The Fight for Alexander's Empire [Quenched]

Care to peruse completed maps? Take a stroll through the Atlas.

Moderators: Cartographers, Global Moderators

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Re: The Fight for Alexander's Empire [Quenched]

Postby Mr. K on Mon Feb 01, 2010 11:24 pm

Remarkably, I had the old photoshop files stashed away in a weird corner of my external HD. So, spelling fixed.

Image

Image
User avatar
Lieutenant Mr. K
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:14 pm
Medals: 5
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Map Contribution (2)

Re: The Fight for Alexander's Empire [Quenched]

Postby MrBenn on Wed Feb 03, 2010 4:32 pm

If you've found the PSD, would you be able to tweak the border of India Inferior so that 3-digit army numbers will fit in there?
Image
PB: 2661 | He's blue... If he were green he would die | No mod would be stupid enough to do that
User avatar
Lieutenant MrBenn
Retired Team Member
 
Posts: 7058
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 9:32 am
Location: Off Duty
Medals: 67
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (3) Freestyle Achievement (2) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (3)
Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (2)
General Achievement (6) Clan Achievement (1) Map Contribution (7) Tournament Contribution (2) General Contribution (15)

Re: The Fight for Alexander's Empire [Quenched]

Postby Mr. K on Thu Feb 04, 2010 4:25 am

That would only require an XML tweak, no? If someone wants to go ahead and do that, be my guest, you officially have my permission. I personally don't want to spend too much time on that, though, especially considering that I can't see why anyone would ever choose to store a 3-digit army on India Inferior :?
User avatar
Lieutenant Mr. K
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:14 pm
Medals: 5
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Map Contribution (2)

Re: The Fight for Alexander's Empire [Quenched]

Postby MrBenn on Thu Feb 04, 2010 2:24 pm

The coords could be shifted on the large map easily; but the small map could do with a slight tweak to the border of India Inferior, so that the 2-digit number won't look out of place or in the wrong territory. I've no problem with amending the XML - I just thought it would be an easy fix while you had access to the original PSD?

The reason we ask for 3-digit numbers to fit suitably, is to assist people who use the colourblind feature to help distinguish army counts, rather than fitting in massive armies in silly places ;-)
Image
PB: 2661 | He's blue... If he were green he would die | No mod would be stupid enough to do that
User avatar
Lieutenant MrBenn
Retired Team Member
 
Posts: 7058
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 9:32 am
Location: Off Duty
Medals: 67
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (3) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (3) Freestyle Achievement (2) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (3)
Speed Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (2)
General Achievement (6) Clan Achievement (1) Map Contribution (7) Tournament Contribution (2) General Contribution (15)

Re: The Fight for Alexander's Empire [Quenched]

Postby Mr. K on Sun Feb 07, 2010 3:36 am

Just by inspecting the map, I have a feeling that the way I constructed it would mean that changing a border's shape would be a bit of a pain.

But maybe it'll be something to do on a rainy day. I'll keep it in mind.
User avatar
Lieutenant Mr. K
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:14 pm
Medals: 5
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Map Contribution (2)

Re: The Fight for Alexander's Empire [Quenched]

Postby saaimen on Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:03 am

Maybe in that case it's easier if you make the map a bit wider? You don't have to change borders that way, only continue them.

Or is this at max width already?
ImageImage
Winner of "As Easy As 1, 2, 3! - Africa I", "Championship Series: British Isles",
"1v1 Battle to Rule Doodle Earth 2", "Connect 4 (Restarted)" and "Blind Fold Buddy - BeNeLux"
Sergeant 1st Class saaimen
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:04 pm
Medals: 13
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (1)
Ratings Achievement (2) Tournament Achievement (5)

Re: The Fight for Alexander's Empire [Quenched]

Postby the.killing.44 on Mon Feb 08, 2010 4:04 pm

Isn't this just a quick co-ord change, now that I look at it?

Image
User avatar
Major the.killing.44
 
Posts: 4737
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: now tell me what got two gums and knows how to spit rhymes
Medals: 47
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (3) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (1)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (3) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (2)
Speed Achievement (3) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (3) Tournament Achievement (3) General Achievement (3)
Clan Achievement (3) Map Contribution (2) Tournament Contribution (2) General Contribution (4)

Re: The Fight for Alexander's Empire [Quenched]

Postby Mr. K on Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:27 am

Yeah, looks good to me the.killing. If someone wants to go ahead and edit that xml file, you have my blessing (and thanks).

[q]Maybe in that case it's easier if you make the map a bit wider? You don't have to change borders that way, only continue them.
[/q]
Actually, that'd be even more of a hassle :p
User avatar
Lieutenant Mr. K
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:14 pm
Medals: 5
Standard Achievement (2) Doubles Achievement (1) Map Contribution (2)

Re: The Fight for Alexander's Empire [Quenched]

Postby iancanton on Sun Mar 14, 2010 5:04 am

the xml file needs to be changed anyway to eliminate byzanitium and cyrenacia. on the map images, text needs to be changed from cyrenacia to cyrenaica.

incidentally, libya and cyrenaica appear to have swapped places from their relative positions when compared with this wikipedia map.

Click image to enlarge.
image


ian. :)
Image
User avatar
Colonel iancanton
Cartography Assistant
Cartography Assistant
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 5:40 am
Location: europe
Medals: 49
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (1)
Freestyle Achievement (2) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (1) Fog of War Achievement (3) Teammate Achievement (2) Random Map Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (3) Ratings Achievement (4) General Achievement (4) Clan Achievement (6) General Contribution (12)

Re: The Fight for Alexander's Empire [Quenched]

Postby thenobodies80 on Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:07 pm

iancanton wrote:incidentally, libya and cyrenaica appear to have swapped places from their relative positions when compared with this wikipedia map.


Cyrenaica is and was a Libyan region. The zone represented on the alexander map as cyrenaica is only the northern part of this region. So it is obviously sorrounded by the libyan desert. I suppose that the author of the map you posted didn't find the free room to place the "libyans" text on the right side of the legend. ;)

This is a more accurate image of those places if it could help. (even if it represent those regions during the late period of Ptolemaic kingdom/beginning of the roman empire)

Click image to enlarge.
image

Give every man your ear, but few thy voice. Take each man's censure, but reserve thy judgment.
show
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class thenobodies80
Foundry Foreman
Foundry Foreman
 
Posts: 5640
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:30 am
Medals: 70
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (2) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (3)
Speed Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Bot Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (4)
General Achievement (8) Map Contribution (7) Tournament Contribution (6) General Contribution (17)

Re: The Fight for Alexander's Empire [Quenched]

Postby Empress Wu on Mon Apr 12, 2010 3:31 pm

Now that we're at it, there are a few more errors, apart from Byzantium and Cyrenaica:

Archosia to Arachosia
Persia to Persis (they're not the same)

Ptolomy to Ptolemy
Selucus to Seleucus
Selucus North to Seleucus North

I noted when I came to this thread that Seleucus North was split out from Seleucus during the early stages of the development of this map. Now, in real life, 2200 years ago, the "Seleucus North" region actually did split away from the Seleukid kings. Today, we know this break-away kingdom as Parthia. So perhaps Parthia would be a more inventive (and historically correct) name for that continent? Just an idea.
Image
User avatar
Captain Empress Wu
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 2:14 pm
Location: Chicken eating chick
Medals: 4
Standard Achievement (2) Cross-Map Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (1)

Re: The Fight for Alexander's Empire [Quenched]

Postby Darkrider on Thu Apr 19, 2012 6:06 am

Don't know why but I believe there is a bug in my game. Game is 10947953. On 2 different rounds I conquer Carmania from Persia and advance my armies to Carmania. But then I cant' attack from Carmania at all even tough I got plenty armies to do so. I can't click on i t and I can't select Carmania from the action bar.

Tx for ur time
Corporal 1st Class Darkrider
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 12:25 pm
Medals: 19
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (2) Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (2)

Re: The Fight for Alexander's Empire [Quenched]

Postby thenobodies80 on Thu Apr 19, 2012 7:04 am

Screenshot, also send to me via pm would be helpful if you are afraid about other players looking for you armies .it's a fog of war game i can't see things without a screenshoot
Btw you tried to attack in the same turn you took it? In this case read instruction and learn how trech option works. ;)

Give every man your ear, but few thy voice. Take each man's censure, but reserve thy judgment.
show
User avatar
Corporal 1st Class thenobodies80
Foundry Foreman
Foundry Foreman
 
Posts: 5640
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:30 am
Medals: 70
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (1) Quadruples Achievement (2) Terminator Achievement (2)
Assassin Achievement (2) Manual Troops Achievement (2) Freestyle Achievement (2) Nuclear Spoils Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (3)
Speed Achievement (2) Teammate Achievement (1) Cross-Map Achievement (3) Bot Achievement (1) Ratings Achievement (4)
General Achievement (8) Map Contribution (7) Tournament Contribution (6) General Contribution (17)

Re: The Fight for Alexander's Empire [Quenched]

Postby Darkrider on Thu Apr 19, 2012 6:57 pm

Doh!

I feel like stupid!
Thanks
Corporal 1st Class Darkrider
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 12:25 pm
Medals: 19
Standard Achievement (3) Doubles Achievement (2) Triples Achievement (2) Quadruples Achievement (1) Terminator Achievement (1)
Manual Troops Achievement (1) Freestyle Achievement (2) Fog of War Achievement (2) Trench Warfare Achievement (1) Teammate Achievement (2)
Cross-Map Achievement (2)

Previous

Return to The Atlas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login