy battleship.
User avatar
Private rebelman
 
Posts: 2968
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: People's Republic of Cork

Postby Lone.prophet on Thu Jan 17, 2008 9:44 am

i think this is that you can make a neatral territory aggresive in the xml so it can be implanted without his gameoption in a specific territory.

so you have a seamonster that attacks boats
Image
Captain Lone.prophet
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: Your basement Muahaha

Postby yeti_c on Thu Jan 17, 2008 9:46 am

Lone.prophet wrote:i think this is that you can make a neatral territory aggresive in the xml so it can be implanted without his gameoption in a specific territory.

so you have a seamonster that attacks boats


That might work...

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby Lone.prophet on Thu Jan 17, 2008 9:48 am

so do i need a formal entry for that suggestion?
Image
Captain Lone.prophet
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: Your basement Muahaha

PreviousNext

Return to Foundry Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users