tolekim wrote:Hi, I am struggling with the rules over spoils too.
Reading the instructions it looks like if I conquer 3 blue terretories in my turn I will receive additional armys.
If you Conquer at least 1 region (a territory in your words), and any region---disregarding any color of the background, etc, you will receive 1 spoil at the end of your turn (provided the game isn't a No Spoil game). This spoil will be of a random color (and region name---just because you conquer say "Brazil" doesn't mean that you get the "Brazil" spoil at the end of your turn---it is random). You can only accumulate 1 spoil at the end of your turn---unless you defeat and opponent and eliminate them from the game, and thus gain their spoils upon their elimination.
Do I still need to be holding them at the end of the turn (ie if someone who goes after me takes them back i won't get them)?
When you have spoils that are [Bracketed] that does mean that you own them, as you pointed out. If you "cash in a set of spoils" (3 spoils of the same color, or a mixed set of 1 of each color) and you "own" the regions, you get a +2 troop bonus on that specific owned region of yours, if you do have it under your control when you are cashing. So say you started with [South Africa] in your control, but by the time your turn came up in the next round another player conquered it and it is no longer in your control and bracketed, you unfortunately will not receive +2 troop bonus since it is not under your control.
Hope that is some explanation.
--Andy